We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Edinburgh City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Donegal,Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel with character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed recently with 2 friends and we would definetly return.Warm clean rooms,quiet (ask for rooms to the back of the building) ,friendly staff and breakfast well worth the £7 deal when booked the night before.Number 35 bus from Edinburgh airport drops you just across the road-takes about 50 mins and costs £1.50 .City centre within walking distance but local buses 10 and 16 will take you to the Waverly station end of Princes St.Plenty of good bars and restaurants around Grassmarket but hotel dinner is very good (their fish and chips was fab and very reasonably priced).Our only grouch was that the mirror and the hairdryer were placed too far apart. We loved this hotel as it has character and would highly recommend it .

Room Tip: We requested rooms on the upper floor to the back of the building and it was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    284
    54
    18
    11
See reviews for
126
290
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've been blessed and privileged to travel all over the world and thus, have stayed in hundreds of hotels. However, _this_ hotel is one I will never forget, for several reasons. It's very historic. Situated in "Old Town Edinburgh", the hotel occupies a beautiful, old building that long ago served as St. Mary's Maternity Hospital in the 19th century. The main entrance to the hotel is actually in a cobblestone enclosed courtyard, not the original front doors to the former hospital. We felt very safe there. The adjectives "quaint" and "charming" immediately come to mind. The staff is superb; extrememly helpful (in booking tours or calling for a late-night pizza for guests) and go out of their way to ensure your every request/need it met. _Caroline_, who attended the front desk throughout most of our stay, is warm, delightful, friendly, and anxious to assist guests in anything they request or need. I felt truly sad to say goodbye to Caroline when we departed because she had become more like a friend than just a hotel supervisor. Being located in Old Town, one can easily walk up Castle Hill to the iconic Edinburgh Castle and the beginning of the Royal Mile. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, and Housekeeping never hesitated to immediately and graciously bring "more towels" (it rained every day we were in Edinburgh). The combination of this hotel's excellent location in Old Town, its quant and charming edifice, secure courtyard, Caroline and all of the friendly, helpful staff make it one of the most memorable hotels in which I've stayed. (Even the other guests were _very_ friendly!)

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room overlooking the main street on which the edifice sits. It's fun to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Layne A,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your stay which I was delighted to read. We are very luck to work in such a beautiful and historic hotel but also to have engaged employees such as Caroline. It will be my pleasure to pass on your kind comments to her and let her know how much you appreciated her help during your stay.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope you enjoyed all your travels in Scotland.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I wanted a quiet weekend break to relax & refresh and we got exactly what we wished for. It is a lovely place and we couldn't have stayed at a better hotel. Location, food, services, all the things were just fabulous. All the rooms of the hotel, were a blend of modern and classic décor. Scottish b'fast had plenty of choices and it was good. We would highly recommend this establishment!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear DinoPachino,

Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely feedback from your recent stay with us. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed the décor of our hotel as well as the service offered by our team, and that you were able to have the relaxing weekend away that you had planned with your wife.

Thank you for your recommendation and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herenthout
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

great hotel! we stayed there for 4 nights. very friendly and helpful staff, nice room, with comfotable beds, everything tidy and clean. good location too, rather quiet, and within walking distance of most of the touristic sights.
just one little remark: if they could add a bit more choice in buns and rolls, i'm sure people who opt for continental breakfast would appreciate it. though the choice in cereals, fruit, etc. was very good. and it didn't bother me much, cause i had (excellent!) cooked breakfast.

i can recommend the hotel to anyone. had a very agreeable stay, and would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here for a girly weekend and had a twin room, the room was fantastic and of a large size with a little table and 2 chairs. The front desk staff were very helpful especially the lady with a blonde bob who was friendly and couldn't do enough. Breakfast was worth £7 if you booked the night before, good selection however a muffin would have been better than a crumpet with the salmon. I would fully recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. For decent bars head to Grass Market by going right out on the main road and then left down the steps, as opposed to left and stumbling across all the strip bars like us! Loved Edinburgh and will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for extra pillows, side and back rooms are quieter, if you want to use the 24 hrs bar you need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear KellyandAdam,

Thank you for posting such positive feedback from your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our reception team were able to help in making your trip to Edinburgh special.

Thank you for your recommendation and hopefully we can welcome you back to our hotel one day soon.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my first visit to Edinburgh and I fell in love!! The city is beautiful and this hotel is fantastic!!

The room was comfy, pretty and traditional. We had an extra sitting room which allowed us to relax at night as well.

The staff were excellent - we showed them a map and they highlighted the easiest routes into town, attractions and restaurants.

My only negative would be that the breakfast was overpriced and wasn't really very good value. You can get a better breakfast for less money 5 minutes walk away.

I look forward to returning to Edinburgh and I will definitely book to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KNOTTINGLEY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

GREAT HOTEL! nice and clean room top breakfast! Edinburgh is a great city to visit the SCOTS should be proud (THEY ARE)of there city if you love history you will love Edinburgh ! the bus tours of the city are great and are a must it give you a great insight of where to go and what to visit ! some great bars and places to eat ! its a bit hilly so if your bad on your feet get the tour bus you can get on and off to save your legs! ;-) all in all this hotel is in a good spot its very nice the staff are very helpful cant fault it ! hope we will get chance to go back its GREAT!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Address: 79 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edinburgh City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.