We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Night Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket to your Saves list
Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket
1 Morrison Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #68 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Three Night Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here for 3 nights over half term Monday - Thursday. As you would expect with a Premier Inn, it does the job.
The location was very handy to Haymarket Station and it was about a 30 minute walk to the Royal Mile.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would stay here again as it's close to the city but at the same time out of the hustle and bustle. However if you don't fancy walking 30 mins each way each time you want to head into town I would recommend staying somewhere more central.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear PMC25052005,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Premier Inn Edinburgh Haymarket.. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient during your travels. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Many thanks
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    640
    214
    74
    27
See reviews for
377
549
72
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke On Trent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Excellent value for money, staff very friendly and helpful.
Good size room, clean and warm and bed was large and comfortable.
Great location, 400 metres from Haymarket station and 10/15 minute walk to the centre of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Graham,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier inn, its great to hear such good feedback regarding our team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, great location, friendly helpful staff, good food. All that we wanted for this short break. Although a large hotel it was welcoming. bar could have done with more staff at times. Maintenance needs quickly attended to. We would return!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Topsy7,

Thank you for you kind review of our Premier Inn, its great to hear such good feedback regarding your stay. I’m so glad you had fun with us during such a special day.

I will ensure your comments will be passed back to the team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My daughter and her family invited us to join them on their half term break in Edinburgh. We got the Airlink bus from the airport great value at £7 return . We had a short walk from the bus stop at Haymarket to the hotel . We arrived quite early but were allowed to check in even thought the check in time was 2pm My daughter had booked two family rooms for herself and as we wanted to be on the same floor we accepted a disabled room even thought we didn't require it . The room was on the first floor near the lifts and was fine . The bed was lower than normal as was the sink in the bathroom and there were plenty of hand rails I would say if you were disabled you would find this room well equipped .. The bathroom is like myself showing its age . Toiletries are provided, great if you are only bringing hand luggage The bedroom had tea and coffee making facilities a TV and hair dryer and the windows opened . There is no air conditioning but after all we are in Scotland . We had breakfast in the hotel each morning good value at £8.25 with fresh fruit, cereals, porridge and the usual bacon sausage, hash browns, mushrooms, tomatoes and beans. We eat out each evening in excellent nearby restaurants I can recommend Mc Kirdys and the Atelier just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Galavantinggranny,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our Premier Inn, its great to hear how much fun you had while you where with us during half term. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfasts the team do work hard to ensure you are set up for a good day.

We hope the next time you are in Edinburgh you come and see us!

Kind regards,

PP

John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Me and my partner visited this lovely hotel in November, 2013. The staff were friendly and willing to help out. Lovely staff also in the restaurant in the morning when we meet for breakfast. Excellent car parking prices too for Edinburgh city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Robert K,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, its great to hear such good feedback regarding the team. I will ensure your kind comments are passed on.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

PP

John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Yet again PTI deliver high quality, comfortable & value for money hotel accommodation. I'm a regular user of PTIs all over the country. Only 'complaint' I could have is the food wasn't the best I've had but I still enjoyed my visit nonetheless.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Andyday1971,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our team took care of you.

Please let me apologise regarding your experience within the restaurant, if you would be so kind to Email me with the info and I can look into this as soon as possible. This is not the usual standard we aim to provide.

Hope to hear from you soon!

Kind regards,

PP

John Boswell
TeamLeader.EdinburghHaymarket@Whitbread.com

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was our second time staying at the Haymarket Premier Inn - again, great service at reception, a spotlessly clean room and comfy beds. We ate in the restaurant for dinner - very impressed, and I had one of the best burgers I've ever had (I ordered the 'full house' burger). Our waitress Grace was fantastic and deserves a special mention - she was really friendly and professional and we had great service, and she was lovely to our 10 yr old daughter - very impressed with her, and with the breakfast waiter (didn't get his name, sadly).
Downsides - we went back down to the Costa in the bar to buy hot chocolates later in the evening, but were told the hot milk machine wasn't working, so we couldn't have any (why couldn't they heat milk in a microwave or pan like you would at home? they weren't busy). Also various vending machines were out of order, and the same at the breakfast buffet - a shame they couldn't get these things fixed.
It would also be much more comfortable if they provided cushions in the rooms - there's no sofa in the family rooms, so if you're sat on the bed watching telly, it's really uncomfortable just using a pillow. Overall though, a very pleasant stay and I'd happily go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Iona_car,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, Its great to hear such good feedback regarding your stay. I’m sure Grace and the team where more than happy they could have helped look after you.

Please accept my apologises regarding the hot chocolate, on this occasion due to heath & safety issues we would not be able to heat the milk in any other way.

I have taken on board your comments and will ensure these are resolved for your next visit.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

PP

John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket

Address: 1 Morrison Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Haymarket. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.