We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend in Edinburgh- Wonderful Apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twenty One Hanover Street

Twenty One Hanover Street
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twenty One Hanover Street
Save
You added Twenty One Hanover Street to your Saves list
21 Hanover Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DL , Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Long Weekend in Edinburgh- Wonderful Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a terrific time in this beautiful city; the apartment is beautifully furnished and spacious and its central location is perfect to explore tourist attractions and terrific restaurants. It is no more than a 15 minute walk from The Royal Mile, and a 10 minute walk from Waverley Station and the bus stop or the AirLink from the airport.
The apartment (No.3) exceeded my expectations and I would recommend it to anyone. It is bright and airy and well appointed with everything you could need. I would also say that the renter, was terrific to deal with, extraordinarily helpful and responsive to any enquiries.
If I return to Edinburgh I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our family of seven (including 3 kids) have recently returned from a two-week stay in the UK, three nights of which were spent in Edinburgh at 21 Hanover Street. We took over flats 2 & 3 and appreciated an ultra smooth check in, clean and well made up rooms and an ideal location. In short, we never wanted to leave!

The staff (Susan and Dave) were always polite, attentive in an unassuming way and eager to please. The actual flats surpassed our expectations in terms of size, decor and comfort. Who knew we could feel at home in the middle of this bustling city? Spectacular kitchen facilities, plenty of room, cozy beds and linens, and convenient laundry appliances made our stay just right. And the location... my word, the location.

Other than the parking, which presents a challenge in any area of Edinburgh, this place had it all. Restaurants and grocery stores are literally outside your door (we even found a health food shop across the street that stocked all of the wonky health stuff we couldn't bring in our suitcases). The windows afford a lovely castle view and nearly all of the popular bits of the capital are within walking distance.

In short, should we find ourselves back in Edinburgh sometime in the future (yes, please) we will not be staying anywhere else. 21 Hanover is well worth the money (and we actually saved big dollars booking here with such a sizeable group) and cannot be beat for comfort and convenience.

Room Tip: Both flat 2 and flat 3 are beautiful. Flat 3 felt a bit more cozy, but flat 2 had a wonderful kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just got back from a long weekend in Edinburgh, staying at 21 Hanover Street in flat 1. It was fabulous and well exceeded our expectations. The apartment was huge, beautifully furnished and obviously well maintained. The location was excellent.....very close to all of the historic attractions in the Old Town and right next to all of the great restaurants in the New Town. There was a Marks and Spencer literally right around the corner with a fabulous food court. We were there with our two adult children, but the flat could easily have held a few more people. Hanover Street is a busy street but the flat was very quiet and we did't hear any noise from the street at all. I would highly recommend it and the owner, Susan, was very helpful with suggestions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This apartment was a wonderful place to stay. We rented flat 3 over New Year and we couldn't fault the experience. The location is great for visiting all of the main attractions in Edinburgh and near to lots of lovely places to eat on George Street. The flat is beautifully decorated and equipped with everything you would need. Both the property owner and manager were extremely friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was brilliant. The views of the castle from the study window were gorgeous. We will definitely be staying here again and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

21 Hanover Street flat is simply perfect. Perfect location-- a few blocks to the Royal Mile, close to the Castle, great restaurants close by -- even a grocery close by. Perfect flat-- we stayed in #2 it was beautifully decorated and equipped. It was spacious -- very comfortable for 2 adult couples, the second bedroom twin beds can easily be pushed together. The kitchen was large and includes a view to the castle. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We rented flats 2 & 3 in this building for a week and both were beautifully appointed and maintained, We could not have asked for a better location and set-up for a family vacation with our kids and their families. It is central to so many things, including Waverly Station, Princes Street shopping, and the Royal Mile. The kitchen in Flat 2 was big enough for us to cook for eight easily, and the big living room was a great gathering place. Both the owner and the property manager were great to work with and responsive. The only downside was that the bedrooms facing the street were very noisy late at night. This is likely only an issue in the summer. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

That is absolutly the perfect place to saty in Edinburgh.
I stay in flat 3 with 2 friends in July. The flat is exactly like the pictures on the website. It is clean, spacious and perfectly equiped. The decoration is nice too. We felt at home. There was fresh white roses and sparkling wine waiting for us when we arrived. What a nice touch!
Susan the owner is very helpful and replied to all our questions so kindly.
The location can't be beat, just on the corner of Prince street. We could see the Castle from a window of our flat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twenty One Hanover Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twenty One Hanover Street

Address: 21 Hanover Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DL , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Twenty One Hanover Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twenty One Hanover Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.