We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay for special birthday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Edinburgh City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Pontycymer, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“weekend stay for special birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

beautiful looking hotel from the outside and the inside was no disappointment either. Large spacious well appointed room on 3rd floor. Tea tray included. Large bathroom with bath which is always a bonus. 15 minute walkto princess street which was great to blow away the cobwebs. Really friendly reception staff and 24 hr bar. Quiet room due to location so overall so would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Amanda G,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay in our hotel. I was really pleased to read that we were able to make your special birthday weekend a truly enjoyable one and that our team and our rooms were able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your recommendation and hopefully we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    286
    54
    18
    11
See reviews for
126
292
23
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for New Years, along with 3 other couples. Its in a good location, 5 minutes walk from the Castle / Grassmarket area (bars).

Id requested disabled parking for one of our travelling party & this was sorted without any hassle. The staff were all very helpful, friendly and always available. The room was fine, not amazing but no complaints.

We only eat breakfast which was pretty good, though a little chaotic at times.

All in all, a good base to enjoy Edinburgh,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed over new year, staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The room was beautiful, very spacious and clean.

Hotel restaurant was also really good value for money.

Highly recommended, will definitly return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Jess W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us over New Year. I was delighted to read that you had great time and that you will look to stay with us when you return to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked this hotel on lastminute and found it to be a fab little find. It is clean, smart and well-presented. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, suggestings bus routes and places to go.
It is a five-minute walk from Victoria St and the Royal Museum. Not so handy for Princes St but a taxi cost less than £5.
The room was bright, spacious and well equipped, although we only had one set of towels on arrival and there was a note-pad left over by the cleaning staff as if it had been finished in a hurry. These things were promptly sorted by the staff though. One of the main bonuses for travellers from the airport is that you don't need to get the Airlink shuttle as the Number 35 from outside the terminal stops at the door of the hotel and only costs £1.80 - great service!!
We didn't have any food here, but it looked like a nice restaurant and continental / full English is only £7 if booked the night before.
Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Worth getting a back room as it is on a busy road... we didn't hear a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked two rooms for three nights over the New Year period and from the moment we stepped into the reception area nothing disappointed.

Our room (411, loft room with lovely big skylight type window) was spacious as was our friends just down the corridor. Heating was very efficient, available 24hrs and controlled from the radiator in the room so we could have a nice cool room overnight and then within minutes have it nice and warm on getting up. There was plentiful hot water and a good shower. The room was very spacious and very clean.

What really made the place was the friendliness of all of the staff, from the receptionist on our arrival, the waiting staff at dinner and breakfast and the cleaner that we saw on two mornings, everyone had a cheery smile and a friendly greeting (yes, even on New Years day when they were having to work!!) . I forgot my phone charger and without hesitation the girl on the desk found a charger for me to use over breakfast, my husband forgot his shaving gel and we were given a complimentary shaving kit without a problem. Seems that nothing is too much trouble for this friendly team!

We ate dinner in Simpsons Restaurant on our first night and couldn't fault the food, it was delicious and well presented as well as being reasonably priced.

Location is good, £20 taxi ride from the airport, 10 minute stroll to Grassmarket area with bars/restaurants and another 5 mins to the Royal Mile. Being slightly outside the centre means its nice and quiet.

I'd stay here again if visiting - free wifi throughout the hotel(and a table/chair in the room) would make this a good base for business visitors as well as for tourists.

Room Tip: Room 411 was very spacious and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear susiemc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments from your recent stay over New Year that will no doubt be helpful for anyone thinking of booking with us. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to our Head Chef and Head Housekeeper. Thank you also for taking the time to praise the friendliness and helpfulness of our team: we are very lucky to have a team that aim to exceed our guests’ expectations whenever they can and it was pleasing to read that this made your stay memorable for the right reasons.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the New Year's Eve weekend and had a marvelous time. It's a short walk to key places, but out of the way enough that its not noisy. The staff, especially Caroline, were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Arrived 15th November for 3 nights.
Room was spotless, a bit on the small side but only there to sleep so not a problem. On 2nd floor at front but very quiet. Room recently refurbished and stylishly decorated - bathroom very clean & modern also. No problems with hot water. Heating on all day & night so we just had to turn radiators on if we were cold so no problems there either.
Breakfast was fine, plenty to choose from. We did wait 30mins for our breakfast on the Saturday morning however we do understand the hotel was busy & we went down for breakfast at peak time so not really a complaint.
Staff were very helpful & friendly. If we met any staff upstairs, for example cleaning rooms, they always took the time to say Hello to us so we were made to feel very welcome.
When we arrived the bar was being refurbished - we don't drink so this was not a problem to us. The Foyer did have seating and was being used if anyone did want to sit and have a drink.
I understand the whole hotel is undergoing refurbishment & there was a letter from the Manager in our room to advise us of disruptions & timings etc. I have to say there was minimal disruption to us.
About 15mins walk to Princes Street, about 5-10mins to Royal mile so location not bad either.

Room Tip: Ask for late check out - they offerred us the first hour free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Address: 79 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edinburgh City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.