We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small issues let the hotel down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Roxburghe Hotel) (New Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #48 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Twynholm, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Small issues let the hotel down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Only stayed 1 night to check this hotel out as a future 'base' for my business trip to Edinburgh (2/3 nights a week for approx. 40 weeks a year). Let me start by saying "the hotel passed" and I will stay here when ever possible. The location is fantastic for both business and leisure, the staff were really welcoming and helpful, the food excellent (room service at that) and check in/out very smooth (note, I am a platinum IHG Rewards customer).

As I travel a lot, a couple of minor points. No nuts available as a snack, only chocolates? Seriously? The single lift is a nightmare. It is small and heavily used so if you have no choice but to use it, be aware you may wait an awfully long time. Finally, my room appeared to have been redecorated and very badly at that. Paint pealing off all wooden surfaces, a lot of quite shoddy workmanship etc. Sort these very minor issues out and I would rate the hotel as excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid upper levels if you can't handle the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Stuart A,

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh. I am glad to see that for the most part you enjoyed your stay. I would however be very interested to know what room you stayed in so that I can investigate you comments with my maintenance department and rectify as required any issues we may have as described. If you could contact me on opsmgr@theroxburghe.com I would be very grateful. We pride ourselves on the standards of decoration and quality of room product here at the hotel so feedback such as yours is very helpful to ensure we maintain our high standards.

Kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    254
    72
    27
    13
See reviews for
103
277
17
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two weeks ago for 3 nights had a fabulous time in Edinburgh. The hotel was excellent had great facilities. Used the spa nice pool sauna and steam room lovely and relaxing after a long day of shopping. Breakfast each morning was good had a very good selection of items. Room was a very good size. Had a wonderful time and will definitely go back to this hotel

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Heather934,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again should you be returning to Edinburgh.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Attended a civil partnership and stayed the night in this hotel. I would say the perfect place for a civil partnership. The meal was lovely although a couple of people at our table did say that the lamb was look warm but it was just perfect for me. Staff very friendly and very attentive. Our room was spacious and very clean. View wasn't so great but room was very quiet which was just perfect. Breakfast was great, everything you would want and more. The only little downside for me, and although trivial I may say, I felt that there could have been more personal toiletries in the bathroom, after all it is a 5 star hotel and not cheap to stay an overnight. Apart from that, it was very good and I would recommend it and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Barbara R,

Thank you for your recent review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit so much and that the event you attended was as good as you have mentioned. I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future next time you are visiting the city.

Warm wishes and kind regards,

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Traditional hotel of superb quality. Excellent location for tourists, handy for buses, train station and walking the city. Traditional style fittings, modest bathroom, small sink with enormous taps, couldn't fill kettle!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear HolsGlossop,

Thank you for your recent review of the Roxburghe. I am very please to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much and found our location and services to be what you were looking for. I would be interested in knowing what room you stayed in so that I can check the issue with the Kettle. If you would be so kind as to let me know by emailing opsmgr@theroxburghe.com I would be very grateful. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again should you be visiting Edinburgh in the future.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for one IHG club reward night.
I had had a little trouble finding the hotel, but the concierge was more than helpful (much more helpful than my sat nav) at guiding me to the underground car park - a good start.

Check in was fast and efficient and the girl behind the desk made some good suggestions as to things to see and do during our stay, she was very helpful and very friendly.

The room was of a good size, was immaculately clean and in a quiet corner of the hotel - no complaints at all from that respect.

The shower in the morning wasn’t very powerful and could have done with an upgrade but this didn’t pose too much of a problem.

We asked about parking in the city center when checking out, but was told it was fine to leave the car in the car park for a few hours free of charge. Greatly appreciated considering the price of parking in Edinburgh!

All in all my stay was comfortable, and I would recommend the hotel.
Unfortunately I did not get chance to use the spa facilities, so wouldn’t be able to comment on them.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Adam_m_1989,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe hotel. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much. I am glad that the concierge team were helpful with directions to the car park. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon to the hotel.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

stayed here for weekend to celebrate my birthday, treated superbly. a great welcome and felt like royalty. Fantastic location very convenient for the city centre attractions. public room were very elegant including our exclusive club room were we were able to get refreshment throughout the day. The only thing that I found disappointing was the bedroom was a little bit shabby and could of done with redecorated.

Room Tip: ensure you are a member of the loyalty scheme and you get lots of extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear S_Ceris,

Thank you for your recent review of the Roxburghe hotel and many happy return for your recent birthday. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your birthday weekend with us and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future for another enjoyable stay with us.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel has a modern crisp feel to it. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Good food and drinks to be had at the adjoining bar too. Room was spacious and quiet. The location is good just off Princes street. I found it a good spot from which to walk around the inner city. Very good all round for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxburgheGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear John S,

Thank you for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel. I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much with us and that you found our location an ideal base for exploring the City. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future should you visit Edinburgh again.

Warm wishes and kind regards

Marcello Ventisei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe

Address: 38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Roxburghe Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel in style and stay in the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe in the heart of Edinburgh city center. The hotel rewards its guests with an unrivaled location on historic Charlotte Square. This premier 4 star hotel has recently refurbished its meeting space, public areas and all 198 bedrooms, many with views of Edinburgh Castle. Ideally located between George Street, the stylish home of the cities top bars, restaurants and boutique shops and Rose Street with more traditional pubs and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Roxburghe
Macdonald Roxburghe Edinburgh
Roxburghe Hotel Edinburgh
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.