We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views over city and forth of firth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holyrood Park

Holyrood Park
Holyrood Park Road, Edinburgh EH16 5BT, Scotland (South Side)
+44 (0)131 652 8150
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$22*
and up
Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #7 of 156 Attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Castles, Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Holyrood Park is a unique historic landscape in the heart of the city, whose dramatic crags and hills give Edinburgh its distinctive skyline. Within the park is a wealth of history and archaeology spanning thousands of years. Arthur's Seat is one of four hill forts, dating from around 2,000 years ago. As well as it's rich cultural heritage, the park offers walks, solace, wildlife, volcanic geology and unparalleled vistas of the city from its many vantage points.
Clausthal-Zellerfeld, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stunning views over city and forth of firth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

If the weather is nice, you have a bit of spare time and are able to walk a bit this is a nice way to spend half a day.
I went to "Arthurs seat" (up one of the very steep ways, down a normal way), made my way to "St. Margaret's Loch" and the ruins of "St. Andrews Chapel". All in all you will be rewarded with stunning views of the city and the forth of firth. I felt I spent my day well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    286
    45
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Little made of a fantastic opertunity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I walked up Arther's mount today it was sunny and the views were good.
The car park was free. However the paths up to the top were very very poor. At the top you need the ability of a mountain goat.
I'm sorry Edinburgh but you have a potential gem but failed to polish it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Really nice park and interesting if you are into the Royals. Better with nice weather, which is hard to get in Scotland!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A peaceful drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Unless you have a day to spare, you need a car. And even then, the driver does not get the full picture. Allow 1 hour at least to drive round slowly. Plenty of (free) stopping places. I suggest taking binoculars.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great veiw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

this a great place to take in all edinburgh from the top of arthur seat which has some awesome veiws of the city and is a lovely park for a picnic.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holyrood Park also viewed

 

Been to Holyrood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holyrood Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.