We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and friendly service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellersly House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ellersly House Hotel to your Saves list
Ellersly House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Ellersley Road | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 6HZ, Scotland (Murrayfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was quite close to the city, close to a main road which made catching a bus into the city quick and easy. The foyer was impressive, with a nice restaurant and bar. The food at the restaurant was lovely too. The rooms were very warm, with a clean bathroom that had lots of hot water in the shower. We stayed in a 3 bed room and found the beds very comfortable. Our favourite part of this hotel was the service. The staff were so warm and friendly, and went out of their way to help us.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear happyhappythoughts,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Ellersly House Hotel.
Pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you would recommend the hotel given the opportunity.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct on 0131 337 6888 or on our website.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    129
    82
    41
    38
See reviews for
60
154
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Whilst the exterior, loby, bar & restaurant for the hotel are very good, in decor and well kept.
However, the accommodation does not match. The rooms were very small with dated decor.
The overall price seemed good at the time of booking due to the rating and description, however, we do not feel the price met with the room given.
Location is good although a taxi or bus is required to go into the city center.
Staff were friendly and happy to help booking taxi's.

Room Tip: Do not choose for locations to city center if you are unwilling to pay for a taxi or bus. i recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Lesley W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Ellersly House Hotel.
Good feed back in regards to the team's customer service skills are always nice to read.
The hotel has undergone some minor changes in the front of house areas so it was pleasing to note that those areas where found to be in good order during your stay.
The hotel is due to begin a refurbishment programme in the new year, bringing the bedrooms to the same standards as our front of house areas.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly on 0131 337 6888 or on our website for any future dates.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

After returning from a short break, the hotel is in fact very nice needs updating though but is very clean. The staff are lovely and helpful. The bathroom was very worn and shower did not work, we stayed in a room next to a connecting door on the corridor so was very loud banging. Value for money is good, would stay again just in a different room not next to a main door. Location wise use local buses as taxi firm the hotel use cost a fortune or just book your own taxi.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Hlw88,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service, I am pleased that you encountered this in all areas of the hotel.
I will be sure to share this with the team.
You will be pleased to read hotel will undergo a programme of refurbishment in January 2014, so we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly on. +44 (0)131 337 688 or via our website.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Came here on a Reunion Celebration along with 45 other males==Was I admit a bit pessemistic after reading some reviews==But not too worry --- The reception process was most cheerful and professional and we were allocated to room 23== it was on the ground floor with a limited view but was freshly decorated with none of the musty smell talked about== the carpet had I suspect been well professionally cleaned== the beds were most comfortable and a satisfactory nights sleep was had ==admittedly helped by the quick and efficient service from the bar staff as the night turned towards morning== the bathroom was clean and shiny and the towels white and fluffy and lashings of hot water == however the whole effect was spoiled by the vinyl floor covering which was badly in need of renewal== feel sure that this will soon be done == our reunion dinner was well served and of most acceptable quality == smoked salmon followed by roast beef the cheesecake == well organised to feed 45 hungry curlers== buffet breakfast was ==lets say adequate== no real complaints == I did however as i stood by the buffet awaiting fresh fried eggs look into the kitchen area as the servery doors swung open== it did I'm afraid look a bit unwholesome== made me wonder about the rest of the food prep areas==lastly the public areas were very grand if a wee bit ragged around the edges and made one feel a wee bit special especially the pictures of Edinburgh all around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear bordercurler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you and your colleagues enjoyed your event and stay with us.
We were most happy to read that you appreciated the cleanliness and standard of your room and the quirkiness throughout the hotel.

You will be pleased to note that the hotel will undergo a programme of refurbishment in January 2014, so we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements for any future events. +44 (0)131 337 688

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Two friends and I have just returned from a two-night stay in this hotel and were very impressed. My room was large and light, clean and with a very comfortable bed, The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and the food was good, Buses into the town centre were frequent. I will definitely stay there in future and can recommend it,,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear agnes61,

We are delighted to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us, and we are particularly happy to read your comments noting our bedrooms, staff, and food quality at both dinner and breakfast.
I was most pleased to read that you would stay with us again.
Since we are due to start a refurbishment project in the hotel in January 2014 so I am pleased that you and your friends as well as so many others who consider us for another stay will see the benefit come the New year,

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night at this hotel located near Murrayfield Stadium. The hotel is located close to the main bus route which makes it easy to get into the city centre (£3-50 for an adult day pass or £1-50 per journey). On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was a decent size with a comfy big bed, but was in need of some TLC, like the rest of the hotel.

After a good nights sleep we went for breakfast shortly after 8 a.m. when everything went down hill. There were only two members of waiting staff on duty for a full dining room. There were no glasses for the juice and the hot breakfast buffet consisted of beans, bacon and mushroom. Eventually, haggis, sausages, fried eggs and potato scones were brought out, but not in enough quantity for the amount of diners. The toast served at our table could only be described as 'warm bread'.

If you are looking for a cheap hotel with free parking, in easy comuting distance to the city centre this fine, but DO NOT BOOK BREAKFAST.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear David S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Ellersly House Hotel.

We are delighted to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us, what was disappointing to read, was that we failed in the customer service area, this is something we strive hard to deliver and rest assured this feedback will enable us to work harder to deliver our high standards of service and care.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct on 0131 337 6888 or on our website.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I'm all for quirky old hotels but the Ellersly is dated in a bad way. It's in desperate need of a lick of paint and new flooring! With a bit of TLC this could be an amazing hotel..... But the musty smelling rooms, worn bathrooms and tired carpets are enough to put you off showing or walking around your room barefoot!
What saves this hotel is the staff!! Very friendly and couldn't do enough for you!! A great team of people! Such a shame about the hotel.!
The evening meal of haggis however was lovely!! Couldn't fault it! :-) breakfast we gave a miss! Cheap mini packet croissants and a grubby looking hot Buffett!
The location is ok..... Bit too far to walk to the centre, especially at night.
I Wouldn't recommend this hotel unless it suddenly invested in a revamp!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Emma 4995,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

Making all guests feel welcome and cared for is a fundamental, something we work very hard at.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed the cooking by our chefs.,
I did note that you would recommend our hotel to others given it was given a revamp, I am pleased to inform you that a project to fully refurbish the hotel will begin in January 2014.

So we can look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct on 0131 337 6888 or via our website if you would like more information.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellersly House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellersly House Hotel

Address: 4 Ellersley Road | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 6HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellersly House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellersly House Hotel has a distinct, modest charm and a welcoming ambience.Originally an Edwardian country house, the ‘Ellersly’ is conveniently situated just west of Edinburgh city centre, close to Murrayfield Stadium en route to Edinburgh Airport.With 57 rooms, Ellersly House has a wide range of comfortable bedrooms to suit different budgets and tastes, all with ensuite facilities and benefiting from a significant refurbishment programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ellersly House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellersly Hotel Edinburgh
Ellersly House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellersly House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.