We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kildonan Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“November 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the Kildonan for one of our Rugby weekends and what a find having stayed at many Hotels in Edinburgh over the years this is by far one of the best. Lovely property and immaculate rooms with lots of added comforts. Staff, service and food in the restaurant were first class very attentive and friendly. The sitting room with the fire and papers were delightful on a cold November day.

Bus stop outside Hotel takes you to centre of Edinburgh in ten minutes therefore you have a first class Hotel in a quite location.

We will be back having already booked for a weekend on March

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    89
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
172
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

A really nice property - the room was beautifully proportioned and presented - certainly in keeping with a 4/5 Star Hotel anywhere else in the country. Would highly recommend it and will certainly be booking to stay here when I make my next trip to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Dinner in the restaurant was beautiful, especially
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I took my brother to Edinburgh for his 50th birthday present. Kildonan Lodge is the perfect hotel for the location, several choices of buses (bus stop across the road) that took us to the Royal Mile, Princes Street etc.
We enjoyed the homely feel of the hotel, guest sitting room with big fire place, the Christmas trimmings were up and the honesty bar was a great idea.
The breakfast choice was very good, could even try haggis if one wanted to.
We also tried the evening meal which was lovely. The decanter of sherry in the room is a welcome touch especially if you have had a long journey. The twin room was comfortable enough and well decorated.
In all we had a perfect stay, I will be back with my husband next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I planned to stop in Edinburgh for a night on our three day secret tour to Scotland. I saw the reviews from TripAdvisor and decided to try this hotel.

The place was nothing short than spectacular, we were greeted by Gem, who made us feel right at home. The rooms were warm and well decorated. The access to city centre is prefect as every bus comes through this area.

The final touch of greatness was the breakfast where you had a full continental breakfast along with ordering hot items as well (the Haggis was excellent). Charlotte made sure you had everything you needed and the decor was wonderful.

I've been to a lot of hotels in my travels, but I have to say this is one of the best stays and my wife couldn't believe that "I" could pick such a place (smile). We will definitely be back to visit again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

really enjoyed my overnight stay at the Kildonan lodge hotel, room was great and service first class. Guest can enjoy some fine malts from the honesty bar in the large comfortable lounge before bed and the cooked breakfast was excellent.
You can get a good regular bus service into the centre but we took advantage of the free parking and took our car

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

An ideal place to stay if visiting Edinburgh. Hotel provides free parking and is located under 2 miles from the city centre on an excellent bus route. Couldn't fault the hotel - very well appointed, clean, comfortable and quiet with very friendly staff. Breakfast very good. Had dinner at the hotel (note restaurant under separate ownership) which was also good. Competitively priced and would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in December, very friendly and helpful staff. Great location on one of the main bus routes into the city centre and comfortable, warm and quiet. Sherry and shortbread on arrival is nice too!

Breakfast was ok, otherwise can't fault it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kildonan Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.