We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments to your Saves list
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JB, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had high hopes for the Fountain Court Stewart Apartments after reading the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, and I was not disappointed. The apartments are centrally located, just a stones throw from George Street and Rose Street, which have many bars, restaurants and shops. The apartments are very high spec, well presented and modern- I especially appreciated touches such as iPod docks, two flatscreen TVs, plenty of cooking facilities and an excellent shower...it really feels like home from home. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming.

I was slightly concerned about the noise from the cobbled road outside following other reviews on this site, but quickly realised I had no cause for concern. Double glazing (and a request for a room on a higher floor) ensured we were not disturbed by any noise during our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    81
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
160
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you pay standard rates than you'll probably be annoyed but if you get a good deal than this is okay (on a balance of all aspects). We like having more space (as opposed to a hotel room) and these apartments definitely offer a comfortable space.
Check in okay. No phone reception in room and Internet by wifi is restricted in terms of what you can use it for. So if you don't really need internet etc, than no prob.
Servicing/ cleaning is minimal. They'll be in and out in 5 min. First day we thought there was no servicing but they'd just skipped doing the bed and replacing the towels. Receptionist sorted out towels for us which was nice.
Excellent location, quiet, warm and spacious apartments.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I contacted fountain court by email a few times with queries prior to our trip. They responded very quickly and were very helpful. The Stewart apartments were well located for sightseeing and eating and shopping. They are well equipped and have all modern technology and I wouldnt hesitate to stay there again

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The location was amazing. We walked everywhere in the city from our apartment.

The facilities were great. The only criticism is that the bath was not very warm but the amazing shower made up for it.

Would highly recommend.

Also check out the Oxford bar next door. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good situation in central Edinburgh with parking. Great rooms very well equipped including kitchen. Helpful staff. Underground parking with a lift which can be a little tight. Discounts at nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

From reading other reviews our only concern was noise but it seems like the new glazing has helped so our stay was perfect in every respect. Location brilliant for sight seeing and eating out. Apartment comfortable, modern and clean. Staff really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed 3 nights here in March, midweek, in a one-bedroom apartment (with a separate bedroom). As requested, I had a room at the front upstairs so was not bothered by outside noise mentioned by other reviewers, but the radiators were slightly noisy. The location was very good - in the New Town about 5 minutes' easy walk to Princes Street and 10 minutes' to Waverley Station/Bridge. Next door to the famous Oxford Bar mentioned in Ian Rankin's Rebus novels and with plenty of other nice looking bars/restaurants around. The apartment was comfortable and well-equipped, especially the kitchen, but I had some minor gripes and one more serious complaint relating to the bathroom. The shower was a fixed overhead one over the bath with a shower curtain, a surprisingly inconvenient arrangement for such a new apartment. There was no shower mat, safety grab handle or non-slip bath surface, so in my view it was an accident waiting to happen as someone slipped in the bath. I did raise this with reception when I checked out and they mentioned that not all the apartments had such showers, so next time I will check before booking (I was in number 14). It doesn't need anything expensive to make it safe, so why not do it? My minor complaints were also related to the bathroom - for a luxury apartment the bath towels were rather thin, there were no facecloths and (a problem with a fixed overhead shower!) no shower cap. The staff I met were friendly and cheerful. Overall, disregarding my objection to the shower, a good place to stay and excellent value for money (£90 a night when I stayed).

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs at the end of the corridor furthest from reception are quieter and I found the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

We do offer bath and shower mats on request from Housekeeping and this is noted in our Guest Directory found in the apartment. We do not offer face cloths or shower caps.

With regard to the bath towels, we are currently reviewing our bath linen supplier.

I am happy that overall you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Address: 10 Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 boutique style serviced apartments are located over 3 floors with lift access to all. Each apartment features an open plan living room and fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. All furnishings in the lounge, bedroom and bathroom are finished to an extremely high specification. Each apartment comes equipped with the latest technology, including a 37 inch HD television, blu-ray DVD player and iPod dock in the living room and a 32 inch HD TV in the bedroom, as well as free wireless broadband access, Sky sports and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.