We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel,friendly staff and clean accommodatio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
Abbey Hotel
9 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
CONSETT
1 review
“Very good hotel,friendly staff and clean accommodatio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

a group of nine of us have stayed at the hotel for one night and found it to be a very pleasant stay. The rooms had plenty space and were clean and tidy. staff were very friendly, helpful and gave great advice. The food we had was of a good standard. The htel is in a great location and was excellent for the price we paid. Don't be put off by out of date old comments, hotel has new owners.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    45
    22
    12
    13
See reviews for
16
35
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perthshire, Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

Before booking our 2 night stay at this hotel, I read most of the other reviews posted here. Nevetheless, I went ahead and booked the room anyway because the price was good.

Having worked in a 2 star hotel, I can definitely conclude that the Greenside Hotel is really not much better than that.

The manager that was on duty upon our check-in, was really friendly and helpful as this had been our first visit to Edinburgh. He even gave us advice in where to find a good dinner and suggested we visit the Ocean Terminal the next day.

This is a very old building ( I think it dates back to the 1800's?) and there is indeed no lift, but that is to be expected. We only booked a double room, but got an enormous family sized room with a double and 2 single beds. The space was lovely, but the decor is probably as old as the building. The bed was comfortable enough, but I didn't like the bedlinen, I prefer a duvet as opposed to a blanket and sheet. I felt the cleanliness of the room could definitely have been better - old soap stains on the shelf in the bathroom and coffee table was filthy. The bowl in which the tea/coffee things were, hasn't been washed in a while.

The full English/Scottish breakfast they served was quite tasty. My boyfriend would've liked 2 eggs instead of just one. Serving breakfast so early (between 8 & 9) isn't really convenient from a guest's point of view. If you're on holiday, you don't want to up that early. We only had breakfast once.

Having free wifi in the room was an added bonus, but I did not appreciate the cleaning lady barging into the room without knocking at 10 in the morning. Had she done so a few seconds earlier, she would've caught me in my birthday suit. On the morning after our first night, they removed one set of towels and left us with only one other set to share. I would've preferred keeping both sets until our departure.

The best thing the Greenside Hotel has going for it, is the location. They really are located centrally and you don't have to walk far to find a multitude of restaurants, shops and even a cinema and theatre. A short bus ride away will even get you to a place where you can play Bingo.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theotherfoot
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

Led a trip in 2007 with a party of 32 school children, staying for five days. Great location and very friendly husband and wife management team who couldn't have been more helpful. The children and 4 accompanying adults really enjoyed their stay. We've booked again for 2008.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

Very quiet and nice room overlooking the gardens. Very friendly. Nice traditonial building. Very clean.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

We were Quite happy with our three-day stay. The staff was most helpful whenI misplaced my "cards". It is a great location-handy to the Register House

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

My family (Mum, Dad, 13 year old, 2.5 year old and 1.5year old) stayed at the Greenside for a weekend during the Rugby World Cup.

The rooms were clean and warm, the breakfast was lovely and the welcome great

Jackie and Mark were excellent company and have made a big difference to the "feel" of the hotel. Charlie and Paul kept the place going inJackie and Mark's absence

Lovely place, lovely people. We'll be back!!

Brian and Rachael Denton

  • Liked — Jackie and mark
  • Disliked — Decor needs a bit of attention
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

We certainly expected better for 120 pounds a night.

On the positive side, the location is pretty good. It's convenient to the Royal Mile and the train station. And out room was quite large.

The hotel is worn, and is in need of work. The bathroom was partly renovated, but still showed mildew around the tub. I believe the owners just took it over in the past year - but they are going to need to invest quite a bit of money to fix things up. They explained it's a listed building, so doing anything takes time and money. Still, it needs work.

Luckily, our room was on the ground floor, so we didn't have to carry our bags up any stairs.

Breakfast was only 8:00 to 9:00, which was okay for us. The quality was fine.

We found the service good - we borrowed an iron and ironing board, after asking a couple of times.

  • Liked — Location, size of room
  • Disliked — Building upkeep and cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: 9 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elegant tree-lined terrace, overlooking the Firth of Forth, is the Abbey Hotel (formerly Greenside Hotel). Designed by the renowned architect William Playfair as a family town house for a wealthy merchant, this is an traditional Georgian building, built in 1820, with many of fine original features still in place. ***NEWLY REFURBISHED RECEPTION & PUBLIC AREAS****PLEASE NOTE RECEPTION IS NOT OPEN 24hrs.*Latest Check-In Time is 10:30PM - Should you have an unscheduled travel delay please call the Hotel to arrange a later check-in.The hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, being a 10 minute walk from the bustling cosmopolitan heart of the City.Only 10 minutes to Princes Street and Ocean Terminal for the Royal Yacht Brittania. Close to Playhouse Theatre (5 minutes walk), Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street (with it's famous gardens and views of Edinburgh Castle).Access to Edinburgh's International Conference Centre, the Airport and motorway networks is very convenient, and Waverley train and St Andrew Square bus station are close by. Our welcoming en-suite rooms offer the discerning traveller all the comforts expected, including Freeview Digital colour television, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer and telephone.****Free Wi-Fi (Internet access is available in all bedrooms), also lap-top hire if required********Snacks available within the hotel, upon request*********Local Golf can be arranged*****Most of the hotel's refurbished rooms (new soft furnishings include DUVETS on guest beds, although blankets also provided, if preferred) provide wonderful views over Royal Terrace gardens and out to the Firth of Forth, or the tranquility of our own private gardens to the rear.Edinburgh has all that the visitor could wish for. With many fine art galleries, museums and theatres, a cultural presence is never far away. History is reflected in the Royal Mile, the Palace of Holyrood House and the Castle, all contrasting with the elegant terraces of the 'new town'.As a base for touring, Edinburgh is unbeatable.There is a wide variety of local shopping facilities, including Harvey Nichols, restaurants and bars. Just a few minute's walk from the Omni Centre which boasts a Warner Village Cinema , bars, restaurants, nightclub and comedy venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenside Hotel Edinburgh
Abbey Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.