We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caledonian Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Caledonian Backpackers to your Saves list
Caledonian Backpackers
3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Gent
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

First of all, for all you European travellers: you will see everywhere that this hostel gets very good reviews. It is important to know that this is to UK and not continental norms. This is a very good hostel to UK norms because it has separate beds rather than the pigeon holes you will find in London for example, the beds have real mattresses rather than a layer of foam on a wooden board, there is space to walk around your bed and put your luggage, you have a locker that you can actually lock, and the room does not smell and does not have mold in it.
This is a lot more than you will find in a lot of city hostels around the UK. Nevertheless, they do not even come near the standard of hostels on the continent for the same price - the kind of en-suite 4 bedded rooms that could be your bedroom at home. Keep this in mind when you book.

Despite this hostel being a lot better than a number of hostels I have stayed before, for the reasons mentioned above, there are quite a few reasons why I disliked this hostel.
- Staff. When I arrived, reception staff ignored me for 10 minutes. I understand that they can be busy with something else, but they could at least greet their guests.
- Noise. This is the only hostel I have ever stayed in where the management is responsible for the noise. I had read quite a few complaints about this before I booked, but I did not appreciate how bad it was until I actually slept there. On my first night (Friday), I stayed out late. When I came back after 01:00, the noise from the music in the bar was beyond human imagination. I went to see what was happening there. The answer: nothing at all. There were only 3 guys there, playing pool, but for some reason the bartender found it necessary to play music for the entire neighbourhood to hear. I then went to the dormitories. Almost all the other guests were already in bed, hiding under the blankets, desperately trying to get some sleep, but the noise from the music downstairs made that impossible. The music went on until the early hours of the morning. Next evening, same story: less than 5 people in the bar, music for the entire street, and a dormitory filled with sleepless guests. I cannot understand how the management cannot see that their guests are not interested in their bar and their music. They go out in the city, and when they come back, they want peace and quiet and they want to sleep. So please, turn down the music and stop bullying your guests.
- Bathroom. Way too few toilets and showers for the number of guests. They are too small, too.
- Facility management/maintenance. During my first night, the central heating in our dormitory heated the room to a tropical temperature. I went down to reception in the morning to report that it was unhealthily warm in the dormitory, and that somebody was going to faint in that room if they did not do anything about it. They said they knew and would repair it. Next night, same story.

In summary, if you are travelling to Edinburgh on a budget, this is probably a decent place for the amount of money you spend, but beware that your nights are going to be uncomfortable, and before all, realise that this hostel, like its competitors, is nothing like the hostels you are used to on the continent. In order to get a continental hostel standard of accommodation in UK cities, you probably have to pay about 4 times this price and book into a bed & breakfast or hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    87
    28
    18
    24
See reviews for
2
31
63
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent one night passing through waiting for friends to arrive before heading north. All that was left in the city were dorm rooms. The people in the room were loud and quite rude. The price was reasonable and the location excellent. Would likely not go back unless I could get a private room. Very friendly staff and a nice hostel bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Almost everything. The friendliness of the staff is outstanding. The hostel is also always organising things for customers, giving information on the sites of Edinburgh. Great common area, large rooms, wifi and hot water. The vast range of facilities that the hostel provides allows you to do anything .

The only thing I can say is the showers are a little and there is really anywhere to put your clothes either. But it didn't ruin my stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed in the Caledonian for 2 months and had a ball. Plenty of good people staying there and working there. The cinema room and cucumber room were good places to chill and the bar was super cheap. Best location in Edinburgh, with a great view of the castle. Recommend to anybody!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This place was horrible. The rooms are filthy, the bathrooms are filthy, and a large portion of the people staying there are filthy. I watched one person pack their bag, and leave the room (she had slept in the bed one night). Then, not even an hour later, someone else came in assigned to that bed.

Clearly the sheets are never washed. Maybe I expect a little much from hostels, but I've stayed in several decent ones, and this place is not one of then.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughenden, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Awesome hostel, very friendly, I had to book last minute and they were very helpful. Great Wi-Fi, very close to main area of Edinburgh, yummy pizza place across the road. Very well priced as not there at Fringe or Hogmanay time. And for the Aussies out there they have vegemite as part of their breakfast! Needless to say I was stoked!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend a d had a great time. The rooms are fairly standard and the place is huge! The bar is a lot of fun and was pretty busy for most of the weekend, met some really great people here which made my trip so much fun. If you want to stay somewhere to meet new people and party then this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caledonian Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Backpackers

Address: 3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers hostel with shared dormitory accommodation located in the city center of Edinburgh. Our common areas are designed to provide everything you need, with a late, cheap bar with pool tables, a cinema, free internet computers, including free laptop use, free wifi and a kitchen so you can cook, as well as heaps of couches, board games and a generally great vibe. Our rooms are basic dormitory rooms with shared facilities, lockers for each bed (you need a padlock), clean linen and key card door access. We have a 24 hour reception, our included breakfast is served from 6am to 12pm, and checkout time is at 12 too. Our reception will provide any information you need about the city, as well as tour advice and will even organise highland tours for you. Edinburgh is a beautiful city, and we hope you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Caledonian Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Caledonian Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caledonian Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.