We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ellersly House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ellersly House Hotel
Save
You added Ellersly House Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Ellersley Road | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 6HZ, Scotland (Murrayfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Horrible experience! Everything except the lobby was very disappointing. Apart from the main entrance and reception, we could not recognise the hotel from the pictures presented on booking.com web page. The service was friendly, yes, but the rooms and corridors were worn out, untidy and smelled of cigarettes (even though our room was for non-smokers). Stains on walls, lamps and carpets did not live up to our expectations. The room would need some serious updating. The worst of all was the bath nob that we could not shut down (had to call for help from the reception everytime we showered). The one star comes from the breakfast, beds, friendly staff and free wifi.

Room Tip: If you do book a room, contact the hotel directly, not via booking.com.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Sanelma M,

Many thanks for your review,

Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    129
    82
    41
    38
See reviews for
60
154
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had stayed at the same property around 14 years ago when it was part of the Ramada Jarvis chain. Unfortunately the decor and fittings appeared not to have been changed since then!
The location and fabric of the hotel have potential but the property is tired, dated and in need of some TLC - a fact that the staff were only too happy to confirm.
The service and the breakfast were average and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear graysuae,

Many thanks for your review,

Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

i went by the rating shown on expedia and was in for a surprise. first they gave me three individual beds for my family when i had already indicated that we are 2 adults and 1 child. So it was upto me to join the individual beds and manage the night. They promised they would correct the bedding the next day, which did not happen. Rotting wooden windows, old interiors, bathroom showers which had seen a better day, i would have given it a miss for sure. and yes....there is no room service. Go down and order your food....and wait...and bring it up yourself. I could have stayed at home.

Room Tip: dont stay here as its not close to the city. I am sure there are many places closer to the city and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Venky chetty,

Many thanks for your review,

Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had been in Edinburgh shopping which had been packed and hot.

On leaving town we took the quick route and stopped at this hotel.

From the front you would not think it had a large garden at the back with tables and chairs for drinks.

My husband asked if the dog could come in too and was accepted.

We chose a lovely table in the sun and had our refreshments before going on to meet friends.

Staff were friendly and efficient and we will be back possibly to have lunch another time but our time was too short.

For anyone travelling to Edinburgh I would recommend this hotel which is in an affluent part of the city and not far from Princess Street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear malaikascotland,

Many thanks for your kind review,

Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is fantastic set in a quiet leafy street in Edinburgh. It is set back from all the main roads and has a distinctly country house feel to it! There is a garden outside which we sat in enjoying the last of the evening sunshine whilst drinking a large cold glass of wine.
Our room was actually fine - clean and the bed very comfy but it was an adjoining room and the people in the next room were very noisy until late at night so some serious sound proofing needs to be done.
Dinner in the hotel was lovely and I can thoroughly recommend it. We didn't really get to sample breakfast as although we had been told that breakfast was from 7am it appeared not to be and we just had a very basic breakfast of cereal and toast.
We were made very welcome by all the staff and I cannot fault their attentiveness but shall I return? Possibly once all the refurb is done and this tired old hotel is given some TLC.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear ObanMorf,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel, apologies for the mix up with breakfast timings our breakfast is open from 7am on week days and at 8am on the weekend.

Please contact the hotel directly the next time you are due to visit Edinburgh for our latest offers.

Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel looks great from outside and the entrance and downstairs is very nice too. The staff are friendly and serice is good- a special thanks to Dean on the Front Desk and Michael the F and B Manager. The breakfast was very good and at a reasonable price also. The bedrooms as other guests have said need some TLC. The house keeping and maintenance need a nudge to improve certain items/fittings. A downside was the dustbin wagon arriving at 0630 and making a loud noise as they emptied the bins,so dont get a room close to the arrivals area. I would stay again however as the parking is good and free which is a plus for Edinburgh.Murrayfield is in walking distance if you are a rugby fan. The wifi is terrible!

Room Tip: A room away from the arrivals area is a must¬
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Colonel M,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel, good to see both Dean and Micheal delivered such great service it was worth mentioning them in your review.

We will endeavor to minimize the disruption from the waste collection company for future guests, thanks again for your feed back.

Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Thumbs up for location and staff. Thumbs down for room. The hotel is reasonably well located. Centre of town is 15 minutes away by bus. We paid 160£ per night without breakfast for a run down bathroom and a barely adequate room. The property is an old heritage house and while public areas have been refurbished to some extent, guest rooms are crying for attention. The kids enjoyed the garden.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Mamsys,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel, good to see the location and staff lived up to your expectations.
Please contact the hotel directly the next time you are due to visit Edinburgh again i will ensure you have our best available rates.

Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#30 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#138 of 146 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#103 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#41 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#102 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellersly House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellersly House Hotel

Address: 4 Ellersley Road | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 6HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellersly House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellersly House Hotel has a distinct, modest charm and a welcoming ambience.Originally an Edwardian country house, the ‘Ellersly’ is conveniently situated just west of Edinburgh city centre, close to Murrayfield Stadium en route to Edinburgh Airport.With 57 rooms, Ellersly House has a wide range of comfortable bedrooms to suit different budgets and tastes, all with ensuite facilities and benefiting from a significant refurbishment programme. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ellersly Hotel Edinburgh
Ellersly House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellersly House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.