We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tapas AGAIN!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malvarosa

Malvarosa
262 Portobello High St, Edinburgh EH15 2AT, Scotland
+44 131 669 7711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 1,790 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish, Vegetarian, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Friendly neighbourhood restaurant, serving delicious authentic tapas, paellas, sharing-boards,traditional homemade cakes and regional wines. Our selection of homemade breads are baked here every morning in the premises - you can even order them to enjoy at home, as with all our dishes. We are happy to organise group bookings, at-home 'tapas parties' and open-air paellas!
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas AGAIN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Did a spur of the moment visit yesterday (Saturday) to our favourite Spanish eatery. It was surprisingly busy for early lunch but we still managed to get a table without pre-booking. As we expected the service and the food hit the spot once again. We shared 3 various breads and dips plus some excellent wine whilst waiting for our 4 tapas. The board special of a type of black pudding was particularly good and will be adding that to our list of favourites. All the rest of the dishes were great - my only disappointment was in not having the gumption to try the tripe stew dish, but will definitely but definitely try it next time, (even though I know that my Husband won't participate).

Excellent service once again from our Spanish born waitress - she more than makes up for our missing host who I hope managed to enjoy some quality time with his family on this very pleasant first Saturday in July.

If you like Spanish food this is the place to go, but I would suggest making a booking to avoid disappointment.

Cost was around £35 which included 1 large glass of pink, 1 glass of white and a delicious cafe sole plus 10% tips - Muchas Gratias!

Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    45
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was our second visit and will certainly be one of many! Food was delicious and service was amazing - I happened to mention we were there for my husbands birthday and they brought him a cake with a candle which was such a nice touch (much to his embarrassment)! Cannot fault this place ;)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Good food. Run by owner who interacts with customer and gives the place a friendly and community experience..Used the taste card so great value !!!! Definetely recommend..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Paella and Calamaros Fritos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Me and my friends had Paella de marisco ( £ 12.80 per person), calamaros fritos, panoliva, tortilla and chorizo a la sidra. Very delicious!! We had the tastecard so we paid half price! Prices are reasonable considering that it is seafood! The place is very nice and it's near Portobello promenade! Friendly staff.
Perfect for summer!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria uk
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A guy in Sainsburys' just up the road recommended this place to us as visitors . It fully met our expectation . The owner had a sense of humour and the atmosphere was great. It is only small but there is a great personal touch, I am not a real bread fan but the bread was really great , we ordered too much but did throughly enjoy it and would have no hesitation about returning if we were in the area. The waitress was in training and struggling a bit with the language problem, she was French so what a mixture with Scots/English and Spanish all chipping in !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malvarosa also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Malvarosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malvarosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.