We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bistro food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broadsheet Bistro

Broadsheet Bistro
12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
+44 131 221 7211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,079 of 1,901 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $16 - $62
Cuisines: Scottish, Brasserie, Bistro, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Broadsheet Bistro came under new management in July 2013. We have introduced a locally sourced menu freshly prepared on the premises. We also have a private dining area suitable for up to thirty guests with fantastic views of Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street Gardens. We are located five minutes from Waverly train station and just off the Royal Mile
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good bistro food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We decided to eat here as we were staying at the Fraser Suites, despite having seen a couple of dodgy reviews. Can't think that these people had eaten at the same place! The food was good, especially a very nice Cullen Skink starter, salmon main course and Cranachan dessert. Also the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    36
    15
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Horrendous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Just left. This is my worst dining experience ever.
First off we had our order taken but had to wait half an hour before we said something! We were told the till was not working properly but the kichen had our order now and it will not be long. So on that I ask for some olives whilst waiting. Omg. It was a full soup bowl full of olives! It just made me not want them. Next he soup came with no bread, we did get the butter though! The soup was disgusting. We then had sandwiches, guess what? Bread was stale. We got the waitress over and I actually asked if a chef was working? She just said, with a bright red face, "well......"
We got an amended bill, paid then left.
just to let you know to totally avoid this place as there are so many great places to eat in Edinburgh.
Now I know why it was very empty. ......

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My friend and i went to edinburgh she had neverbeen there before, i intened to take her to the witchery for our evening meal but unfortunately it was fully booked, we notice the broadsheet at the bottom of st giles street, when we got back to our hotel we asked at the reception if they would book us a table, we booked for 8=30, on entering i was shocked there was only 2 diners , we were shown to our table by a lovely young woman, she told us on handing the menus to us ,what was NOT available. we both chose for a starter vegetable soup, oh dear it looked like dishwater with a squirl of cream on top , it was horrible,no taste at all luke warm and not a vegetable in sight, we beckoned the waitress who was very apologetic, it was,nt her fault. my main was chicken wrapped in ham, good gracious the ham was so brittle it just flaked in pieces when itouch it, the chicken was stringy the three potatoes size of an oxo cube, had been cooked in garlic, i just could,nt eat it,,my friend had the lamb, which was very tough she could,nt eat her meal either, the waitress looked so embarrassed, she took the plates away, then came back to say we wer,nt being charged for the food, but for us to pay for the bottle of wine, which we did,nt mind. no=one of ant authority came to explain to us,it was obvious to us there could not have been a chef on duty that evening. i would not go back there again.what made it worse for me my friend,is a fine dining expierience magazine editor.luckily for english restaurants.the ambience of the place is beautiful, but needs desperatley re-organising in the kitchen.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
1,254 helpful votes 1,254 helpful votes
“The bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

As promised to the newly opened Bistro at the Fraser Suites we ate here on Saturday evening, the food was very good and the staff are very friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend eating here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Broadsheet Bistro, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

thank you for your valued feedback. I am glad you found the team attentive and helpful, we are currently training the team to become even better. We have jsut appointed a new head chef, so the food will get even better!

Best regards,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Beautiful Surroundings, good food & reasonably priced

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Broadsheet Bistro, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Broadsheet Bistro

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadsheet Bistro also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Broadsheet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadsheet Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.