We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Keswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Nice hotel we came for 1 night it was perfect close to bars, and the play house .room clean and nice .beakfast was good no problems at all.if you stay here make sure you go to the dome it's amazing and worth a look

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Our location is great within the city centre and also close to the Play House - I hope you enjoyed your show.

When next in Edinburgh I do hope that you will come back and visit us.

Kind regards,
David J Welch,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    796
    371
    161
    120
See reviews for
206
1,136
80
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Invernesshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I booked the standard room for 2 nights on the internet. As it was for my elderly parents I requested a quiet room, near the lift for easy access due to walking difficulties and preferably with a view. The room was quite a long walk from lift with a view of a brick wall and the bottle bins for the bar situated below so that the noise of the bottles being emptied went on all afternoon and evening. The room was much smaller than I expected and there was only a shower when I assumed there would also be a bath. My parents were happy and had a pleasant stay but the first impressions of the hotel were let down by the room and its situation given the specific requests. I also had to ask the reception staff for extra information (e.g. breakfast times and location) which I felt should have been given to us without prompting when checking in. Other than that, the reception, lounge and bar area were excellent and the room clean and modern.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Sorry your recent stay with us was not as you had expected. We do try out best to honour all our guest requests, however from time to time these may not always be possible.

The George Hotel is made up of three separate buildings, with the original building being listed. As we are limited as to what alterations can be made, many of the bedrooms do differ in size and layout.

Due to our fantastic city centre location, not all our bedrooms benefit from panoramic views, however I do hope that this did not cause you any inconvenience.

I would like to thank you once again for sharing your comments following your stay with us, and I do hope that we can welcome you and your parents back to The George hotel again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself direct and I will do my best to ensure you are allocated a room near the lifts. My direct telephone number is 0131 240 7110.

Yours sincerely.
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakedistrict
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The George Hotel is the best hotel it is quite central one street back from Princess sreet so quiet on a night but still central the hotel it self is fantastic good food excellent rooms and really good staff second to none would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: single rooms are very spacious also twins are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I hope you enjoyed your shopping trip as much as you liked the hotel.

Thank you sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

Do come back and visit us again - what out for the Christmas Shopping packages!

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashcott, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Excellent location. excellent hotel. Room was perfect, good decor. everything you could want in room.Wide variety of food for breakfast.
Only negative was noise from extractor fans which went on all night outside bedroom window.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 308 due to noise from extractor fans!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was sorry to learn of the noise coming from the extractor fan. If this had been brought to my attention at the time, every effort would have been made to rectify the matter, or offer you a room move.

I am pleased that other than the fan, you did enjoy your stay with us.

Please let us know if you are planning on returning and I will be delighted to offer you a complimentary upgrade.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a wonderful over-night stay here just before christmas. This was our second visit and we had an executive double room at the back of the hotel so it was very quiet - no street noise at all (and there was a lot going on outside). Staff were very friendly, and we were given a complimentary mug of mulled wine whilst checking-in. The room wasn't ready, as we arrived early, but it was no problem to leave our bag. Good sized, comfortable and well-decorated room. Big bathroom with toiletries, and there was a bath with an overhead shower. Hair dryer, iron and tea/coffee tray were also provided. Breakfast the following morning was excellent with a big choice, and despite the hotel being very busy we were seated immediately.

Our stay was a birthday celebration and there was a birthday card, and some chocolate covered strawberries and a small selection of chocolates waiting in the room for us. A very nice touch.

Would recommend this hotel, and we will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel seems to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review following your stay with us.

On special occasions we do like our guests to have that little something extra and I am delighted that you enjoyed the card and chocolate covered strawberries.

Please let us know if you are returning for any other special occasions in the future.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is the 2nd time staying at The George (27th / 28th Dec 12) and once again it was a pleasant stay. The room was slightly smaller than the last visit but perfectly adequate for the short stay,very clean and modern furniture.
Quick and efficient check in and the front of house were very friendly.
Cannot comment on dinner or breakfast as we eat elsewhere.
Please note that The George does not have any car parking facilities but they do recommend the OMNI centre where you will receive a 15% discount or The St James centre,£19.50 for 24 hours.Parking and driving around the city centre is a nightmare and should be avoided at all costs in fact I would not go back to Edinburgh due to the disruption of the new tram lines which will not be completed until 2015 at earliest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us.

As you rightly pointed out we do not have a car park on site, however we do offer discout for guests at a nearby NCP.

Edinburgh is undergoing tram works at present, however due to our fabulous location within the city centre getting around should not be so much of a problem. We are within walking distance of tourist attractions, bars, shops and restaurants.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again before the tram works are completed.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Excellent Location
Excellent Staff
Excellent Breakfast
Excellent Room
Excellent Décor

Just an excellent hotel and can highly recommend it.

Decided to have a few days away before Christmas and not been to Edinburgh for many years so booked a three night break and the George Hotel was included in the deal and was it turned out the perfect hotel.

Only a five minute walk from the train station and when we reached the front door the whole experience started as the kilted doorman opened the door and greeted us. The receptionist was just as welcoming and efficient dealing with our room allocation.

The room was on the sixth floor and so no problem with noise, although with our front facing room we could hear the bells from the near by church in the morning but was not a problem, bed was just so comfortable after a long day walking the city and with a room safe, bath, shower, and TV the room was very well appointed for a short or long stay.

Breakfast was included in the cost and the dinning room was a beautiful location to start the day and the breakfast buffet had a huge selection of hot and cold food. Waitress was problem our only negative and only because they were so busy they could not pay as much attention to the guests, but the solution to this would be more staff.

Location in George Street was ideal for exploring the city, food and shopping.

If you book this you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Top floor room will be the quite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a great review - thank you for your detailed comments.

It sounds like you had a great time with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 19-21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel has one of the most prestigious locations within Edinburgh. It's classic facade hides sumptuous, contempary interiors blending clean lines with period features.Elegant bedrooms are beautifully furnished for business and leisure guests alike and for those who choose to dine in, the stylish EH2 Tempus Bar and Restaurant offers local produce in a stylish and relaxed environment.Inspirational meeting rooms and exceptional banqueting facilities, including the magnificent King's Hall and beautiful Panorama Suite with fantastic views of across the city, make this the hotel of choice for corporate and wedding guests.The George is within easy reach of the best shopping the captial has to offer, along with tourist attractions, bars and restaurants all within a few minutes walk. Edinburgh Airport is only 7 miles away, and Edinburgh Waverley Station a mere 5 minutes walk. Parking is available at the nearby NCP at Greenside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Edinburgh
The George Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.