We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Christmas Party Ever.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Save Saved
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Stirlingshire, UK.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worst Christmas Party Ever.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having arrived at 2.50pm I expected my room to be ready but it wasn't. After waiting 20/25mins I was given a different room as mine still wasn't ready. Going to the bar to meet my friends for a drink was a problem as we couldn't get a drink because the Bar was 6 deep with people waiting to be served. Only 2 Barmen on duty serving mainly cocktails.
Went to the Christmas Party in the George Suite (should have been the Kings Hall as that's what we booked) and this was a major disaster!! Squashed in a table which didn't have room for our plates. No waiter service... you had to up then down stairs if you wanted a drink. After complaining a waiter was sent in with drinks for us. On handing them out he managed to spill a drink all over me and just started to laugh.
The party didn't happen. We left and went to a restaurant as our whole night was wasted but after we returned we met some of the other guests who had stayed and they said the disco never happened and after 3 music quizzes the guest were complaining so they shut the hall down and put everyone in the Kings Hall (where we were supposed to be booked in). At 12.45am thet eventually gave us a 'dirty' table in the Kings Hall where we spent the last 15mins of the party. Breakfast in the morning was a disaster with a 30 min wait to get a table then 15min wait for breakfast. They ran out of sausages, eggs and potato scones. Told us these would be ready in 10 minutes.

Room Tip: You would need to upgrade to get a good room. Mine was tiny....kettle & cups in the clothes cupb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I appreciate your patience with these matters whilst this was dealt with directly with the hotel.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    710
    720
    333
    152
    114
See reviews for
177
1028
72
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was a very poor experience at a hotel in London that led me to go back and review all of the hotels I have stayed in and highlight the positive ones so that recognition is given when it is deserved.

This is probably my most favourite hotel. Edinburgh is an amazing and beautiful city and this hotel really adds to the experience. It was the first short break my partner and I had together 18 months ago. We went back last April and intend to make it a yearly trip.

The hotel is beautiful. On both occasions, we have been offerred sparkling wine to enjoy on arrival. The rooms that we stayed in were well decorated, spacious and clean. The staff are always friendly and helpful.

The food has been great. When we visited last April, the restaurant was quiet and the waiter was more than happy to spend his time talking to us about the history of the city.

Whenever room service is requested, it is always efficient.

On both trips that we have made to this hotel, we have never had a complaint and have been sad to leave.

We can't wait until the next trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5 score, and for such a great review.

I am delighted that you have stayed with us twice before, and that you will return again soon.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked for 1 night for my partners 50th birthday.. On arrival Bryan Young who works on reception straight away upgraded our room to a suite at the front of the hotel, which was beautiful.. Nothing was too much trouble . They had even left him a birthday card in our room.. Breakfast was great.. Cannot recommend this hotel more.. Will not hesitate to ho back ..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a fantastic review and for the 5 score you awarded.

I was delighted that you managed to get upgraded, we do like upgrading as many of our guests as possible, however this really depends on occupancy levels at the time.

I hope you will visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Visited with a group of friends for a pre-Christmas get together. It's really well placed - close to the station, right on one of the main streets with lots of bars and restaurants really close by. The Christmas decorations in the hotel were beautiful and the City also looked very festive. Staff were great - very friendly and courteous. Our main gripe was that the service at breakfast was slow - food on the buffet kept running out and took ages to be replenished. Too many people wandering around who didn't actually appear to be doing anything useful. Also our room faced onto the area where the rubbish bins were kept and the collection at 7.30am on Sunday morning was very noisy! Other than that, a great weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the bins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

Sorry to learn that your breakfast experience with us was not as you had expected. I can confirm that these comments have been passed onto the breakfast team and the chef to ensure that measures are put in place with immediate effect.

I do hope you will come back and visit us again.

