We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a uniquely enjoyable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on the Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn on the Mile to your Saves list
The Inn on the Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct- save 10%
Ranked #16 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a uniquely enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a must go place if you’re in the area; indeed make your way to it even if your not – you most certainly will not be disappointed.

The place is looking great after its recent refurbishment and it’s clear that the Staff and Management intend to offer the very best all round.

I went for a meal and decided to have the chicken which was truly delicious.

Also, the choice of Ales was great and very tempting and well advised by the staff member who served me.

The service from Sean M, (name off receipt) was very welcoming, courteous, knowledgeable and professional.

I will be definitely be back and would strongly recommend it to others to give it a try.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi Candice T,

Many thanks for this kind review, your feedback is greatly welcomed & I will be sure to pass your comments on to our team with a special mention to Sean for his service. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    126
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
25
217
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Inn on the Mile opened only a few days ago following acquisition and remodeling of the old Bank Hotel and Bar at the corner of the Royal Mile and The Bridges (adjacent to the Radisson Blu Hotel). I cannot speak to the nine hotel rooms available at this prime location, BUT I can tell you that the Sunday Roast lunch is one of the best in Edinburgh's Auld Toon (Old Town)! The beef was tender and plentiful, the roasted potatoes superbly done (not too well-done, but bronze and crispy on the outside), and the julienned vegetable medley seasoned lightly with fresh mustard seeds was magnificent. Combine the quality and value of the food with the abundant selection of real ales, beers, whiskys, and spirits and the outstanding service provided by smiling and attentive wait staff like Joanne---and you have a winning combination. Sunday Roast lunch on July 21st 2013 was a reasonable £11.99 with the usual trimmings (including a Yorkshire pudding and really tasty gravy) . . . and although not the least expensive is truly the best value for money on the Royal Mile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Appinhighlander,
We are very proud of our new look venture & it’s fantastic to see our lovely guests are appreciating it. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. Our Mile Sunday Roast is our wee star of the menu every Sunday, It’s fantastic to hear you enjoyed, I’ll make sure our Chef has a chance to read your kind comments. Have a great week & come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Excellent location, just five minutes from Waverley station. The bar/reception was closed for refurbished when I stayed. The room was very modern and comfortable with large screen TV. Thought the separate toilet was a little strange.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear stevie_low,
Thanks for taking the time to provide this great review. Our bar & kitchen have now launched & looking great. Next time you’re coming back to Edinburgh please let us know, we would love for you to see the big changes. Have a good week Stevie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel. The location is fantastic and our room was large and so was the modern bathroom. We were on the first floor of the hotel (2 flights of stairs up). The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. When we stayed, we had to go out for breakfast because the bar/restaurant hadn't opened but it wasn't a problem...there are many restaurants nearby. They were in the last week of renovations and we had a couple of concerns which made us question the value we paid for this property and their priorities (ie. a bar or hotel?) One concern was that our room was not serviced the first night, then the shower's temperature control and hand held shower in the bathtub weren't working properly. We mentioned this deficiency and someone came to check it out, but another person was to come the next day to fix it but it wasn't fixed. The bath tub was nice but you could slip getting out of it (no handles, slippery floor and big step down). We felt the completed downstairs was a priority over the hotel when we stayed there. I thought I should mention that on checkout, the Visa charge was to the bar rather than hotel so when we went to use our Visa later at the airport, it was declined. Visa thought it had been stolen as it looked like a $800. bar bill. Just a "heads up"!

