We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Easter Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Thank you George hotel we had a fantastic weekend . Room on the 6 the floor had fantastic views . Everything provided hair dryer tea coffee iron . Only moan we did have was the use of the safe it was on the floor , had to get on knees to access it . Hotel and resturant excellent value staff friendly and helpful . Great location for shopping and other bars and resturants . The George was grand but not over whelming . Front of house could do with a re shuffle as the staff did seem a bit clueless . No problem with wi if it was a free login . Would definitely stay at the George again . Edinburgh was a great city friendly and amazingly clean . Delia Smith

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear DeliaS

I am delighted to read your review and to see that you had a wonderful time in this great city. I was really pleased to see from your review that yet again the staff were amazing Ambassadors for The George.

I have asked that maintenance look at the location of the safe issue in all our rooms to see if this can be improved. Thank you for drawing this to my attention.

I do hope that you will return to The George Hotel again soon where you will be assured of a warm welcome.

Kindest regards

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    883
    397
    185
    126
See reviews for
226
1,266
84
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here last year and loved it - large comfortable bed and great room.
We booked again to stay here again and they put us into the "new wing". which was through a very ugly and unappealing maze of a coridoor.. the room itself was really noisy.
Extremely thin walls, we took a nap and were woken up by the neighbours TV. We could hear all conversations of our neighbour and even when they used the toilet.
It was really irritating. We complained twice and got no compensation
Will not stay here again. There is no consistency apart from the comfort of the bed

Room Tip: ask for a room in the old wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Dolarr

Whilst disappointed at the content I am nonetheless grateful for your review. I am sorry that on this occasion your room was not to your liking. We have three very different buildings within the hotel all of which differ in size and decor.

Should you wish to return please do contact me direct and I will do everything I can to ensure that you are allocated the correct room for you.

Kindest regards

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was amazing. My boyfriend and I were only staying at the George Hotel for one night but from the moment we arrived to when we left the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us. Any problem or enquiry we had was no issue for them and they were happy to help.

The hotel it's self was just stunning! We stayed in a standard double room and it was lovely, spacious and fancy. Even though we'd gone for the standard room we felt like we definietly got every penny worths staying there.

We loved it and we will definietly stay at the hotel again when we next visit Edinburgh!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Catherine B

WOW thank you for this wonderful review. I am delighted that your stay with us was so enjoyable.

I will ensure that your kind comments are shared with the staff and I am sure they will also be thrilled to hear your review.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to The George Hotel again soon.

Kindest regards


Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here for just one night - cannot fault the Hotel in any way. Room was fantastic, well equipped, choice of bath or huge shower, in equally huge bathroom - 2 sinks too. Bed large and comfy, great views fromthe window too.
Restaurant, well, what can i say, fabulous tasty food, great service, great atmosphere, even if it was interrupted by a fire alarm and ten minutes on the pavement outside! We were particularly lucky with the weather, which was wall to wall sunshine for the two days we were in Edinburgh.

Check in and out was smooth and all staff were courteous and efficient. One last thing, breakfast, was also superb, a buffet style but it would be easier to name things that weren't on it, copious choice and all well cooked and presented.

Overall, all areas and the room were clean, tidy and immaculate. I would thoroughly recommend this place. Also very central for the city, we were within easy walking distance of all the sights, and 5 mins from the castle.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear HenryandMarilyn

Thank you so much for the review you have posted. Having shared it with the staff they are absolutely delighted that your stay with us was such a success.

I do hope that you will return to The George again soon

Kindest regards

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I can see from the previous reviews I must have been unfortunate but I was very disappointed in the hotel and the hotel bedrooms. I had ordered a premier room with city views, champagne, chocolate and rose petals on the bed. What I got was a third floor room looking into a building, a room that was characterless and really more suited for the business traveller but then again he/she would have to pay for his/her wifi! Reception quickly realised their mistake and the voucher for the glasses of champagne arrived, sadly the promised rose petals have never materialised. The main reception is pleasant and the staff are efficient. Tempus bar and restaurant is also very smart and staff efficient and attentive, drinks prices reasonable and the hotel is in a great location for enjoying the city. However in my circumstance I was very disappointed in the room and as it was for a special occasion particularly so. I checked with reception and they confirmed it was a superior room. I asked about the city views but the receptionist stated I would have to get a better room, when I pointed out that the advert stated "city views" she was a bit lost and also couldn't explain the rose petal situation, I do not believe in giving reception staff the inquisition, what is done is done however a more reflective and accurate description would help to limit ones expectations! I would not return to The George and would not recommend it, I think there are other more special, luxurious hotels in Edinburgh for not a lot more money.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear westwing2

Having read your review it is clear that there were issues with your stay. Please accept my personal and sincere apologies for this. Your package items should have been in your room for your arrival as this is the standard. I will be following up on your comments with the relevant managers.

If you would like to follow this up further please do not hesitate to contact my Guest Relations team.

Kindest regards

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Everything was absolutely fabulous. Staff at reception desk were excellent and check in was simple and quick. The hotel room was, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was varied and tasty. All the staff we encountered were pleasant, cheerful and very helpful. This was our first visit to Edinburgh and will not be our last. We will stay at the George again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mary N

WOW what a wonderful review you have posted following your stay here at The George Hotel. It is great to see that yet again the staff were tremendous Ambassadors for us. I will be sharing your review with them.

I am delighted to see that you will consider staying with us again and please be assured that a warm welcome awaits you.

Kindest regards

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We recently spent a couple of nights at The George as part of an annual reunion of 5 couples. From the minute we arrived we knew we would enjoy the experience, the staff were friendly yet courteous, the decor was excellent and the quality of the rooms was as good as we had been told. The only negatives we heard were from other customers! Mostly to do with the queues at breakfast, however, being early risers that didn't affect us.
We did have one small complaint, the doorman at the pub entrance wouldn't let 2 of the wives in through the bar when they decided to return early! Even when they showed their room keys they were refused entrance as he said one of them was 'too loud', good job the concierge on the main hotel door didn't have the same attitude!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Jim H

Many thanks for the review you have posted following your stay here at The George Hotel. I am delighted that your reunion was enjoyable.

I have spoken to my Manager in Tempus regarding the comment you have made and this will be monitored going forward. Thank you for drawing this to my attention.

Please do let me know if you intend to return to The George for your next reunion and I will see what I can do for you and your friends..

Thank you again for the review

Kindest regards

Graeme Barclay

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 19-21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel has one of the most prestigious locations within Edinburgh. It's classic facade hides sumptuous, contempary interiors blending clean lines with period features.Elegant bedrooms are beautifully furnished for business and leisure guests alike and for those who choose to dine in, the stylish EH2 Tempus Bar and Restaurant offers local produce in a stylish and relaxed environment.Inspirational meeting rooms and exceptional banqueting facilities, including the magnificent King's Hall and beautiful Panorama Suite with fantastic views of across the city, make this the hotel of choice for corporate and wedding guests.The George is within easy reach of the best shopping the captial has to offer, along with tourist attractions, bars and restaurants all within a few minutes walk. Edinburgh Airport is only 7 miles away, and Edinburgh Waverley Station a mere 5 minutes walk. Parking is available at the nearby NCP at Greenside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Edinburgh
The George Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.