We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff enhance pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kildonan Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff enhance pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 4 nights whilst on a golf tour. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, pointing out to a South African the ways and means of getting into the heart of Edinburgh. And assisting with any and all queries as to places to visit. The breakfast was both fulsome and hearty (the scrambled eggs were particularly enjoyable), and my party of 9 thoroughly enjoyed the porridge. I stayed in room 12 at the top of the Lodge, which being a poor sleeper was a slight hassle given the ventilation in the room relied on the window fronting onto the road, with the resultant noise problem. But the room was spacious, my fitness improved climbing the steps, and the entire establishment was spotlessly clean. I was a little surprised that ironing could not be done (a clothes washing service was offered but did not include ironing), and the honesty bar was well stocked and something of a curiosity to me coming from whence I do. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    89
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
172
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed for a night during the Edinburgh Festival. I arrived too early to check-in but the receptionist was very helpful and assured me I could check in even if I arrived back very late after a show. She was as true as her word. I arrived at 11.30pm and was still greeted in a friendly manner and the man who looked after me insisted on carrying my bag up to the 2nd floor for me.

My room was very well appointed and comfortable. There was even a small carafe of sherry and shortbread biscuits waiting as a greeting. The Wi-Fi was, however, rather weak and pretty useless.

My breakfast in the morning was very nice and the Wi-Fi on the ground floor strong. They obviously need to tweak the signal on the upper floors.

The hotel is a few miles outside Edinburgh but directly on a bus route into the centre of with a number of different lines serving it. In effect I had my own my own Park & Ride with unlimited bus travel for £3.50 per day.

The hotel wasn't cheap but neither was it very expensive, it was right in the middle of the Edinburgh Festival and as I booked rather late I had to pay a premium. In all it offered good value for money.

Room Tip: Being on the second (top) floor meant that there was no one above me. I noticed that the floor creak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The long road from the centre of Edinburgh which starts as North Bridge and changes a few times ending up at Craigmillar Park at the Kildonan is home to many small hotels and B&Bs. The Kildonan is a large house in the local style, rooms are very spacious and attractively furnished. Good breakfast in a very nice dining room. Helpful, friendly staff. Attracts civilised clientele.

About a 25 minute walk into town or 1.50 pounds on a very frequent, exact change only bus service.

Rooms 4 and 5 suffer from a lot of step noise from creaky wooden floor above. Not a problem if you are getting up for work in the mornings but would avoid if you are planning a lie-in. Surprisingly, road noise wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Staying in Edinburgh for a few days and this hotel is ideally placed - not too far out of the city and frequent buses. We walked in once but then decided on the bus for the rest of our journeys!
The rooms were very comfortable, the staff extremely helpful and the breakfast ample.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from the 2nd to the 4th August. Staff are very friendly and helpful, advised us on how to get to the centre and what busses to catch and which ones to not. Our room was very clean and tidy. A couple of suggestions would be to maybe have some water and soft drinks in the bar fridge rather than just beer and wine and maybe have fans available for the bedrooms in hot weather, as our room was quite warm on a night. However these are just personal preferences and overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

stayed for 3 nights in the lodge at the rear of the hotel (room 2) and found all to be good. clean,helpful staff,fantastic breakfast and location is good. far enough out of the centre but not too far away with regular buses and taxis are easy to get in such a big city. would go back here with no hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I opted to stay here on business for one night having objected to the excessive rates on offer in the town centre. I was very satisfied and thought the Hotel was very good value. Location is fine if you do not mind a 10-15 minute bus or taxi ride into the centre. Rooms are nice, if a bit superficially modernised, but extremely well equipped with everything you would expect in a 4* Hotel ( and more) including iron and ironing board. Staff were great and very helpful, by booking taxis etc.
Self service honesty bar is a nice touch. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Some road noise at front of hotel, but not excessive, rooms at back should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate the feedback.
We are glad that you found us good value. We are on a main bus route to the city centre, depending on the traffic it takes about 10-15 minutes to get in to the city centre or on a lovely sunny day you could have a walk in to town which takes about 30-35 minutes.
All our rooms are individually styled. To make our guests feel more at home our rooms are equipped with IPod docking station, TV, DVD play, Iron, ironing board, radio alarm, tea/coffee making facility luxury toiletries and complimentary sherry and short bread.
We do recommend that if you prefer a quite room to let us know in advance and we will try our best to book you a room facing the back of the hotel or in the Garden Lodge. But like you said the road noise is not excessive.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kildonan in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kildonan Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.