We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would happily return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Roxburghe Hotel) (New Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #48 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Would happily return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Our first impression of the Crowne Plaza - The Roxburghe hotel was slightly disappointing due to the wait at reception however to be fair we had arrived early and we were given our room well ahead of schedule so this more than compensated for the delay. The room also exceeded our expectations, it was large spacious and most importantly it was very clean. The bed was huge and comfortable and we had two floor to ceiling windows one of which opened out onto a balcony overlooking Rose Street. The bathroom was also clean, my only gripe was there was insufficient toiletries provided.
The breakfast was adequate but I did notice that the waiters were only too happy to provide extra helpings when asked. We were pleased we booked a room which gave us access to the Club Lounge which provided that additional extra comfort after a day sightseeing / shopping. The little Polish waitress was very friendly and helpful.
Would I book again - absolutely.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerReply, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear marlewrhy,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel, I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you found your bedroom to be so pleaseing and spacious. Our team here at the hotel take great pleasure in reading such kind comments and we genuinley appreciate the time taken to leave such reviews. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Roxburghe again in the near future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    254
    72
    27
    13
See reviews for
103
279
17
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the head concierge who was very friendly and helpful and got us checked in straight away and escorted us to our room. We arrived early and were grateful for an early check in as we were soaked through with the rain.

We had dinner twice, once in the Restaurant and once in the Bar, and both times the service and food were 10/10. The staff were friendly and attentive to our needs. They were conversational but not intrusive of our personal space. On our first night, we ordered steak - yummy! We asked for onion rings with our steak and as they were not an item on the menu, the chef made homemade onion rings for us and they were the nicest onion rings we have ever eaten! This truly went above and beyond our expectations.

One of the concierge's recommended a Thai Restaurant and called to make us reservations. The Restaurant was fully booked so he found another Thai restaurant and made reservations for us, leaving a note in the room to explain the change of plan. Again, a great level of service experienced and very grateful for ensuring our needs were met.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. A perfect place to relax after a day out in Edinburgh.

If we are ever to visit Edinburgh again, Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburgh will be our only choice of hotel. The hotel is in a central location, rooms are spot on, service second to none and food cooked to perfection!

I have already recommended the hotel to a colleague who has expressed an interest in visiting Edinburgh this year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerReply, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear RJS23,

Thank you for your kind review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and more so that you manmaged to experience so much of the hotel facilities in the bar and restaurant and that your experience while visiting us was so memorable for you. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in Edinbugrh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I recently booked the Roxburgh Hotel for a little get together trip for myself and some friends. From the minute we arrived until the minute we left we were all highly impressed with the amazing service provided by the staff who were all, without fail, pleasant, polite and friendly. Rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped and breakfast was fabulous. Special mention to the waiting staff who were great fun and so welcoming. We also enjoyed the cream tea and Prosecco as part of our package and can highly recommend this to future visitors. I have stayed in the hotel myself several times and never got round to leaving a review but was so delighted with everything this visit I felt compelled to do so. My friends and I will certainly be making this the first place we book in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerReply, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear chrisandewe,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe hotel, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you managed to spend some relaxation time to enjoy our cream tea. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Lovely hotel in a superb location. I have stayed here twice now and would certainly recommend the hotel either for buisness or leisure.The minute you walk through the entrance you enter a tranquil hotel, very well appointed. Rooms are all a good size, and spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerReply, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Chippy2013,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel, I am delighted to read that you found your stay to be so enjoyable and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick, ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Hotel is in a great location, we walked everywhere without a bother. The staff are great and very friendly. On checking in we had the surprise of free breakfast each morning in the club lounge and also free drinks and canapés for an hour of an evening.......fantastic! Our room was very sizable and extremely comfortable. We only had a street view but my sister and her husband also stayed the same weekend and had a lovely view of the caste. This didn't bother us as we were there to enjoy the sights of Edinburgh and didn't spend much time in the room. Cleanliness was great and couldn't fault anything.....having said that we did notice a very long queue checking out on the Monday but again we were staying until Tuesday and it was fine for us.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for castle view but I'm sure all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerReply, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear gmcahill8,

thank you for your review of the Roxburghe hotel . I am very happy to read that you found our location to be so suitable for your stay with us and that you enjoyed the facilities that we have to offer in our club lounge. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Roxburghe again in the future for another enjoyable trip to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel is a perfect location, just off Princes St. We had a superior room with a view of the square, on the front, bit noisy if you are a light sleeper. Breakfast was excellent as everyone says. If you are driving make sure you book a car park spot in advance, there are only 20 and this was not mentioned when we booked through Laterooms. Was not a huge problem, an NCP is about 3 mins drive away and if you park for 2 nights it just accrues and you can pay when you leave, it is about £20 per day but so is the hotel. Very comfy bed though and a great nights sleep.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerReply, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
DearClaireyhep,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel, I am delighted to read that you found our location, bed and breakfast offering ideal for your trip. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel with style and substance in the heart of Edinburgh, then this is definitely the place to book. From the chic décor to the friendliness of the staff, from the high quality food to the superbly presented bedrooms - this place has it all. We booked a two night break last weekend and could not fault any part of our stay. The dinners were delicious, served by attentive and well trained staff, breakfasts were an absolute joy and the location of the hotel is perfect for a relaxing stay in this beautiful city. All the staff should be very proud of what is being achieved at The Roxburghe and there is absolutely no doubt that we will be repeating the experience very soon. If you are considering a hotel break in Edinburgh - then call of the search, you've found it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerReply, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear snowman67,

Thank you for your very kind review of the Roxburghe Hotel following your stay with us in. I am delighted to read such comments regarding not only the hotel and facilities but also our staff and service provided. For us at the hotel our service and engagement is the cornerstone of everything we do and our team will be equally as delighted to read your comments regarding your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again on your next trip to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe

Address: 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Roxburghe Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel in style and stay in the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe in the heart of Edinburgh city center. The hotel rewards its guests with an unrivaled location on historic Charlotte Square. This premier 4 star hotel has recently refurbished its meeting space, public areas and all 198 bedrooms, many with views of Edinburgh Castle. Ideally located between George Street, the stylish home of the cities top bars, restaurants and boutique shops and Rose Street with more traditional pubs and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Roxburghe
Macdonald Roxburghe Edinburgh
Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.