We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at The George for 2 nights in February. We were initially disappointed with the tired looking corridor on the approach to our room (no. 56), but the room itself was lovely. The bed was huge and really comfortable, and the room and bathroom were very clean. We had requested a quiet room and were disappointed that this room was situated next to the delivery bay. The room was also not as sound proofed as we would have liked, which led to a disturbed weekend break. However, we did not let this spoil our weekend. The staff were all very friendly and helpful; the bar area was very busy at night but created a good atmosphere. The breakfast in the restaurant whilst very busy after 9am was delicious. We waited around 5 minutes for a table, but the staff were very attentive, and once seated you soon forget the wait. The food was delicious and plentiful, with lots on offer. On the second day of our stay we went down for breakfast early and were seated straight away. Check-out was easy, and we were able to leave our luggage for the day until time for our train. Overall a great stay, we will definitely be back, but will request a different room.

Room Tip: I would request to be on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Pamela E,

Thank you for your review of The George Hotel, following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us. Please do let us know when you plan to return, and we will ensure that you are allocated a different room type.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Graeme Barclay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    883
    397
    184
    126
See reviews for
226
1,266
84
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Ok experience but I'll be choosing somewhere else to stay next time I'm in Edinburgh. Decor a bit tired in places, rooms not as sound proof as I'd like and a long wait at reception at one point. Not sure how it compares to similarly priced hotels though.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Tranquillity Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to review The George following your recent stay with us. I was sorry to learn that the bedroom allocated was to your liking. Many of our bedrooms do differ in character and decoration, which may not be to everyone's liking.

I do hope that this will not deter you from returning, as we would welcome the opportunity of allocating you a different room type upon your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Graeme Barclay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed on a Saturday night in February. We were originally booked in to a Superior room but were sent an upgrade email a week before asking if we would like to upgrade to a Deluxe Sea View room for £17.00. We took up the offer pending availability. We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by the Reception staff who were lovely. We were able to leave our bags until we checked-in. Check-in was easy and the staff were great. We were upgraded, and the room was beautiful! The bed was huge, and so comfy. The bathroom was almost the same size as the bedroom, and had a two showers (one in the bath), and his and her's sinks. We ate in the Tempus Restaurant that night. We had mussels and the fish starter to start and both were delicious. We had steak, cooked to perfection, and the duck breast and pigeon for mains. Both were out of this world! To finish, I had the brulee and my partner had the ice cream for dessert. The brulee was extremely sweet but was tasty. The wine was fantastic, and reasonably priced. The entire meal cost just £70 with wine and beer included (Hotel residents get a free pudding if they order a starter and main each). Breakfast the next morning was well organised and plentiful. Yes, there is a wait but this is mentioned in the literature in the room. Management advises that residents arrive for breakfast early to avoid queues. We waited for 5 minutes and it was very busy but we were told to take a seat which was no hassle. The breakfast itself was delicious, with lots on offer. I would recommend the full breakfast or pancakes! Check-out was easy, and we were allowed to leave our bags for the day. Overall, fantastic stay! Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Kirsty J,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of The George Hotel, following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable say with us, and I very much hope that you will return again soon.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Graeme Barclay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed at the George Hotel on business for two nights recently. Great location. Lovely large bedroom. Lovely bar. I would recommend this hotel but only on an accommodation-only basis. We queued to get a table for breakfast on both the Monday and Tuesday morning for at least 10 minutes. When we finally got our table, there were no glasses or cereal bowls at the buffet table on both occasions - these arrived a few minutes later when we notified staff. These are simple things to get right and suggest the hotel management spend 10 minutes in the breakfast area to notice what isn't working and improve the overall process. Staff in general were fine but reception staff could be more hospitable when receiving guests at check-in and on check-out.

Room Tip: Recommend room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Susan2014review,

Thank you taking the time to review The George Hotel, following your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies with regards to breakfast. From time to time breakfast can get extremely busy; however your wait should not be too lengthy. Your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Manager who will be looking into your comments further.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again where you will be able to see the improvements that have been made.

Yours sincerely,
Graeme Barclay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were recommended this hotel by a friend and wasn't disappointed. All the staff were friendly and attentive. The hotel has a modern but glamorous look with beautiful chandeliers in the foyer and bar. The bar was busy with a great atmosphere. We were in a very clean deluxe double which was huge. The only downside was the very small but very clean bathroom too cosy for two people at a time. Great location for train station,Princes Street, Castle,sightseeing buses and everywhere really.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are less noisy. We were on 1st floor so could hear morning traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Mecroydon,

Thank you for your review of The George Hotel, following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and I very much hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Graeme Barclay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great central location. Warm and friendly hotel. Staff very helpful.Great room. very modern and clean.Great breakfast. Will be back again and would highly recommend. Best hotel that have stayed in for a long time. Highly satisfied and coud not fault anything.Was able to checkin earlier and leave bag to collect later on check out day which was helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear David M,

Thank you for taking the time to review The George, following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and I very much that we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Graeme Barclay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed overnight at the George Hotel on 19th February. Really can't fault it. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We had a superior twin room and the room was lovely and clean. Breakfast was a buffet style and there was so much choice from cereal, fruit to a full English breakfast. The breakfast was delicious (thoroughly enjoyed it). The only niggle we had was when the central heating came on during the night and the pipes made a noise, which it seemed to do on and off all night, but to be honest we really could not fault anything as we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Lorraine K,

Thank you for your review of The George Hotel, following your recent visit with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us, and I very much hope that you will return again, where a very warm welcome awaits you.

Yours sincerely,
Graeme Barclay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 19-21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel has one of the most prestigious locations within Edinburgh. It's classic facade hides sumptuous, contempary interiors blending clean lines with period features.Elegant bedrooms are beautifully furnished for business and leisure guests alike and for those who choose to dine in, the stylish EH2 Tempus Bar and Restaurant offers local produce in a stylish and relaxed environment.Inspirational meeting rooms and exceptional banqueting facilities, including the magnificent King's Hall and beautiful Panorama Suite with fantastic views of across the city, make this the hotel of choice for corporate and wedding guests.The George is within easy reach of the best shopping the captial has to offer, along with tourist attractions, bars and restaurants all within a few minutes walk. Edinburgh Airport is only 7 miles away, and Edinburgh Waverley Station a mere 5 minutes walk. Parking is available at the nearby NCP at Greenside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Edinburgh
The George Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.