We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Fife
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We checked in on Saturday 30th March for a one night stay. We travelled by car which on hindside we should have taken the train as the station isnt far from the hotel and cuts out having to find a parking space. We parked a street away.

On arrival reception was busy as there was a wedding taking place which was lovely as the hotel had a lovely buzz about it. Check in staff were friendly, efficient and very professional and we were checked in in no time at all.

The room which was a standard room was very modern and spotless and although the bathroom was small and only had a shower this was perfect for us as we only ever have showers at home.

After dropping off teh bags we headed to the Tempus bar for a couple of cocktails which eas busy and lively but a niec place to while the time away.

We did not eat in the restaurant as had Dinner reservations at the Living Room which was lovely with great service and after a pub crawl of George Street headed back to the hotel.

We opted for breakfast in the room in the morning after hanging the request on the door on our return from the pubs. This is at a cost of £10 for tray delivery but in our eyes well worth it to enjoy a leisurely breakfast in peace. It arrived on time and was piping hot and delicious.

After arriving home I discovered I had left my electric toothbrush in the bathroom and after a call to the hotel to confirm it was there they arranged for this to be sent on to me. I received this in a matter of days.

I would not hesitate in staying here again as overall all of the staff were professional and friendly especially as the hotel itself had been full the evening we stayed nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The George, following your recent stay with us.

It sounds like you had a lovely time in Edinburgh, and I very much hope you will return to the hotel again one day.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    791
    371
    161
    120
See reviews for
204
1,131
80
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Gold locarion, close to everythinh. High class Hotel in a Street with other great bars & restaurants. Serviceminded & pro staff!!The George is just a few minutes away from main street, 10 min from the royal mile & the castel. Edinburgh is a beatiful place with friendly pepole..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I can see that you had a great time in Edinburgh enjoying the attractions within the city centre.

Please do return to The George should be in Edinburgh again.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013 for one night. Good value for money. Very good service. Lovely, clean room and bathroom. Good breakfast. Just off Princes Street so very handy to walk to shops and bars. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, following your recent stay with us.

Please do come back and visit again soon.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pros: Great Service
Great Location
Clean Room
Cons: No refrigerator
No free internet
Expensive

I'm sorry, but 5 star hotels have refrigerators and free wifi. The internet didn't work in the room, and the movie purchasing on the tv didn't work. In their defense the customer service was probably some of the best service around the world. I don't mind spending a lot, but for the price I paid per night simple amenities as stated above are necessary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Please be advised that The George Hotel is not a five star hotel. We are a four star city centre property within the heart of Edinburgh.

We do not have mini bars within the bedrooms, however we do offer room service where beverages can be ordered to your bedroom.

We offer guests 30 minutes complementary wifi, after which a small charge is applicable for 24 hours.

I would be grateful if you could advise me of what bedroom you stayed in to enable us to rectify the problem with the TV. Tel: 0131 240 7111

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope that we can welcome you back to The George again.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the George hotel.

The location is fantastic for the shops, sights, station and nightlife. Our room was an executive double on the 7th floor - the view was an incredible panoramic from the castle on one side to the coast on the other. The bathroom was compact but was clean, stylish and had everything we needed.

We dined in the Tempus restaurant on the saturday night - the food, atmosphere and service were excellent. Breakfast provided a great selection via the buffet and to order from the menu e.g. omlette.

All the staff were friendly and very helpful. We would definitely recommend the hotel as well as stay again next time we visit Edinburgh!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5 score you awarded us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope that you will return again soon, where a very warm welcome awaits you.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Situated on George Street just near St Andrews square, this is a good central hotel and ideal for shopping, dining and sight seeing. Stayed here for 2 nights on a special deal package which included an upgrade to executive room and complimentry breakfast.

Room was of a good size which had a huge, very comfy bed. Usual amenities included tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and iron. Bathroom was clean but far too tiny and had no heated towel rail or radiator so was quite cold. Shower is over the bath.

Breakfast was very nice and there was a good choice of both hot and cold buffett. Quick service on both mornings by the staff for tea, coffee and toast.

Bar area has a nice atmosphere but with all hotel bars can be expensive.

Checking in and out was quick but the desk staff were not all that friendly and there was no friendly exchange of conversation.

