We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Morrison Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“brilliant base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We choose this hotel as it was much more reasonable in price than more central hotels. It was an easy walk into centre so location was better than expected. I did panic when I saw line for breakfast then realised when near front our room was then put on a list for available tables thus further waiting! However it was not too long and we sat down to a great breakfast with easy access to all serving stations so the wait was worth it. Staff very friendly and helpful we will return to our new base for Edinburgh!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mariaofsun,

Thank you for your lovely review of our Premier Inn. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we do hope you will be back soon.

Breakfast is always the most important meal of the day and I am so happy that you enjoyed our hot buffet style options. Our team work as hard as possible to ensure waiting times are kept to a minimum so all can enjoy this.

Kind regards,

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    558
    184
    66
    19
See reviews for
332
486
57
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, reception staff very polite and welcoming on arrival. We had a double room, which was quite large and clean, which includes your tea, coffee facilities. We paid for breakfast which was all you can eat, bacon eggs etc and was very nice.The premier inn is about 10 min walk into the center and also about 10 mins to grassmarket, which has quite few pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear 777Julia,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back soon.

I’m glad you found our location to be so handy for your visit. I will ensure your kind comments are passed back to the team.

Kind regards,

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had booked a 3 night stay with our family (9 of us in total) it was going ok until the 2nd night Avin all returned from a darts match myself and my husband went straight to our room, get up nxt day and meet up with everyone else and find my family member has her lag strapped up and is on crutches! Obviously I ask wot the hell has happened, to be told some thug in the bar downstairs who was so drunk he cud not stand up came drunkenly running upto her at the bar, and fell into her, causing her an injury that needed hospital treatment (torn ligaments in knee) well the trouble did not end there as at breakfast the thug and his mates then decided they was gonna carry it on and wanted to take my 15 year old nephew "outside" along with my sisters partner! ( all this is going on in front of other diners with children etc! The reception was asked to call the police and would not!!!! They also won't move my sister and her family won't even move the thugs (cos they work in Edinburgh) like that shud make a difference! The hotel shud av a duty of care, but no they don't! The bar staff allowed these thugs to carry on drinking and also serving them even tho they had blatantly too much to drink already! Also my sister asked for some "first aid" ie a ice pack to try keep swelling down, wot did they give her? ....... A wound dressing and plasters!!!!!?

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Curvyjo,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay within our Premier Inn. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and I would like to personally apologies for the disruption caused during your visit. The safety and security of our guests is and will always be our main priority.

Please be assured that this incident has been fully investigated with the hotel Management Team and the police. Appropriate action has been taken to resolve this issue.

All the team here wish your sister a speedy recovery!

If you have any further questions regarding this incident, please do not hesitate to contact me direct.

Kind regards,

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empoli, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for a week (me, my wife and our 3 years old daughter) and it all went well. Our room was large and clean, stuff is nice, services was good and we got a good deal too.

The only big complain is the _un_availability of Internet connection (either wireless or wired) in room for free. Actually, even when paying (which is something I really hate!), you get access for 1 device only, which is a lot silly these days.

Anyway, we picked it up because it was very close to the Edinburgh International Conference Center, where I had to be for a couple of days for a conference), and at the same time at walking distance from the city center, and both things revealed to be true and made our staying quite comfortable from this point of view.

We booked without breakfast, but we decided to try it once. It was a bit expensive (16 pounds), but they really have a lot of different and good stuff, also for us that are vegetarian! So, perhaps not every days, but if a fan of English breakfast, I'd say at least try it.

Room Tip: Request for castle view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear DarioFaggioli,

Thank you for your lovely review of our Premier Inn. It was pleasure to have you and your family as our guests during your recent conference in Edinburgh.

Please be assured your comments regarding our Wifi have been fully investigated with our service provider and have now been rectified. Please accept my apologies for this inconvenience and thank you for brining this to my attention.

Hope to see you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed for four nights with my husband and two teenagers during half term and, for the price, cannot fault it. Car parking is available, which was a real bonus, and our two rooms were clean, warm and comfortable with everything you would expect for the price, including tea and coffee facilities. All of the staff were pleasant and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. Emma (who seemed to be everywhere - breakfast, dinner, bar etc) was particularly friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and good - I love a cooked breakfast and always look forward to one when staying at a Premier Inn. We had dinner in the restaurant twice and, although not fine dining, there is a great choice of tasty, well cooked food with good service and fair prices and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel was packed due to half term but our rooms were quiet and we were not disturbed at all during the night. For a low cost short break I would thoroughly recommend this Premier Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear quinnkk,

Thank you for your lovely review of our Premier Inn. It was pleasure to have you and your family as our guests during the half term holidays.

Its great to hear such good feedback regarding the team as they do all work so hard to ensure every guest is well looked after. I know Emma is more than happy she could help.

Hope to see you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our first stay at Premier Inn and many more to come for short, 2-3 night city get-aways. Lots of wonderful surprises: a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle and Newtown, 5 minute walk to amazing restaurants and pubs (must try Mumbai Mansion), 8 minute walk to Haymarket train station and a short bus ride to the Edinburgh Zoo. Very tidy hotel, comfortable beds, really nice staff, lovely breakfast (hot/cold options) and surprisingly quiet rooms. Overall excellent value for value. A very enjoyable stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. It was such a pleasure to have you as our gusts. I am so please to hear that this will be the first of many visits to our hotels. I must agree Mumbai Mansion is a fantastic Indian restaurant. I’m glad we helped you enjoy your time in Edinburgh.

I will ensure to pass your lovely comments back to the team.

Kind regards,

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had an enjoyable two night stay, location is perfect, handy for Grassmarket, Royal Mile & Princes Street. Our room was quite large, had everything we needed, & was well equipped with tea / coffee making facility, hair dryer, tv etc. The only issue was the breakfast that we'd prepaid for; very congested & despite being on the menu, & asking, there appeared to be no vegetarian sausages, even after waiting quite a long time. This meant that on our second morning we decided to have our breakfast elsewhere even though we had paid for it, we will use Premier Inn again, but won't be eating there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Clarinetman

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased that our team at the hotel ensured that you were well looked after. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast service did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket

Address: 1 Morrison Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Haymarket. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh City - Haymarket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.