We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #91 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nothing special for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Ok, so a lot of hotels in Edinburgh bump their prices up for Hogmanay but Holiday Inn West was ridiculous and the rooms were very small!
We paid £175 for staying on the 31/12/2013, this included breakfast though.
I didn't think the night staff were particularly helpful. We asked about buses into the city center and were told they have stopped. When we asked about return buses we were told they go nowhere near the hotel but go to Queensferry Street. No explanation as to where Queensferry Street was, all we were told was that it would be a 25 minute walk back to the hotel from the city center; I doubt it very much though as it was a fair journey in a cab. It is the details that make the stay better. Better stay = Better review.
The bar was shockingly expensive - £15.25 for 2 plates of chips and 2 drinks, the Gin and Tonic was over £6.00 and that was for Gordon's Gin!
Breakfast was great. Good quality of food and it was a buffet, exactly what is required when you have had a night out and a few drinks. I was pretty disgusted when 2 girls came in stinking of drink, with last nights make up smudged all over their faces wearing a "onesie" and clothes that was probably worn the day before - they should have been refused entry and asked to freshen up before coming back in. Breakfast staff were moody as well.
Plus side is we got to check in early.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear HRH-Garden,

thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our breakfast. Thank you for your comments regarding our prices in our bar area. Our prices remain competitive with hotels of a similar standard. Thank you for your feedback and I hope you will come back and visit the hotel again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    218
    101
    26
    12
See reviews for
126
141
27
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn City West last new year and enjoyed it that much we decided to book again this year for 3 nights over new year.

Check in was easy with very polite and helpful recepetion staff thoughout the visit nothing was too much trouble.

Rooms were very clean and well kept, chambermaids were very helpful and cheerful when ever we saw them. The views from the rooms we had on the 6th floor were stunning very impressive.

Breakfast was excellent a good range of food all hot and constantly refilled. Waitressess were very helpful and hard working.

Now i come to the issues, we booked the bed, breakfast and evening meal option. Firstly the food we had at the evening meal was excellent we were all really impressed.

We were told upon ordering our first meal we were only entitled to £18 per person and all side orders such as onion rings, garlic bread had to be paid for regardless of the fact you may not have spent £18 on your meal. You could order of a special menu, 3 courses which covered the £18, this menu was very very limited and for a 3 night stay was not good enough. Even with the staff there seemed to be some confusion over this. This information should have been given prior to booking its very misleading.

On new years eve there was a new year party within the hotel which meant we could not eat in the dining room, and would have to eat in the bar from the bar menu. When we booked this information was again not given.

Once we looked at the bar menu we were happy to eat in the bar as the menu was very good, and there was no other way around the situation.

Upon returning to the hotel after a long day out about 5pm i asked the duty manager of the bar/restaurant if we could reserve a table in the bar for 7pm for the 6 people in my party, i was told very rudely NO i asked what do we do if we come down at 7pm and all the tables in the bar are taken, i was told we would have to eat in our room!! I was very shocked at this, we had come for a new year eve break as a family and part of the enjoyment was sitting down to an evening meal together. I said this was not good enough, to which he did not seem to care at all, his attitude was unprofessional and rude how he came to be a duty manager is beyond me, in the end i walked off as i was so digusted.

We came down at 6pm and moved around the bar 3 times until we were able to get a table that was high enough and big enough for 6 of us to sit at. A waitress came to take our drinks and asked if every thing was ok, i went through what had happened with the duty manager. She could not apologise enough and suggested i spoke to the reception staff. Which i did they were very helpful and understanding and said they would deal with the issue.

The waitress later retured to our table and said the duty manager was very sorry for the misunderstaning and we were given a free round of drinks. I would like to thank the waitress and recpetion staff for dealing with this issue with such a proffessional attitude. I am still digusted by the duty manager who could not even come over and apologise himself!!!

All in an excellent hotel with a few issues that just clarifing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor facing the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear LincolnDonna71,

thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I am pleased to learn that you found our reception staff polite and helpful. However I am very disappointed to learn that your experience with our Duty Manager did not reflect the normal standard of service we provide and I can assure you this matter will be investigated fully. I hope this incident has not deterred you from returning to the hotel again in the future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel between Xmas & New Year. The location is great if you don't particularly want to drive once you reach Edinburgh. There's a bus stop nearby with a frequent service into the centre of Edinburgh. There's a shopping mall close by too. We had a room on a high floor with a fantastic view out over the city. Lovely views of the castle & the river. We didn't take breakfast so can't comment but the lounge & bar areas were nice. Rooms are a decent size, clean and with everything you need for a pleasant stay. Our room was cosy when it was cold & windy outside. Staff were very polite & helpful. Overall a very pleasant stay indeed. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with Castle view. The view really is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear FMMG,

thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Despite the exterior looks of an awkward location, the hotel had an AMAZING view from rooms facing the city on top floors! We were there for a night but out of 5 hotels I'd checked into,, this particular one had the best location. Also it was conveniently located opposite to a mall that had restaurants, clothing stores and Sainsbury s.
The staff were out to assist in anything to the best of their ability. Very professional and always there for whatever the matter.
I'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose rooms which have a good view of the city and on a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Eastly,

thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I am delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope you will come back and visit the hotel again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I tend to stick to Holiday Inn when travelling because you know what you're getting.

However, the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West is my favourite because of the attitude of the staff and management at this location. Always a friendly greeting and very courteous and always attempting to make your stay memorable. Particular thanks to Lee who is an excellent ambassador for the hotel.

The bar is nice and the food good also and if you're feeling adventurous, the bus into town stops adjacent to the hotel. The Far Pavilions Indian restaurant is 5 minutes walk down towards Stockbridge and is highly recommended.

Overall, a nice place to stay if you're away from home, or on a weekend break.

Room Tip: East side of hotel provides lovely view of city (and is more sheltered from wind if weather is bad)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear bumpmegums,

thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made your stay memorable I will be sure to pass your kind comments on. We hope you will come back and stay with us again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed overnight on a business trip, and the Hotel was good, with a large superstore and a small retail park with a Mcdonalds and KFC restaurants there too. A little outside the city centre, but there is a bus service for those without transport.
The room i had was comfy, with a large bathroom ( mine had disabled facilities) and the bed was comfortable. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear pastyman109,

thank you for leaving a review for our hotel. Its great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found the hotel comfortable. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed here due to the price which was great. The building is nothing to look at but inside it was ok. I arrived and the staff were good and helpful. The room was modern and clean. Only thing i did find was that the price of drinks seemed a bit rich. It cost £1.60 for a small tonic and about £4 for a gin. Best thing to do would be to buy your own from sainsburys across the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear David f,

thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you found our staff helpful. We hope you will come back and visit again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.