We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful and very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
Abbey Hotel
9 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
weat midlands
1 review
“Friendly, helpful and very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Just returned from a weekend stay in this hotel, 21 females on a Hen weekend
The location was great, within walking distance of all amenities, shopping ,bars etc.
The hotel is very clean, rooms cleaned daily and daily towel change, beds spotlessly clean.
Hotel staff extremely helpful and friendly . Breakfast very good.
Overall very good value for money and would recommend.
Only problem if you are not very mobile, it is up quite a steep hill and the hotel has no lift.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    45
    22
    12
    13
See reviews for
16
35
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

I was a little dubious about staying at the hotel after reading some of the reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. It is a B&B but it was clean, the room was a good size and the staff could not have been nicer. It was only a 10 minute walk or a few minutes in a taxi to the centre and we got free parking all weekend (metered up until 5:30 on a friday and then free until the monday morning!) We will definately use this hotel again when we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

Four of us have just arrived back from a three day stay in The Greenside Hotel. We had a little problem on arrival where two double rooms had been booked but only one was ready, the one that was ready was really only suitable as a single room but the next morning Anna changed rooms for us. The man that checked us in the previous night just told us that they were fully booked for saturday night and couldn't do anything about it. The breakfast is fine if you order the full breakfast but if you only want bacon and egg, that is exactly what you get, one rasher and one egg!!! On the positive side the hotel is in a great location and Anna is so chirpy she would put you in good form just listening to her!

  • Liked — Anna's cheeriness
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

This hotel had a great location next to Calton Hill from which is a 360 degree view of the city. Also a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. The double room we had was very large with a great walk in closet and felt more like a suite. Nice clean bathroom. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was great and service good.

The furnishings were a little tired and the room smelled like cigarette smoke. I don't think it was due to a previous occupant but possibly the staff smoking on the back porch. We had to keep the window open to air it out. Also parking is metered on the street. The meter must be fed every 4 hours between 8:30 and 5:00 although the car does not have to be moved. Cost is approximately 10 GBP per day for parking.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

Based on some of the reviews here, I almost didn't stay at this hotel, but I'm glad I decided to go forward with it. The hotel, while basic, is perfectly fine: a clean, quiet, economical and convenient place to stay in Edinburgh. The view from my hotel room was lovely.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI, INDIA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

I wished to go to Scotland and went to lastminute.com for a booking! Lasminute is simply wonderful - a perfect one-stop shop for all your needs if you are unsure of a new place!

Me and my friend were booked for 2 nights at Greenside and we were really happy with it! Beautiful location, walking distance to Princess Street and all other attractions and bus/railway station as well! We were giving a wonderful room, super-clean bathrooms, excellent heating system(we targeted summer, but we had an extended winter then!). The breakfast was delectable! Absolutely amazing personalised service. The staff was friendly and helpful with suggestions.

You cannot expect the butler service standards from a B&B! I am positively going back there whenever I go to Edinburgh again!

  • Liked — Room, Bathroom, Location, Breakfast
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

The hotel is close to the city centre and takes about 10mins walk to get to the centre (Princess Street).

The hotel its self is a bit dated and is actually more like a Bed & Breakfast. At some point the building must have been someones house......a big house!!

There are around 14 rooms with old style wall paper and carpets although was clean enough. The bathrooms were all brand new and very clean. The rooms were cleaned every day.

Breakfast was fine (6/10).

Although the overall stay was fine (2 nights) I would probably stay in a place which was more a "hotel" than a bed and breakfast type place.

  • Liked — Location to centre of town (10 Mins walk)
  • Disliked — Not a hotel but a B&B
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: 9 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elegant tree-lined terrace, overlooking the Firth of Forth, is the Abbey Hotel (formerly Greenside Hotel). Designed by the renowned architect William Playfair as a family town house for a wealthy merchant, this is an traditional Georgian building, built in 1820, with many of fine original features still in place. ***NEWLY REFURBISHED RECEPTION & PUBLIC AREAS****PLEASE NOTE RECEPTION IS NOT OPEN 24hrs.*Latest Check-In Time is 10:30PM - Should you have an unscheduled travel delay please call the Hotel to arrange a later check-in.The hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, being a 10 minute walk from the bustling cosmopolitan heart of the City.Only 10 minutes to Princes Street and Ocean Terminal for the Royal Yacht Brittania. Close to Playhouse Theatre (5 minutes walk), Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street (with it's famous gardens and views of Edinburgh Castle).Access to Edinburgh's International Conference Centre, the Airport and motorway networks is very convenient, and Waverley train and St Andrew Square bus station are close by. Our welcoming en-suite rooms offer the discerning traveller all the comforts expected, including Freeview Digital colour television, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer and telephone.****Free Wi-Fi (Internet access is available in all bedrooms), also lap-top hire if required********Snacks available within the hotel, upon request*********Local Golf can be arranged*****Most of the hotel's refurbished rooms (new soft furnishings include DUVETS on guest beds, although blankets also provided, if preferred) provide wonderful views over Royal Terrace gardens and out to the Firth of Forth, or the tranquility of our own private gardens to the rear.Edinburgh has all that the visitor could wish for. With many fine art galleries, museums and theatres, a cultural presence is never far away. History is reflected in the Royal Mile, the Palace of Holyrood House and the Castle, all contrasting with the elegant terraces of the 'new town'.As a base for touring, Edinburgh is unbeatable.There is a wide variety of local shopping facilities, including Harvey Nichols, restaurants and bars. Just a few minute's walk from the Omni Centre which boasts a Warner Village Cinema , bars, restaurants, nightclub and comedy venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenside Hotel Edinburgh
Abbey Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.