We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on the Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn on the Mile to your Saves list
The Inn on the Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct- save 10%
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bonstetten, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The inn on the mile is very central located in the old town of Edinburgh. All nine rooms are very modern in a trendy design. The staff is also very friendly.
We are looking foreward for our next stay... :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Michael S

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Inn on the Mile, your home on the mile. Our location is really advantageous for all our guests as it is close to all mains attractions in the old town of Edinburgh. The team and myself look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Campbell & the IOTM team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    126
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
25
216
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This inn is perfectly situated for making the most of your time in Edinburgh, especially if you like to explore on foot. Right on the Royal Mile, it is just blocks from the Edinburgh Waverly Train Station, Edinburgh Castle, Carlton Hill, Holyrood Park, and the Scott Monument. There is enough to see on the Royal Mile and in the Old Town shops to fill a day, but for more adventure, hike up to Arthur's Seat.

The room was nicely appointed, with thoughtful provisions made for a comfortable experience. There were plenty of outlets, hair dryer/iron, a desk, and wardrobe. They provide laundry service and, yes, help hauling luggage up the stairs. There is no elevator.

I would probably suggest eating in Old Town rather than eating every meal at the pub, but the pub was a convenient option for food at the beginning or end of the day. The noise from the pub does carry, particularly on the first floor directly above. There was a World Cup game the first night of our stay, which was as rowdy as you would expect. The volume on the second night was audible, but not disruptive.

If you want to make the most of your time in Edinburgh, enjoy the charms of Old Town, and travel with only as much as you can carry, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: There are three floors of two or three rooms each, all stacked directly above the pub. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Ruth D

Many thanks for your really in-depth review of our hotel. Our location is central to all of Edinburgh's attractions and the train station. We are glad you mentioned all the rooms provisions, it all adds to the guest experience we are striving to provide to all that visit your home on the mile, The Inn on the Mile. We appreciate your recommendation and hopefully you will revisit some day.

Campbell and the IOTM team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here for a two night stay. The building was beautiful with modern upscale feeling rooms. The staff was so friendly and just overall had a lovely stay. Yes there is no elevator but it's only three floors to the top( we found them not bad as we stayed on the top floor). Plus, they carried our bags to our room. The pub on the main floor had great good. Also, the location is a short walk from bus stations, train station and the castle.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi AllieBarnes

Many thanks for your fantastic review of your stay at our hotel, we are so happy you and your husband had a lovely stay with us. Our grade A listing means we are unable to install a lift, we think it adds to the quirkiness of The Inn on the Mile. Also thanks for mentioning the teams friendliness and service, I will bring it up at our next team meeting.

Campbell & the IOTM team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Lovely room but so many stairs!! Decor modern and good quality with all you could want if you've forgotten your toothbrush, shaving kit, etc. Hair straighteners as well as a hairdryer, iron and ironing board all in room. Breakfast was OK - what I'd expect from a pub and the coffee was very good. Housekeeping forgot to give us hand towels and to replenish our water on second day and we'd quite a wait for them to be brought. Staff were pleasant, though. We had occasion to have a taxi ordered for us and that came as it should, although no one thought to mention it might be on The Bridges rather than on the Royal Mile due to the Garden Party and the resulting traffic.
Despite the secondary glazing the street noise was loud. Apart from that, the location is fantastic for doing most of what most people want to do in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Liz N

Thanks for reviewing your recent visit to our Inn on the Mile hotel, thanks for mention our lovely rooms and the little extras they offer. Our grade A listing doesn't allow us to install a lift but we believe it adds to the quirky character of the building. Sorry for the housekeeping hiccup, we will review with all our team and improve. We are glad you mentioned the location as this really is beneficial to all our guests.

Campbell & the IOTM team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a few nights recently. The hotel is lovely and the staff was perfect. The only minor drawback is the lack of a lift. Three flights up every time you need to run up to the room was exhausting. However the rest of the amenities make up for it. Though we didn't eat dinner here, breakfast was great and the bar is quite lively in the evenings. (so if you like a quiet lobby, this might not be your place) Can't say enough nice things about everyone who works there, super friendly and very helpful. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi KathrynAH

Thanks for taking the time out review your recent stay at our Inn on the Mile hotel, our team will be gracious of of your comments regarding there service and friendliness. Our building is a grade A listed building so unfortunately we are unable to incorporate a lift, your review says it all that the room mad amenities make up for it. We are glad you recommend the hotel and will stay with us again.

Campbell & the IOTM team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our three night stay here. The rooms are thoughtfully designed and very comfy. The staff is warm and welcoming and will go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay. Being above a bar - not a problem. We didn't hear any "bleed over" noise and enjoyed our welcome ales and cooked to order breakfast each morning. The location can't be beat - five minute walk one way to Edinburgh castle and five minutes in the other for Holyrood. It was just perfect for us and I look forward to returning some day!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Smotley

Thanks so much for your review of your recent visit to our hotel, we are so happy that enjoyed your three night stay. The team are always happy to welcome our guest and ensure they enjoy their stay at your home on the mile. We are also glad the location suited your needs, it really is slap bang in the middle of it all.

Campbell & the Inn on the Mile team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a very nice room on the top floor. Clean, fresh, stylish, complete and very nice bathroom. The location of this hotel is perfect for a visit to Edinburgh. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. We were here during the week. Being on the top floor, we did not experience any noise from the pub or the street below.

There were a few hiccups during our stay, which in my opinion are the cause of communication going wrong between the office in Glasgow and the hotel in Edinburgh. When booking through the website of the hotel, I ticked the optional box for fudge in the room extra. This came at a cost of 6 pounds. When we arrived in the room, there was fudge, but it was part of the standard mini bar selection. So why give me the option of selecting fudge during booking? The price of this mini bar fudge was 2,99, by the way. I tried to ask staff if anything had gone wrong, but I did not get the idea that they understood what I was talking about. Fudge selected when booking? I chose to drop it, because I did not think it worth it. Second hiccup was that when checking out, the bill to be settled was substantially higher than the price I had booked the room for. I still had the reservation email, so they made a call to Glasgow and everything was settled in the end. Why I had gone wrong remains a mystery.

Nevertheless, we had a wonderful time and would certainly recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Higher floors (second or third), might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi Frank M

Thanks for takings five minutes to review your recent visit to our hotel, we are so happy the room met your expectations and I can back you up by saying I certainly think the rooms are stylish,, clean and fresh. Another happy customer in terms of hotels location. I am a little concerned regards to your findings to your add on purchase, I will investigate and action your findings and of course get your fudge in the post. A few hiccups but we will action accordingly and hope we still are an option for your next visit to Edinburgh.

Campbell & the IOTM team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on the Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.