We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edinburgh Central Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Edinburgh Central Guest House to your Saves list
Edinburgh Central Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 Hill Street, Edinburgh EH2 3JZ, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Place Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Took my partner and her friend to Edinburgh for the weekend to relax and recharge. Guest house was clean and Morag was absolutely fabulous. Every detail in the place was outstanding - continental breakfast was amazing and so much choice. Rooms were clean and spacious. Location of the guest house was amazing as we were close to everything. I would recommend this place 100% and will definitely being staying their again.,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morag s, Owner at Edinburgh Central Guest House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Edinburgh Central Guest House. I know how much this weekend meant to you with a proposal to your girlfriend!.
Hope to see you soon, with a bottle of champers on ice for the wedding.
Kind Regards and congratulations
Morag and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    36
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
51
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here with a friend a while back. We reserved through the internet and got a confirmation for a room with private bathroom. Unfortunately a few days later we got an e-mail from the Guest House stating that there has been a double booking and the question if we could except a room with a shared bathroom with 1 other room. They assured us that as we only would share with one other room there would be no problem using the bathroom whenever we needed to. No discount was given. Unfortunately the sharing of the bathroom turned out to be quite a problem, The people we had to share the bathroom with stayed there for long times and they did not clean afterwards, leaving a mess behind. Also other people used it. This is the first time ever we shared a bathroom and most certainly will never again. Otherwise the room was nice and spacious. Breakfast was served at a restaurant close by and very good. But still we will not be coming back here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morag s, Owner at Edinburgh Central Guest House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Would like to mention that this reservation was before May 2012 with the PREVIOUS OWNERS I have responded to tripadvisor and have asked to delete this review. I cannot understand why it takes well over a year and a half to write a review.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed one night in the single room at this townhouse B+B It is in the perfect location, down a quiet side street, 2 mins walk from princess street. There are lots of restaurants near by (I can recommend the 'cafe rouge' French  restaurant which is just around the corner). 

The B+B owner Morag was very friendly and welcoming, and I managed to organise an early check-in,  and my room was ready for me when I arrived.  She even organised a taxi for me. The  room was very clean, with tea and coffee, a wardrobe and a wall-mounted flat screen tv.  The window could open (which was great, as I've  been to stuffy B+Bs where the windows don't open - a small point but makes a difference).
The bathroom for this room was shared, but this wasn't a problem, as I didn't have to wait once, and it was also very clean and roomy, with a bath and shower over the bath. Nice bath lotion and liquid soap are provided.

The breakfast was good, continental, with a good selection of ham, cheeses, eggs, cereals, yoghurts, croissants, and lovely scones. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate were also available. As was hot toast and a good selection of preserves. There was also little bowls of sweets on the windowsills in the hallway, which was a nice touch!

I can't comment on the parking as I was on foot, but there were spaces outside.
 I would definitely  recommend this b and b, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. It was also well-priced for such a central location - a great find!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morag s, Owner at Edinburgh Central Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review of the guest house. We appreciate the feedback and it explains to other guests what they will expect when they come to us.
As stated, our location is great! only 2 minutes from Princes Street. Our street is quiet as there are no shops or bars here. Only lawyers!
Many thanks and hope to see you in the near future.
Regards
Morag and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huxley
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Inside the door on the rather unimpressive street of office buildings lives a delightful guest house. The house is decorated in an eclectic fashion that suits the building perfectly. Our room, at the front, was huge, quiet, and comfortable, with our own bath (the tub is enormous!) Our hostess was very friendly and helpful, and breakfast was an amazing choice of cold and hot food, with
extra table service as well. The location is great for walking to the shops and on up to the Castle and the Golden Mile. There are many small restaurants close-by, as well, for when one's breakfast does eventually wear off. Definitely a spot to return to !

Room Tip: We were at the front, but the traffic is so light that we had no noise problems at all. Our room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have just returned from a weekend break in Edinburgh, staying at the Edinburgh Central Guest House. It is a lovely place to stay conveniently situated to all the tourist attractions and shops.
The Guest itself is spotlessly clean, the continental breakfast was plentiful, with a good variety of food to choose from which set us up for the day. Our ensuite room was huge, with tea making facilities, large screen tv and even a sofa which was a bonus as personally I hate watching tv on the bed. The towels were changed daily which we were not expecting. Morag the owner was very friendly and helpful. Should we return to Edinburgh, which I am sure we will as we didn't fit everthing in, we will definitely be ringing Morag to book a room and we will also recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a great stay. So much so that we stayed an extra couple of days, we were lucky that we managed to extend because it was a busy time. Going to see if we can get up again sometime over the festival period and will make this the first choice when we come back to Edinburgh. Absolutely no need to look for anywhere else, unless we have to if it's fully booked. Great location, breakfast and the proprietors really went out of their way to ensure that everyone had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend with 6 other friends. The owner was very friendly and happy to answer any questions we had. The location was superb, walking distance to all the attractions. Also we went out to pubs and clubs in the evening, again which are a stone's throw away.

Breakfast: enough tea and toast to sort out the hangover along with extremely fresh Danish pastries, fruit and cereal. No fry up option, but there was plenty there to keep us going for the day

Will be back in Edinburgh in the future and would definitely stay here again, but I better take the missus this time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edinburgh Central Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Central Guest House

Address: 8 Hill Street, Edinburgh EH2 3JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Central Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House is set in the heart of Edinburgh’s bustling city centre and is only a short walking distance away from the famous Princess Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Edinburgh Central Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Central Guest House Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edinburgh Central Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.