We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caledonian Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Caledonian Backpackers to your Saves list
Caledonian Backpackers
3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Belfast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here back in 2010 with 4 of my friends and we all thought it was fantastic. The staff were all very friendly, the bar was open late, free breakfast in the morning and most importantly check out was at midday!! The staff also let us leave our luggage with them while we explored Edinburgh on the last day of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    87
    28
    18
    24
See reviews for
2
32
63
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Check in any time you want, 24 hrs reception, check out by noon, free breakfast from 6am till noon! Free luggage storage, helpful staff, hot water in showers, free internet, it has its own bar! open till late, rooms are spacious..... one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I have really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. Well priced, a nice breakfast, great ambiance. Our favorite is the lounge and especially the beanbag lounge - where movies are played on a big screen! It always felt clean and quiet, but still a fun vibe down in the lounge. Great kitchen, helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

When you decided to stay at a backpackers hostel you expect its going to be quite nasty and not the way you would ideally want it to be. But this place is an amazing hostel, clean, not over-priced considering you get a decent free breakfast, a late check out for free, free internet ! quality and clean showers. This is one of the better hostels i have stayed at :) and a perfect location not to forget. There is so much to do in Edinburgh, but even if your just after a nice day in then this is the perfect place !! So much place for just chilling around and its perfect for that here. a big plus is also the friendliness of the staff. And the beds are comfy plus you get 2 pillows :o

I will definatly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Loved my 2 night stay here during the Edinburgh Festival in the summer. Clean, spacious and modern but still retained the feeling of being a hostel and very young. Great place to meet and hang out with young people from all over the place.Pricey for a hostel but well worth it in the end.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Kinda pricey, but still one of the best hostels ive stayed at. Really spacious rooms and huge common room with facilities. Great place to meet other people. Decent breakfast. Only downside was the limited bathrooms

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great common areas, location is perfect, breakfast is decent, staff super friendly, somewhat artsy...has everything you need as a traveler...rooms are clean, toilets might be cleaner...the room we had lookad at the back yard and was very quiet and sunny in the afternoon:)

Room Tip: looking at the back yard...we were in a room for 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caledonian Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Backpackers

Address: 3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers hostel with shared dormitory accommodation located in the city center of Edinburgh. Our common areas are designed to provide everything you need, with a late, cheap bar with pool tables, a cinema, free internet computers, including free laptop use, free wifi and a kitchen so you can cook, as well as heaps of couches, board games and a generally great vibe. Our rooms are basic dormitory rooms with shared facilities, lockers for each bed (you need a padlock), clean linen and key card door access. We have a 24 hour reception, our included breakfast is served from 6am to 12pm, and checkout time is at 12 too. Our reception will provide any information you need about the city, as well as tour advice and will even organise highland tours for you. Edinburgh is a beautiful city, and we hope you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Caledonian Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Caledonian Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caledonian Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.