We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food, hit and miss service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge

Cafe Rouge
Fredrick St, Edinburgh, Scotland (New Town)
Improve this listing
Ranked #923 of 1,790 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ok food, hit and miss service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We popped in for a quick lunch today before an appointment nearby. When we were greeted, a grumpy young girl pointed at several table options without really speaking to us, and then walked to another waiter and quite clearly gestured at us pulling horrible faces. Great...

Luckily another waitress then brought us menus and took our drinks order. This girl was very sweet and helpful throughout service, although we did have to ask to order and for the bill. To be fair to her there were a few other tables in her section and we were tucked away in a corner so no real issue.

Food was ok, caesar salad didn't have a huge amount of flavour but hubby was very enamoured with his steak baguette.

I've been to many Cafe Rouges over the past 15 years or so and I would say this one isn't up to the normal standard.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    28
    14
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice and simple does it ......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a hastily arranged business supper with a colleague. All we wanted was a good simple meal, to be left alone in a quiet corner to discuss things ........ And it was so! Both had a steak and chips, quite good house wine, one pudding (because I had no lunch) and coffees each. The steaks came quickly, were good and char-grilled, chips good and crispy, house wine was pretty good, pudding was small and tasty and the coffee pretty coffee-like. The cost was £56 and in my view did what it said on the tin. Good, simple and tasty with unobtrusive service and very central, good all round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time. Don't ruin your Edinburgh experience.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the second time i've eaten here and both times have been consistently poor. Service was very slow. We sat for 45mins between having our drinks delivered to the table and getting our food. It was difficult to grab anyone else to order any further drinks and no-one re-visited the table after our food orders were taken. Neither did anyone come and ask us how the food was, which i think is a fairly basic rule. My food was warm at best, which suggested it may have been sitting on the side for a while awaiting service and the 'Plat Rapide' should definitely be taken off the menu or renamed. The staff were pleasant enough, but there seemed to be a total lack of urgency or coordination or management. There are plenty of alternative options along George Street that i would highly recommend considering instead.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An average French place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Visited Cafe Rouge at the start of the Christmas shopping season with a voucher offer. Food was good but not exactly amazing nor did I feel it was particularly French. I had pate, beef bourgion and a mini creme brulee and coffee, all were decent, my dining partner had half a roast chicken and chips and ice cream with fruits (neither particularly French in my opinion). I do accept that, as Cafe Rouge is a chain restaurant it needs to have a broad appeal but I didn't feel that the menu was particularly French enough other than having French names for the food, I was disappointed not be able to have snails in garlic butter. The decor also leaves alot to be desired, the Edinburgh branch is in need of an upgrade - I didnt really understand the reason for the yellow and red colour scheme and the idea of having old French posters on the walls seems a bit outdated and cliched in comparrison to other French eateries in the city. The service was average, because of where we were seated, it was a struggle to get the waiters attention. The waiter did make a mistake with our desserts, bringing out a praline mousse instead of the ice cream but it was quickly corrected. What I will say is that the restaurant seems to be very family/child friendly, so reccommend it if you have kids and needing somewhere half decent to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gallic flair and a lively atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had already had morning coffee here and were wondering what it was like in the evening so we made a reservation for a Saturday. If you are going at the weekend you would be well advised to do this. When we arrived the restaurant was packed and buzzing. The staff were attentive and happy to explain some of the dishes or to suggest a slightly better version. We have no complaints about the service or quality of the food and recommend Café Rouge. On busy evenings you may appear to wait a bit for service but given the number of diners this is surely understandable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.