We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with History and Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
philippines
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Hotel with History and Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here for two night. This hotel is in the Center of Edinburgh, Scotland known for the famous Edinburgh Castle. It has a nice clean room, with average size bed. But the view of the hotel to the Edinburgh Castle was fantastic. Breakfast was good, and its is an easy walk to the city center. Hotel staff were not that helpful and business center computer was down, but why let it spoils my nice view. Although Edinburgh has a lot of street diggings due to the train railway line constructions, but it is worth seeing especially the castle.

Room Tip: Stay at the room on the seventh floor new wing were the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    796
    371
    161
    120
See reviews for
206
1,136
80
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had a one night stay here in December 2010. Bit of a weird experience almost like being a tourist in your own city. Been to the George Hotel a few times but never stayed there before. Really enjoyed it. Great room, very comfortable and clean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel really knows nothing about how to treat their guests or staff.

The reservations department can not even get the bookings right and the management are rude and obnoxious.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Everything was spectacular; great location, really nice staff, and modern. My room was even pretty roomy, almost to an american hotel standard (I did choose the executive double so that I would be sure I didn't have twin beds). It has been "standardized/americanized" so it isn't the traditional Scottish kind of place, but I was more than ok with that.

The staff did go above and beyond for me, as it was a bit chilly one evening and they had not turned on the central heat yet. So they immediately brought me a space heater (I literally had it 5 minutes after I called the desk). They also helped me with my bags, stored them for me on the day of my departure because my train left late in the day - allowing me to explore the town for one more day. The food was really good as well, and not super expensive for room service (£13 including service charge for french fries, a pot of tea, and a cheese tray).

All in all, an exceptional value, and I plan on staying here again on my next trip to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: My room was high up, so it was really quiet. There was a bit of an issue with people slamming their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just come back from a stay at The George hotel in Edinburgh. It was meant to be a relaxing 2 night break for 4 friends but the hotel managed to make it a challenge. We received confirmation of our booking on the Monday - 2 twin rooms for 2 nights- but when we arrived there was 1 twin and 2 doubles, at the opposite end of the hotel. Not much use for girls chats at the end of the day. This would have been ok if there had been any attempt at an apology that night but instead we were basically asked to prove we had made the booking as stated. We were even sent to the business centre to print off the email. The hotel was unable to access their own reservations system but it was apparently down to us to sort.
It took until Saturday evening to resolve the issue with a duty manager and she really impressed us with her efficiency. Shame she wasn't there on Friday.
The hotel is fine,very clean and well maintained but I have never had such poor service from a reception team. I'll look elsewhere next time I'm in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Ask to be near a lift- some rooms are a long way away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here as part of a Globus Tour group for our honeymoon. The outside appearance is very beautiful, the lobby is comfortable but handsome. Our room was a bit difficult to navigate to, but it seemed to be this way in many hotels located in older buildings. The breakfast was delicious. The rooms were amazing! The beds were bigger than most we'd stayed in. The bar had a very delicious pear cocktail that I indulged in one evening. And there was a wedding going on in the ballroom. We were invited in by a member of the wedding party, congratulated the bride and were offered a piece of cake! How friendly everyone was. OH! And the internet in the lobby. Excellent! Could keep our family and friends posted using the wireless on our iPad.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Located in the heart of the city for easy walking to all the attractions and great restaurants. The staff was wonderful, the rooms were great and recently redone. The George has a very nice lobby that is usually very quite. The attached pub has great window seats for people watching. They do not offer free Internet but that seemed to be the only problem. If you are driving beware. The nearest parking garage is about 3 blocks away and street parking is an invitation to fill the coffers of city hall.

Room Tip: Stay in the middle to front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 19-21 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel has one of the most prestigious locations within Edinburgh. It's classic facade hides sumptuous, contempary interiors blending clean lines with period features.Elegant bedrooms are beautifully furnished for business and leisure guests alike and for those who choose to dine in, the stylish EH2 Tempus Bar and Restaurant offers local produce in a stylish and relaxed environment.Inspirational meeting rooms and exceptional banqueting facilities, including the magnificent King's Hall and beautiful Panorama Suite with fantastic views of across the city, make this the hotel of choice for corporate and wedding guests.The George is within easy reach of the best shopping the captial has to offer, along with tourist attractions, bars and restaurants all within a few minutes walk. Edinburgh Airport is only 7 miles away, and Edinburgh Waverley Station a mere 5 minutes walk. Parking is available at the nearby NCP at Greenside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Edinburgh
The George Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.