We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Save Saved
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Greeted by friendly, cheerful staff and promptly checked in. We were hoping for a room with a better view, but as there were none available, and we had plenty to do during our stay, it wasn't really an issue.
The hotel had, very kindly, provided an anniversary cake and card upon arrival. This was such a lovely touch and much appreciated gesture. We had booked an executive package which included free wifi access for the duration of our stay.
I found the breakfast staff attentive, bringing tea/coffee and toast as soon as we were seated. Also the choice of both hot and cold options were quite adequate. They didn't seem to have pastries but I am not sure if they were just not stocked up when I was looking for them.
Both the restaurant and bar had great atmosphere as well as great food. The ballroom had been set up for an event during our stay and looked stunning.
Overall, great hotel, fantastic location. We definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor at the front of the hotel if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review and for the 5 score that you awarded us.

I very much look forward to you returning, where a very warm welcome awaits.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    698
    701
    319
    146
    112
See reviews for
167
994
71
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
obxer7
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for 1 night following our wedding.

We were greater by concierge when we were waiting to check in, and told to return at 3pm to check in. We returned at 3pm to be tole that we couldn't check in as the computers were getting upgraded and it would take up to an hour. After about 20 minutes we were able to check in. We had booked an executive room...I think we were put in the furthest room from reception.....up a lift...along a corridor, down a flight of stairs...along another corridor, hardly convenient or easy to get to when you have luggage.

The room was nice enough and clean but we weren't able to get wifi and could only get a phone signal if standing next to the window.

Breakfast was good, but for the money we paid I would expect a better over all experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I can confirm that our check-in policy is from 3.00pm. We were experiencing some problems with our computer system, however I do hope that the 20 minutes delay did not cause you too much inconvenience.

The George Hotel is made up of three separate buildings, all of which are linked by corridors. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience reaching your bedroom.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and I do hope that you will consider The George when next in Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nice room. Should provide summer blankets as the standard quilt is too warm for summer. Included breakfast was mediocre due to lack of fresh fruit. No included Wi-Fi is a negative in the current market. Location is convenient, within walking distance to many attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We try to accommodate all our guests requirements during breakfast, and we do normally have fresh fruit available. Nex time, please ask a member of the waiting staff who will be more than happy to assist.

WiFi is a project that we are currently working on and should be available in the near future.

I do hope that you will return to The George again soon.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cumbria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Yet another wonderful stay at the George. Despite getting stuck in the lift, we really we enjoyed our stay. Sunday night in an executive room was great value bed & breakfast.
The rooms are clean and quiet. Breakfast is always good ( poached Haddock & poached egg freshly cooked ).
Can't wait to go back in November

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5 score! and for the fantastic review.

Please accept my most sincere apologies regarding the lift, I do hope you were not stuck for too long.

I am delighted that you will be returning in November, and I very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at The George, we loved it the first time and so decided to go back, again we were not disappointed. We booked a romantic package 2nights B&B in a deluxe room with chocolate treats and a glass champagne which we enjoyed. The room (224) was great, large and airy with all the amenities we expect apart from the lack of bottled water.The bed was extremely comfy which aided a good nights sleep. My only criticism was with the amazing bathroom, the shower over the very large, impressive bath was poor and it was a struggle to be able to get under the shower itself without bending backwards! A rainforest shower over the centre of the bath would have been much better. That aside, the bar is very lively and the bar menu works well. Breakfast is a hearty affair with plenty of everything and good service from the staff. The hotel staff, many who are Scottish, are professional, helpful and friendly. This will be our hotel in Edinburgh for all future stays.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We really do appreciate all guest feedback, and I would like to thank you for passing on the details regarding the shower in room 224. Our maintenance department are looking into this now.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that The George will be your chosen hotel when in Edinburgh.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here two nights. Location is fine. Staff polite. The lack of wifi in the rooms and only thirty minutes in the lobby not so great. There is wired broadband in the room but many devices do not have that port anymore. The breakfast Buffett was lacking in quality of food overheated and poor presentation. For the price not sure if it all adds up to great value?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We take our guest comments extremely seriously here at The George, and value our customer’s feedback.

I can confirm that we are currently working on a Wifi project, which should be in place within the hotel by the end of the year.

Your comments regarding breakfast have been discussed with the Executive Chef and the Breakfast Manager and this is an area that we will be monitoring closing.

I would like to thank you once again for your feedback, and hope that this will not deter you from returning in the future.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Friendly reception on arrival, rooms adequate but nothing special for the money. Hotel seems geared up for large tourist groups, coach parties permanently filling reception.
Dinner was superb, good atmosphere and nice selection of wines. Parking a nightmare. We were sent on a 20 minute car journey to a shopping centre car park, with a 15 minute walk back to the hotel.
Otherwise beautiful location near all amenities, castle, university, etc. would use again, but only by train

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

During the summer months the hotel does get extremely busy with tourists arriving on a daily basis, which can make the foyer area a busy place.

I was delighted to learn that you dined in our Tempus Restaurant during your stay, and that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal.

Due to our fantastic city centre location we do not offer on-site parking. However, we do offer all guests a discount at the nearby NCP car park. Sorry if the route to the car park proved a little longer than usual - this is due to the ongoing tram works within Edinburgh.

I very much hope that you will visit us again when next in Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 19-21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel has one of the most prestigious locations within Edinburgh. It's classic facade hides sumptuous, contempary interiors blending clean lines with period features.Elegant bedrooms are beautifully furnished for business and leisure guests alike and for those who choose to dine in, the stylish EH2 Tempus Bar and Restaurant offers local produce in a stylish and relaxed environment.Inspirational meeting rooms and exceptional banqueting facilities, including the magnificent King's Hall and beautiful Panorama Suite with fantastic views of across the city, make this the hotel of choice for corporate and wedding guests.The George is within easy reach of the best shopping the captial has to offer, along with tourist attractions, bars and restaurants all within a few minutes walk. Edinburgh Airport is only 7 miles away, and Edinburgh Waverley Station a mere 5 minutes walk. Parking is available at the nearby NCP at Greenside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Edinburgh
The George Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.