We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roxburghe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Roxburghe to your Saves list
The Roxburghe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe) (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed in this hotel over the new year the staff were very helpful and polite, rooms comfortable and well equipped,great location with choice of any cuisine on the doorstep, great for shopping and sightseeing will be going back there for the Edinburgh Military Tattoo in August hopefully

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear motherhen3,

Thank you for your recent review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed you stay with us and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the hotel in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    343
    107
    38
    15
See reviews for
143
415
26
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

First impressions on entry at this hotel were very good and all the staff were very friendly and polite. Rooms were also lovely, a little dark but the weather didn't help! Breakfast was very good and cooked to order, which makes a nice change! Also had beauty treatments in the Spa, which were also very enjoyable. The hotel is very central and within walking distance of a lot of Edinburgh's tourist attractions, and just round the corner from the shops on Princess Street. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Probably on top floor away from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear einniw

Thank you for your recent review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed you stay with us and in particular our breakfast managed to set you up well for the day ahead. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the hotel in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for business and it delivered what I was expecting. Very central, good restaurants right in front of the hotel. Pretty much very central and we walked everywhere I need to get to. My advice is not to stay on the room facing George Street because the night revellers can get a tad bit loud after midnight. Request a room inside the courtyard.

The breakfast was amazing and the service is excellent. My omelette was made and out on my table within minutes. Very impressed. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Job M,

Thank you for your recent review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed you stay with us and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the hotel in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have just spent a couple of nights at the hotel celebrating our daughters wedding. We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff we met who went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one. Special thanks to Wilfred and his crew who made the evening go so well, we would certainly have no reservations in recommending this hotel to others either as a place to stay and explore Edinburgh or a venue for a celebration.

Thank you once again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Ramsay M,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to read such posative feedback regarding you recent stay with us for your Daughters wedding. Wilfried passes on his thanks for you kind words and sends his warmest regards. We pride ourselves on our wedding offering here at the hotel and each and every menber of the team takes great pleasure in making these very special occasions run as smoothly and enjoyable as they can be. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A big thank you for our recent outstanding stay at your hotel From the first point of contact with Lesle your consceirge who was exemplory in his manner and attention right through all staff who attended to our time spent at the hotel was of the highest order.
The food was seved to a very high standard,enjoying one of the best breakfasts for a long time.
A very comfortable room overlooking central decerative courtyard and again thanks to Lesle who excelled in the duties of his job.Will be back Margaret & Allan.

Room Tip: room 267 very comfortable & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Margaret & Allan,

Thank you for your review and taking time to do so after you stay with us here at the Roxburghe. I am delighted to read such fantastic feedback and comments opn your stay. Les sends his very best wishes and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you be visiting Edinburgh again in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed at the with my boyfriend for a weekend. It was my first time in the hotel and was a fantastic experience. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful without being over the top. The room was beautiful and hotel location was perfect. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Padraicf1,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed you stay with us so much and that you would recommend us for a stay in Edinburgh. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon to the hotel.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed for one night and found it a very good hotel . Check in was quick and efficient and our room was large and looked over the courtyard . The bed was comfortable and the bathroom a good size with complimentary bath robes. Breakfast was first class and the cooked dish very tasty . Staff were all very pleasant and helpful . Did not have time to go to the spa or have an evening meal at the hotel .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear bodmas,

Thank you for you review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay so much. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future for another enjoyable and relaxing break in Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roxburghe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxburghe

Address: 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roxburghe 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel in style and stay in The Roxburghe Hotel in the heart of Edinburgh city center. The hotel rewards its guests with an unrivaled location on historic Charlotte Square. This premier 4 star hotel has recently refurbished its meeting space, public areas and all 198 bedrooms, many with views of Edinburgh Castle. Ideally located between George Street, the stylish home of the cities top bars, restaurants and boutique shops and Rose Street with more traditional pubs and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Roxburghe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Roxburghe
Macdonald Roxburghe Edinburgh
Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh
The Roxburghe Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roxburghe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.