We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mile Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Mile Backpackers to your Saves list
Royal Mile Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   105 High St., Edinburgh EH1 1SG, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute and cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

While maybe not everyone's style, I found it the perfect cute little hostel. The rooms and beds are named, decorated and a bit quirky. Made for a very nice atmosphere, like staying a friend's rather than the uniform feel of some of the larger chain hostels. Only a small number of showers and toilets, however I never had to wait (but was only there for one day and that night). Everything clean and working. Each bed in my room had its own powerpoint which is rare enough to almost make you cry with happiness. Also in an excellent location in Old Town, easy walking distance from New and the train station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    41
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
5
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, don't have any complaints really. The rooms and beds have names instead of numbers and I wont say any so I don't spoil it but they're hilarious. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berchem, Antwerpen, Belgium
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

What an ingenious way the rooms are named! i was in Gotham City, and my bed said "Poison Ivy"! My friend was Batman! :-)
The first night, all of us were woken up by a fire alarm around 4 in the morning! Looks like it was someone drunk who caused it.
Decent rooms; the ones looking out to the street are way bigger and better.
Good WiFi, not enough bathrooms considering the huge number of backpackers this place has.
Staff quite friendly! Right on the Royal mile close to Tron church and easy to find.

Room Tip: Request for a room towards the street (the ones to the left of the corridor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A small hostel with a cozy feel to it. Publicly shared restrooms. Limited wifi. Plenty of outlets available by all beds and cutely themed rooms. Very difficult to find and should have made the checkout time clear. No power outlets available. Towels available for rent. Right on a loud, busy street, so difficult to sleep at night. No locked room to store luggage. Overall, could be better, but you get what you pay for. Would recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, Norwich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Could always be better but for £9 a night... amazing value. Clean and pleasant, staff really friendly and great atmosphere. This was my first time in a dorm, so an important life experience for me. Everything is laid out as you need, of course no privacy compared to a private room but for the money.... Only two showers for each gender, but I was lucky that there was no one about when I took mine. Do backpackers not wash....only joking!

The only thing i would criticise was the height of the top bunks, and the stairs to climb to them. Don't laugh, but it's a big hike up or down... only two steps for about 5 feet in height. The last or first step is about 3 feet off the ground, so you do have to take care when you land with a bump on the floor! The funny moment is when a drunk rugby fan in the middle of the night tried to jump that distance from his bed in one go and collapsed in a heap! Three of the sleepers jumped out of bed to see if he was ok! He was fine, just brusing... of course that was his fault for the alcohol consumed, but you do have to be careful with it. What I suppose isn't funny, is that if you are older or less agile, disabled.... then you couldn't get up there no question. The answer is demanding the bottom bunk i suppose. Which in a place like this, where they are so accomodating and helpful, wouldn't be a problem.

Room Tip: If you don't like heights.... bottom bunk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Good value for money. Cheap rates, clean sheets, helpful staff, awesome location. Breakfast isn't included but can be purchased cheaply and the laundry service is cheap and well-organised. Appears dim & dank when you first arrive, but it's actually not. There's little touches that make it feel personal, for example I stayed in the Gotham City room and instead of a bed number, I was staying in the Catwoman bed and there was a tub of communal shampoos etc if you'd forgotten yours.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very cozy hostel, much smaller than most in Edinburgh. The only complaints I would have are that the internet is horrible and kept going out during my stay there, ended up just going to the nearby Starbucks. Also, the kitchen is tiny with only hot plates for use and no oven so plan on eating out. Other than that the staff was lovely, the hostel was clean, and the showers had great water pressure (though there could be a line to use them at times!) The location was also amazing as it is right on the royal mile and right down the street from where the NewEurope free walking tour meets!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mile Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mile Backpackers

Address: 105 High St., Edinburgh EH1 1SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Mile Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Royal Mile Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mile Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mile Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.