We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accomodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mile Mansions

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Mile Mansions
Save
You added Royal Mile Mansions to your Saves list
50 / 34 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1QN, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Sévérac, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect accomodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Very good!! The apartment is in the centre, next to the castle (5 minutes by foot), next to the attractions (ghost tours, churches, bus station, tourist office...).
We loved our trip in Edinburgh, this apartment offers you a lot of things : comfort, quietness, a lot of household appliances wich allow us to cook, like we do at home.
Mr Watson, the owner, is sympathic and welcoming.
We now know where to settle in Scotland for our holidays!
Thnak you! Sure I'm going to speak about this apartment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida Keys
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our second trip to Edinburgh and we stayed at the Royal Mile Mansion again, only for 10 days instead of 3. As before, it is the perfect location for seeing Scotland. We hopped trains and buses, located a block or so from the apartment and traveled on day trips, keeping Edinburgh as our home base. This apartment is perfect for a long holiday. Some evenings we cooked in (Mark and Spencer's is just a couple blocks away) and sometimes we walked to one of many restaurants in the area. Again, perfect perfect perfect. We have found our home away from home in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: This is self catered so if you want maid service or a pool, this is not for you. If you want all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is surely the best accommodation you can choose in Edinburgh. Graeme was on time and showed us the beautiful apartment. It's central but so calm. You will sleep like a baby. We had 3 great days and can highly recommend it!!! Thank you Graeme!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

What a lovely pad. Stayed here with my hubbie for a couple of nights for a special birthday and concert trip. Were met by Graeme who had brought us some breakfast things and explained how everything worked etc. and then left us to it. Great location in the thick of it all, but very quiet in the apartment. No street noise, and such a comfy bed! Wel equipped, with lots of nice little touches like providing basic cooking supplies, shampoo/conditioner/ shower gel, a good hair dryer and GHDs! Nice little extras when you're self catering. Oh and there is a TV, which you can't see on the pics, but such a lot to do in Edinburgh so we only had it on for the news at breakfast anyway. Could easily have stayed for a week with so much to see and do and such a great base. Next time perhaps...! Thanks Graeme. Becky and Paul

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This apartment is perfect. Graeme actually found us pulling our luggage up The hill from the bus stop. The location is perfect for walking to the Castle or to the Palace. Everything worked great. There were even umbrellas for the day it rained.
One hint, bring a wash puff and bath soap. Shampoo is there, detergent and dishwasher liquid is there, but no bath soap. Minor compared to everything else.
My only regret is we could not have stayed longer.
Eat at the little Italian restaurant on the corner. They actually made me Rosetta with salmon which was NOT on the menu and they have a great lemon sorbet.

Room Tip: We combined a business trip with several days holiday. Three days on Edinburgh is NOT enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The apt is large and in a great location. If you prefer having a place to yourself and being able to cook, etc, it's very well equipped. It was quiet and comfortable. We bought groceries and cooked two dinners there (also made breakfast each morning). I did have some trouble figuring out the stove (never could figure out the oven) and the washer/dryer is super slow, as others have mentioned. There were a few minor flaws: apt was alittle chilly-there's no coverings over the windows in the main room, (the space heater helped), the toilet seat was loose and the shower leaked (had to put a towel on the floor), but overall the place was relaxing. We didn't have a car, so had to hike uphill in the pouring rain with our luggage (don't go up the stairs)! We had alittle trouble finding it. Endinburgh is a beautiful city with lots to see and do and the Royal Mile Mansion Apt is in a super location to see it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalMileMansions, Owner at Royal Mile Mansions, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to review the apartment. I just wanted to come back to you on some of the points that you have raised. Firstly, the toilet seat has been replaced and is 100% secure again. I also note your comments about the shower – this has now been completely re-sealed which prevents any leaking from taking place. I’m sorry to learn that you found the appliances difficult to operate, as I was under the impression that you were happy with the instructions and demonstration I provided when you arrived (and also during your stay) – however, I do take your feedback on board and will look at ways to try and simplify things further for future guests. Again, thank-you for your comments – it is important to us that we are continuing to provide an excellent service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Had a lovely 4 night stay at the apartment, I would highly recommend this apartment to anybody travelling to Edinburgh. Perfectly located and luxurious too. Graeme was helpful from the minute we booked right until the end of our stay.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalMileMansions, Owner at Royal Mile Mansions, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank-you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to review us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh and it was a pleasure to have you stay.

Kindest Regards,

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mile Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mile Mansions

Address: 50 / 34 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
How would you like to spend the night? A stylish boutique apartment in the heart of Edinburgh city centre, Royal Mile Mansions offers the perfect antidote to unwelcoming corporate hotel chains.From the elegant four poster bed to the inviting contemporary dining area, we've done our utmost to make you feel at home. All our furniture has been placed with comfort in mind, ensuring that the rooms are as calming as they are luxurious. In fact, it would be all too easy to forget that you are in the very heart of Edinburgh city centre.Wireless internet access is also available for those who'd like to browse at their leisure.Whether it be for a shopping weekend in Edinburgh, business travel or simply a change of living space, one thing is for certain: your stay at Royal Mile Mansions will be a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Mile Mansions Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mile Mansions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.