Kind regards,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I would like to inform anyone reading this review that the evening which was booked 3 months in advance was a complete and total disaster and our party have request a full refund of all monies paid.
The venue was not the one advertised or booked in the Kings Hall Room and the one provided (George Suite) was not adequately prepared for the party and failed to provide the service purchased from the hotel at a considerable cost.
The specifics of the failures include a table unsuitable for the number in our party. The table allocated was only capable of seating twelve and yet the hotel “attempted” to lay a seating plan for sixteen. The table was also placed in an unsuitable position within the room i.e. tight against a wall with no room to move behind the seats. Both these failings made the serving of food impossible with the free movement of our party being difficult in the extreme. The inability of the staff to take a drinks order or provide a table service for drinks and the lack of a Bar facility within (or near) the function room ensured the party could never really get started! The attitude and unresponsiveness of the Staff on duty was appalling and no attempt was made to address our concerns other than to offer a number of bottles of wine by way on compensation. Clearly the hotel staffs were not listening and were therefore unable to act in a professional manner to address our concerns. In addition, once a drinks order had been placed in the main bar, the member of staff who did eventually serve the drinks proceeded to spill one in the lap of one of our party and then had the audacity to laugh at the situation.
Eventually, and completely disgusted with the response of the hotel management, our party was left with no alternative but to leave the venue in order to get a meal at a table suitable to the number in our party. We did so on the understanding that we would return for a period of dancing towards the end of the night. On returning to the hotel we found the “party” had not progressed as advertised and the quiz had developed in to the only entertainment available
It has since been brought to our attention that the disco planned for the George Suite didn’t in fact materialise and all the party goers who were able to eat were moved to the Kings Hall to finish their evening and yet the Hotel staff didn’t see fit to act on our request/agreement to make a table ready in the Kings Hall for our return. It was only after us demonstrating to the hotel management that a table was now available in the Kings Hall that we were allowed to enter and at least get 15mins of dancing, hardly the party evening planned!
Further issues were encountered at breakfast for those members of our party unfortunate enough to have paid the extortionate room rate in what is billed as one of Edinburgh’s premier hotels. In this regard a note was delivered during the night (eg after 2am) under the door of the rooms to inform guests that (not surprisingly following a party night) breakfast between 9:00 and 10:30am can be “extremely busy” and “to avoid queues you may wish to arrive early”! I think the timing of this information is somewhat late in its delivery to the point where it is all but irrelevant. As it turns out, there were extensive queues for breakfast and once seated there was little in the way of breakfast left to eat.
I’m completely disgusted that a hotel of such standing failed to plan their resources to meet the demand expected on their service and failed so comprehensively to provide those services. I expect many of the attendees will be making their own comments on the evening via negative feedback on social media sites and no level of recompense other than a full refund of all monies is acceptable - WATCH THIS SPACE

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review regarding our George Suite Christmas Party Night.

I am delighted that the matters raised have now been resolved directly with the hotel.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was not what we expected to find at all. We stayed with a number of work colleagues on Saturday the 8th for a works Christmas party.
The room we were given was like a small box and certainly not what we expected for the price we paid.
The Christmas party for us was not to be in the main room which is what we booked.
No we were sent downstairs to a small room more like a dungeon. The table was piled with cutlery and glasses with 15 of us squashed around a small table with no room to eat.
Complaints were ignored by staff and management.
A member of staff spilt a drink on one of our party and then laughed.
Total lack of any customer service at all.
No one from our party had any of the meal due to the fact their was no space to eat.
Management offered nothing apart from some fetching some cheap bottles of wine to table.
We left to eat elsewhere after it was apparent that customer service is not part of the ethos of this hotel and our complaints were falling on the deaf ears of a manager who could not care less after the general manager did a Houdini and disappeared .
Breakfast the next day was a farce. Massive queues as you don't have the facilities to cater for the amount of people. Food quality was poor.
Poorly trained rude staff some of whom cant speak much English.
When i asked for the name of the person in charge of the hotel group to address a written complaint to the girl on the desk suggested I look it up on the internet.
Are you having a laugh , this is customer service? After protesting and refusing to move until she provided it to me. She scribbled it down for for me.
Well Tony Troy your hotel is operating not how it should be and i am a very dissatisfied customer. I would not use or recommend any of your hotels if this is how you run your business.
I did not spend hundreds on pounds on travel, new outfits for this night out,to stay in a small expensive room like a box , a ruined christmas meal which we never recieved, rudeness and lack of interest from your staff .
I expect a full refund and an apology.

If your considering using this hotel don't bother.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay with us.

I delighted that these matters have been addressed directly with the hotel.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and have enjoyed coming back! Check-in with glass of prosecco as welcome or glass of malt wine is always a good start.

Staff are very friendly and service minded, the rooms if you request to stay in the newer area (not Adam Wing) are nice and spacious. Bathrooms are somewhat small but have all you need.

Breakfast in the morning is fantastic and plenty of choice - quick service on coffee/tea and toast. The bar area is very cozy and they serve great cocktails but pricy. The restaurant is very nice, great historical details and fantastic food.

This hotel has won a lot of awards and it is very clear why. You feel very welcome and they will go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Adam Wing (rooms smaller) and although nice to have a room with view of George...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for the five score you gave us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you will come and visit us again.

The Adam Wing of the hotel is the original part of the building, which is listed and therefore we are restricted as to what alterations can be made. Due the this many of the bedrooms within the Adam Wing do differ in size and layout - which adds to the character of the building.

Thank you once again for your review and I very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
David J Welch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 19-21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel has one of the most prestigious locations within Edinburgh. It's classic facade hides sumptuous, contempary interiors blending clean lines with period features.Elegant bedrooms are beautifully furnished for business and leisure guests alike and for those who choose to dine in, the stylish EH2 Tempus Bar and Restaurant offers local produce in a stylish and relaxed environment.Inspirational meeting rooms and exceptional banqueting facilities, including the magnificent King's Hall and beautiful Panorama Suite with fantastic views of across the city, make this the hotel of choice for corporate and wedding guests.The George is within easy reach of the best shopping the captial has to offer, along with tourist attractions, bars and restaurants all within a few minutes walk. Edinburgh Airport is only 7 miles away, and Edinburgh Waverley Station a mere 5 minutes walk. Parking is available at the nearby NCP at Greenside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Edinburgh
The George Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.