Room Tip: Room 2 is large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Good afternoon TyGor,

Thanks very much to take the time to write this review. It’s always great to see such constructive feedback that we, as a team, can discuss & look at how to improve our features & service. Your comments will be discussed at our next hotel meeting. Please note our bar & kitchen have been launched, next time you’re coming to Edinburgh please let us know. We would be delighted for you to see our new hotel. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Effingham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Every time I visit Edinburgh I eat at the Bank Street Hotel. Love the Haggis. The service is good and friendly. The atmosphere is a bit dark but charming. Often there are tables of local folk shooting the breeze. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi InformedCorp,

Hope your very well & thanks for the kind comments on our hotel. Big changed are currently taking place which I'm sure you will love. Our Bar & kitchen are currently having a refurbishment & will be re-launching very soon. Make sure you stop by to check us out next time your in town, we would love to see what you think of our new look. Best wishes & thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The room was awesome, the staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating! I must say that I was pleased with the accommodations! Loved the way the renovations were done. Unfortunately, the bar area was under renovations, but you can tell, it will be beautiful when all the work is completed. Don't let the stairs put you off- the staff are most helpful and carried our luggage up to our room. The only drawback was that the room did not have air conditioning - thus it was too warm and we had to open the windows to bring in the air - which of course brought on the noise from outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Trish S,

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide a review, our new bar and kitchen will be launching very soon & would love to have you back as our guest for you to see the big changes. Once complete we will have a wee gem on the Royal Mile which you’re welcome back anytime. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked a quiet room so they put us on the fourth floor. It was quiet until 3 a.m. when the bar next door let the drunks out! Also, the pigeons on our window sill were noisy in their birdy way. You guessed it, there are no elevators and because the wall heights are great, the steps are kind of a workout! The staff was helpful here, but guests should be warned. The bedroom was nice, but the bathroom had its problems. WHOEVER DESIGNS A HOTEL ROOM AND BATH SHOULD HAVE TO BE A GUEST THERE!! This bathroom had a glass door. At least it was frosted, but why was there a clear glass door IN the bathroom closing off the toilet for no reason. It was also dangerous because when coming out of the shower, it was very difficult to see if left open into the room. The double sink was long and narrow. When you turned on the fancy faucets, they sprayed all over you. Then...there was no place to PUT anything like a toiletries kit or a toothbrush or anything! No shelves! The puck halogen lights in the ceiling did not provide light on your face, instead, only glared into your eyes; terrible lighting. The hotel will be better when the reception and restaurant are finished, but I suggest improvements in the bathrooms soon! One outstanding positive is that is in a superb location!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor for a better chance for quietness, but ask for help with your luggage and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at The Inn on the Mile, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Taffyo42,

Thanks for your honest comments and feedback regarding our new bedrooms, have tried to take as many bird prevention methods as kindly possible so can only apologies for their birdy ways. I will certainly make sure our design management team have the chance to review your comments also, this feedback can only help to improve fellow travellers experiences with us so again, thanks for this information.

If you’re ever coming back to Edinburgh please let us know, we would be delighted to showcase our new complete hotel. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Mile

Address: 82 High Street | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1LL, Scotland (Formerly Bank Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on The Mile located on The Royal Mile in the heart of the city centre, offers an alternative boutique and luxury hotel experience in one of Edinburgh's most prestigious historic landmarks. Built in 1923 as the British Linen Bank, we have preserved, conserved and renovated our historical building into a place where you feel at home.Hosting an intimate 9 beautiful, boutique fully refurbished bedrooms ranging from our stylish Mile bedrooms to our spacious Royal Mile bedrooms, our crisp and clean interiors and décor is the perfect base to explore our great city with an ideal location. Included in all our rooms are a self-lockable safe, iPod dock with ceiling in-built speakers, bathroom controllable speaker system and full tea and coffee making facilities which come with Scottish delicacies. All bedrooms also come with GHD hair straighteners as standard, large flat screen TV, iron with iron board and working desk area and complimentary Wi-Fi.Our fully refurbished Inn on The Mile pub is a focal point on the Royal Mile, paying homage to our banking history with subtle twists from our past. Sample our flights of fine wines, pick & mix from a sensational selection or indulge in the finest liquid in the world with our whisky flights tailored to individual tastes. Our menu at The Inn on the Mile kitchen is our pride and joy. We serve home cooked food prepared with love from fresh, locally sourced Scottish ingredients. All our meat, poultry and eggs are free range and traditionally reared, and our fish is from sustainable sources around the Scottish coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn on the Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Edinburgh
The Inn On The Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on the Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.