The biggest downside of staying here is the noise. We had a room to the back of the hotel, were bins are stored, so expect to hear bottle trolleys being emptied into the bins late at night/early morning and delivery trucks/rubbish collection trucks turning up at the crack of dawn. Dont expect to have a sleep in past 7am!

While this is a very nice hotel in a great area, the noise very early on a morning was just to much of an issue for us and for this reason I probably wouldnt opt to stay here again.

Room Tip: A front room might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

It is disappointing that you will not return to The George due to the noise.

Should you consider returning in the future, please contact me direct to enable me to offer you the best rate possible. Tel: 0131 240 7111

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I feel so disappointed after our experiences.

The Good
The hotel is central to shops, bars and restaurants. Despite this central location the road noise outside was not bad after around 7pm.
The room was quite clean, as were surfaces around the hotel however some communal areas looked tired and lifeless.
The standard room was a decent enough size, clean bathroom.

The Bad
The shower was tight - no tall guests allowed. If you can navigate a shower under the spray head, you're likely to get into a scuffle with the shower curtain as the bath space is narrow. The toilet flusher was ridiculously tough- 2 hands to press the button it was so stiff.
I spied old peanuts under tv unit as I lent down to pick something up. There are no music channels on the tv, however there were 5 radio stations - wrongly tuned according to the menu.
There was no mini bar, no fridge or little touches which we have come to expect from other hotels allegedly of the same standard (herbal teas, tissues, magazines). There is also no room service other than sandwiches. No crisps, no fries- the sandwich simply came on a plate.
There was a bottle of wine in room as per our rate offer, with no cork screw.One was swiftly brought to our room by an Eastern European woman who was totally unfriendly.
The duvet was wafer thin.
The twin beds were pushed together to make a double- the twin room was requested, then clearly ignored.

The Ugly
These concerns were reported at the time and an apology offered however there wasn't an explanation;

With the exception of the front desk staff and door men, the staff at the hotel are quite frankly RUDE, ABRUPT, IMPATIENT & UNINTERESTED. This is a large hotel so staff need to be trained to work extra hard to help guests feel welcomed and special. Service at breakfast was the final straw. Firstly we walked into chaos where guests were queuing, awaiting their room number being called out like bingo when upon we had to run behind the hostess who fired instructions at us as she marched us to our table. Totally impersonal. The buffet lacked flavour, choice for me (vegetarian), or any sort of organisation in the service and generally the experience made is walk out in disgust. We were given 2 racks of cold toast however when we explained it was cold the waitress rolled her eyes at us and appeared to grudgingly agree to source fresh/ hot toast. It arrived ten minutes later and was no where near warm, let alone hot. The butter on the table had been used before us and should not have been served to another guest.

Pathetic. Service and food quality fell way below 2* service let alone 4*. We would never return. Why pay George Hotel prices when you could stay somewhere you are welcomed and valued?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I am sorry that we fell short on customer care during your stay with us. The George invest a great deal of time and effort in the training of all its staff and the comments you have raised are of great concern. I can confirm that re-training will be addressed to ensure that our guests receive the highest level of care at all times.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The George, where I would be delighted to offer you the best discounted rate possible upon your next stay. Please contact me on 0131 240 7111.

Thank you once again for your feedback, and I hope that we can welcome you back again soon, and restore your faith in us again.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 19-21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel has one of the most prestigious locations within Edinburgh. It's classic facade hides sumptuous, contempary interiors blending clean lines with period features.Elegant bedrooms are beautifully furnished for business and leisure guests alike and for those who choose to dine in, the stylish EH2 Tempus Bar and Restaurant offers local produce in a stylish and relaxed environment.Inspirational meeting rooms and exceptional banqueting facilities, including the magnificent King's Hall and beautiful Panorama Suite with fantastic views of across the city, make this the hotel of choice for corporate and wedding guests.The George is within easy reach of the best shopping the captial has to offer, along with tourist attractions, bars and restaurants all within a few minutes walk. Edinburgh Airport is only 7 miles away, and Edinburgh Waverley Station a mere 5 minutes walk. Parking is available at the nearby NCP at Greenside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Edinburgh
The George Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.