We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Place Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Place Apartments to your Saves list
Richmond Place Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5 - 9 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH89VE, Scotland (Southside & Holyrood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
wellington
2 reviews
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this apartment. It was very compact but fun being on 3 levels (not suitable if you have a problem with stairs). For some reason it was noisy in the mornings with a strange humming. The reception staff are very unfriendly, they don't even look up when you walk in.

Room Tip: Ask for a window with a view as we were looking at a brick wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    59
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
57
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice modern room plenty of space for three of us , clean and very tidy. Well appointed kitchen and two flat screen TV's. Manned reception and facility to leave baggage if you arrive early or leave after checking out. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

These apartments are fabulous, I have absolutey no complaints whatsoever!!! Arrived on a Tuesday night with 3 other friends as we were going to a gig in the City. Easy to find and within walking distance from Waverly, set in a great part of town, short walk to the Castle and the Old town, near all the pubs so fab for a night out. Rooms come complete with everything you need, room was clean and beds were comfy! All in all I will definately be staying here again!! LOVED IT!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The apartment was clean and good value, and enabled us to eat at home if we didn't feel like going out at night as the kitchen while small, was well equipped. The location was excellent too, being only a ten minute walk to the Royal Mile, shops and supermarkets just around the corner, and a local pub and a couple of take-aways close by as well.
The two front office girls we dealt with (Gemma & Beth) were extremely efficient and helpful, particularly when we had a problem with a poor quality mattress on the sofa bed for our friend who had a bad back. They found another room for her and a proper bed for which she was most grateful. Gemma & Beth were also very helpful with advice on where to eat, what public transport to catch, where the nearest ATM was etc. etc.
The only thing I would check if having to use a sofa bed in the apartment for an extra person, would be to make sure there was a comfortable mattress - they have replaced some of the mattresses, but the one in our room was thin and lumpy.
The only other thing was that you had to go into the living area to use a powerpoint for a hairdryer, and there was no mirror there - would be helpful to have a power point in the bathroom.
We would use these apartments if we were in Edinburgh again.

Room Tip: We were on a higher floor and our room faced into a quadrangle, so it was quiet. The rooms facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Excellent location with many supermarkets, shops around the corner. Easy to buy foods and cook in the apartment and save big pounds! Love the lay out of the deluxe studio, is perfect for 3 of us. (I actually wish I could own a private place like that!) Nice decorated kitchen has complete kitchenware and a full size fridge, 2 in 1 oven and microwave, dishwasher and toaster....Everything was new. Because they are rental dormitory for university students, the security is very very safe, better than ordinary hotels. About 20 mins walk to Edinburgh castle, 10 mins walk to the free Edinburgh National Musuem. What can be better than this?

Downside is the cleanliness of bed linens is not good. Was able to see previous guests' hair everywhere on the bed sheets, comforters and blankets.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We chose the Richmond Place apartments on recommendation from a friend who has stayed there. The apartments are quite small, but still larger than most hotel rooms. Perfectly adequate for us and very well kitted out, with quality fittings and extremely clean.
Front office staff are friendly and very helpful with local knowledge (It was the Edinburgh festival we came to see).
Location was excellent too; walk to anywhere in central Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We couldn't find the apartments at first! The office is actually through a driveway in an older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The apartment was rather tiny, I would rather call it a room than an apartment, but it had all the necessities. The bed wasn't that comfortable, but it did the job as we only slept in it for three nights. The location is very good, Holyrood Park is only a short walk away and city centre isn't that far either. There is also a bus stop nearby for those who don't want to walk every day to the centre.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. On our second night we had some problems when the heating system stopped working and we were positively freezing in our little apartment. Otherwise the service was good but it was a bit of a struggle to get the heating problem fixed! Here's how it went. First, we called the reception and the girl came to look at the heater and promised she would bring us another one. We waited for a while, then got a call from the reception that they could not provide us with a heater until after 10pm. A little after 11pm we got another call saying they could not find extra heaters anywhere in the building, that the cleaners had probably stored them somewhere they could not find them. They apologised but didn't promise to do anything else to make us feel warmer. We tried to manage for a while but the room was so cold that we had to ask one more time from the reception if there really wasn't anything they could do. The night guard person (who was a bit grumpy) had started his shift and came to our room to look at the heater again, and as it still didn't work, he promised to see if there are any other available rooms for us for the night. A few moments later he appeared on our door again, this time carrying a new heater. Without further explanations he popped it on the floor and plugged it in and left. We were nice and cosy after that, finally.

Apart from the heater incident we had a nice stay in a small but clean apartment with a good location. The other reviews mention fire alarms going off, but luckily we didn't have a fire alarm once. There was a note on the information board that the alarms are tested every tuesday, I wonder if that has come as a surprise to some of the people staying there. We weren't there on a tuesday, so no fire alarm testing or false alarms or anything of the sort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Place Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Place Apartments

Address: 5 - 9 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH89VE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Place Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new, contemporary and independent serviced apartments, with 35 apartments in the centre of Edinburgh. All have modern cooking facilities, linen, towels, ironing facilities, TV, telephone and a safe. Full Scottish breakfast is available ( at extra cost) in the adjacent building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Richmond Place Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Place Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Richmond Place Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Place Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.