We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Informative Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Edinburgh Ghost Tour

New Edinburgh Ghost Tour
124 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1QS , Scotland (Old Town)
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Informative Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went on the free walking tour in the morning and had such a great experience that we wanted to try another walking tour. This tour was recommended to us as one that is more historical and informative and that's exactly what we were looking for. If you're looking for a corny ghost tour where things jump out at you this is not it. This is a fun and really intelligently written and led tour. There wasn't a borning moment to be had. We found out a lot of additional information about Edinbugh. Our tour guide was Eoin who, as mentioned in other reviews, is a great storyteller. It was pouring rain and he still managed to lead a great tour all while not even wearing a rain jacket and getting presumably soaked. This is a tour for anyone who wants to know more about Edinburgh and see some interesting views as well. We were able to walk to some sites that we hadn't gotten to on our own yet all while hearing some really interesting and even creepy stories. Take this tour if you want a little something different and learn more about this great city. Remember to bring a rain jacket if there's even a hint of rain, it will make your experience more enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    5
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Scary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The only problem is the weather so please bring waterproofs ! Its a great way to learn about the history of Edinburgh and a perfect way too have a laugh with friends and get spooked ! The staff are really friendly and easy to get along with .

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bit of a dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We tried out the free morning tour and it was really great!! Despite of terribly cold weather we decided to do the Ghost tour as well. We were so exited before but felt really let down at the end. When we got to the meeting point they mentioned to us that this is a new tour and that they just started this week which already put us in doubts. Our guide Kiel was really good and also a great story teller. I think we were just waiting to get scared by somebody but nothing like this did not happened :( We covered lots of places and heard some spooky stories.. Yet lots of stories we actually already covered in the morning tour.. As well the leaflet promised free pint at the end but we were just giver voucher for 25% off drinks at Whistle Binkies... Maybe if you don't do the morning tour it might be more interesting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spooky tour, recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The only downside of this tour was the weather - something that they couldn't control, of course. Our guide, Eoin, was very helpful and knowledgable to the point that we left pretty scared (I loved it!). Definitely a fun night, though it would be better with less ice!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great guide but nothing more than what you see during the day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

When we decided to go on the ghost tour, we expected some thrilling and chilling adventure.
However, despite the fact that we've had an excellent guide, there was nothing much rather than visiting an old cemetary, a talk about the bridge and visiting a hill (where witches were supposed to have been burnt in the past). I would rather recommend the free (tip only) day time tour, which lasts longer, extremely interesting and exciting. This was kind of a disappointment.

If you are driving to the location (Royal mile) you can park at the NCP car park nearby. (sat nav gives an incorrect location, mine was a Garmin)

BTW, the ticket includes a free beer at the end from a local pub!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Edinburgh Ghost Tour also viewed

 

Been to New Edinburgh Ghost Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Edinburgh Ghost Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.