We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overall. You won't regret staying here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Save Saved
You added Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JB, Scotland (New Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
1 review
“Very good overall. You won't regret staying here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012 via mobile

The Appartments are in a very good central location opposite Edinburgh castle . The rooms are of a high standard. What you would expect from a £100+ room

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    70
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
144
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The location is great for shopping, sightseeing, nightlife and restaurants. There is no view but it is a lovely quiet street which ensures you get peace to recharge your batteries. We asked for a front facing room onto Young St. Check in and service was without hassle. It is a very safe area. You are 2 minutes from a great view of the Castle, turn right as you go out the main door and right again.
The apartment itself is excellent. The decor and facilities are outstanding and very comfortable. The bed was huge and gave a good nights sleep, the shower was top notch. There is also a bath if you fancy relaxing after a hard day seeing the sights. There is a full working kitchen where you could quite easily cook, dish wash and do your washing and ironing! If you felt the need. They provide the dishwasher tablets as well as teabags, coffee, milk etc. It is only a 5 minute walk to a small supermarket where you can buy everything you may need. Young St runs parallel with George St where the nightlife, restaurants and shopping are all a notch above Princes St.
Browns on George St just around the corner does a super breakfast and any other meal of the day. All of the buses run along George St which is a 2 minute walk and from there the rest of Edinburgh is just a bus ride away. £1.30 per trip.
All in all it has everything you need plus extras. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: There is no view but ask for front facing onto the quieter Young St as the back is a service lane fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

Another stay at the Stewart Apartments, again using two adjoining rooms (13 and 14). Family all happy as everything we wanted to visi, shopping and restaurant wise at least, was never more than a 5 minute walk.

Staff helpful and a good rate for the off season. My only small issue with the place is that we've never found the mattresses themselves to be very comfortable, although the rooms are nicely set up with great tvs in both the living room and the bedroom.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife & I stayed in a single bedroom apartment for 2 nights on a city break weekend. We were delighted with our choice.

These apartments are tucked away in a quiet back street behind George Street. This area of town is very convenient for shopping but a little less so for the main tourist areas. There is a good choice of quality restauarants & bars close by.

Stewart Apartments has almost full time reception facilities but in other respects lacks the services that you may find in a hotel. In our opinion however this is more than made up for in the other benefits it offers.

Accomodation comprises of kitchen/ dinette and an attached lounge, a reasonable sized bedroom with a king size bed & a bathroom. All rooms are well fitted with quality modern furniture. The kitchen has a hob & oven, microwave, dish washer, toaster etc. In fact everything you are likely to require for a stay away from home. You can also pay for food packs to be left in your room to avoid the need for shopping.

The lounge is equipped with DVD/ Blue Ray player with iPhone dock & television

Whilst we made light use of the amenities available to us I did find that the spacious Accomodation much less claustrophobic than the average hotel room. It also allows you to have a quiet night in, so difficult when all you have is a room with a bed.

Receptions staff were helpful and always available when we needed them.

Downsides, well I guess the main one is location if you are looking for something in the centre of things. We personally found the rooms a little too hot for our liking but to be honest these are minor quibbles & I would have no hesitation in recommending these apartments.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The location of the Stewart apartments is great, walking distance to Princes and George St in Edinburgh. The service provided by Fountain Court is impeccable, every detail is attended to with the greatest care, the apartments have everything you could possible want right down to tablets for the washing machine. The standard of cleanliness is immaculate, with a cleaning service every day if you wish. The Stewart apartments have all the comforts of a hotel (daily cleaning, reception staff, close walking location to the sights) as well as all the added benefits of a serviced apartment (your own kitchen, fridge, lounge room and multiple tvs) I would absolutely recommend this establishment to any and all looking to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed for three nights over New Year (2011/2012) in the only two bedroom apartment which is really well furnished (fully equipped kitchenette with fridge, dishwasher, washing machine etc). The sitting area has a large TV with many channels including Sky Sports as well as a DVD player. Both bedrooms have a TV set and a very comfortable double bed (king size in the master room). The bathroom is well equipped with a good shower (but no bath).

The Stewart Apartments are extremely quiet and at no time during the night did we hear any noise from other apartments (except when the bins were emptied one morning). They are a short walk from Princes Street and the principal shopping areas.

It wasn't cheap to stay here but we felt it was good value all things considered.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed here over Christmas based on the reviews at TripAdvisor and overall were very pleased with our stay.

First, the good: the apartments are spotless, with great facilities and a decent sized bathroom (albeit without a bath). There are two big LCD TVs with Freeview HD and a limited selection of Sky channels, plus a DVD player and an iPod dock. The kitchen is fully decked out and comes with a limited amount of tea, coffee and milk and there are plenty of places nearby to top up on groceries. The location really couldn't be any better, it's a 2 minute walk to Princes Street and there are a whole load of great restaurants and bars within walking distance on Rose Street and George Street (Wildfire on Rose Street and Time for Thai on North Castle Street were particular favourites).

So onto the negatives: the noise from the back of the apartments really can't be overstated. Bin collections ranged from 7:15am to 8:30am and will almost undoubtedly wake you up, as they did us for 3 of the 4 nights we stayed (we got a Christmas day reprieve!). I appreciate this is somewhat out of the hotel's control but it really does detract from an otherwise faultless stay.

Anyway, I have no doubt we'd stay here again but I would definitely be insisting on a room at the front if we did. Oh, and by the way, the burgers at the Cambridge Bar a couple of doors up are awesome plus they serve an amazing 9.2% Brewdog IPA and you get a discount if you're a guest here!

Room Tip: Insist on a room at the front unless you want to be woken by the bin collections early each day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Address: 10 Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 boutique style serviced apartments are located over 3 floors with lift access to all. Each apartment features an open plan living room and fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. All furnishings in the lounge, bedroom and bathroom are finished to an extremely high specification. Each apartment comes equipped with the latest technology, including a 37 inch HD television, blu-ray DVD player and iPod dock in the living room and a 32 inch HD TV in the bedroom, as well as free wireless broadband access, Sky sports and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.