We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walk, run or stroll” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holyrood Park

Holyrood Park
Holyrood Park Road, Edinburgh EH16 5BT, Scotland (South Side)
+44 (0)131 652 8150
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$22*
and up
Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #7 of 156 Attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Castles, Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Holyrood Park is a unique historic landscape in the heart of the city, whose dramatic crags and hills give Edinburgh its distinctive skyline. Within the park is a wealth of history and archaeology spanning thousands of years. Arthur's Seat is one of four hill forts, dating from around 2,000 years ago. As well as it's rich cultural heritage, the park offers walks, solace, wildlife, volcanic geology and unparalleled vistas of the city from its many vantage points.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Great walk, run or stroll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Huge park at the back of the Queen's home in Edinburgh. Lots of picnickers, dog walkers, joggers, walkers, kite flyers and sightseers to be found here. Great area to enjoy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    675
    285
    45
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Large Royal residence where the public are allowed to visit & view galleries with an audio tour informing visitors of exhibits

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not just a park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Rolling lawns with lots of space for many to hang out, some rough scrub for the dogs to play in, an easy walk up the Salisbury Crags for a truly spectacular view across Edinburgh, or more of a climb up Arthur's Seat if you're not scared of slipping on mud! What a great place to relax, play, keep fit...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Incredible Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I hiked up the trails at Holyrood one morning during my trip. It was definitely an experience!

The first leg is pretty tough! I had to use my umbrella as a quasi-walking stick :p but it was still a lot of fun. I was there in mid-September so I ended up stopping a lot on my trek up to take pictures of flowers, snails, the scenery, etc.

It flattens out later on, and the scenery becomes much more dramatic. You can see all the other peaks of the flatlands as well as Edinburgh Castle and the water in the far distance.

There were plenty of people (tourists and locals) out hiking as well, and it was a lovely, congenial atmosphere.

I spent a good three hours there. Hiking up at a leisurely place, strolling around the peak to take pictures, and stopping to write a short story about Fairies on my way down :p

A definite must-see when in Edinburgh.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Extrodinary views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

You must give yourself time to stroll around while you are in Edinburgh. There is so much history here. And of course it it is beautifully manicured.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holyrood Park also viewed

 

Been to Holyrood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holyrood Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.