We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellersly House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ellersly House Hotel to your Saves list
Ellersly House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Ellersley Road | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 6HZ, Scotland (Murrayfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay, very comfortable bed and nice bar area to relax for drinks and food, very reasonably priced and of a high standard, friendly helpful staff. Plumbing needs a bit of attention but since it has recently been taken over I am sure this will fixed as a priority, would definitely stay here again, easy access to city centre and close to the zoo, great to be able to park the car without having to pay as with other hotels in Edinburgh

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are best was told the deluxe rooms on the 1st floor were lovely we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Group_Director, -- at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Ellersly House Hotel.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and you are correct that the refurbishment programme already underway will involve an overhaul of the plumbing system.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    129
    82
    41
    38
See reviews for
60
154
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting Edinburgh had a great night sleep room was big clean and comfortable only down side was no plug at bed side. breakfast was excellent. highly recommended. staff were excellent and friendly and the meal was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel is located just of the A8 Corstophine Road within a 5 minute walk of Murrayfield and a 1mile walk in to central Edinburgh. Car parking is on site and complimentary but can get quite full so spaces can be limited at times although there is free on street parking outside as well.
Hotel looks lovely from the outside and has just changed hands again, so the new owners are trying to update the hotel but in my opinion not with much success.
Upon arrival we had no bath plug and only 1 set of towels - this was recitified when we told the hotel. There were holes in my bed sheets which I did not notice until I got in to bed at about 11.30pm so too late to do anything about it then. Also ripped wallpaper, dodgy tiling in the bathroom and just general poor maintenance nothing that could not be rectified. Breakfast was adequate but the staff were running a little late on Sunday morning so small delay in getting hot food.
When we mentioned the items in the room being below standard we did get a price reduction and the staff were all very friendly. Would stay again but probably not until refurbishment finished or the rates were reduced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Reception area bars and gardens were very pleasant. Rooms were of a good standard with a lovely big bed. Tea making facilties were provided. The most outstanding thing about this hotel was the restaurant. They provided well presented food cooked to perfection, we had a lovely eveing meal. The breakfast was one of the best I have encountered in any hotel, with eggs cooked to perfection and all food hot and edible. Staff were excellent and the restaurant was well presented.
From the outside the hotel is in need of some TLC. Mainly exterior decorating and some windows are the worse for wear but this did not affect our stay in any way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Group_Director, Director at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Ellersly House Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Speciality Hotel Group acquired the hotel less than 3 months ago and we have already embarked upon an exciting and ambitious refurbishment programme which will give the building the TLC is deserves.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed two nights in one of the luxury rooms. Nicely decorated and comfortable bed. Shower took five mins to heat up but was powerful enough and very clean. The front desk staff were efficient and friendly and helped with our requests (some music could be heard from downstairs) the breakfast was basic self service and could have used another staff member. Would stay again and would also recommend getting the day saver bus pass as it has excellent public transport to the city and the zoo. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with two friends in a triple single room. Our room was a good size with a lovely view of Murrayfield Stadium. The beds were lovely and comfy and the big sash window let in loads of light and with it being such a stuffy day it was lovely opening it fully and getting a cool breeze into the room.

I took a star off my rating because the dresser was extremely wobbly, we had to make sure we didn't bump it, I don't think it would have survived!

The exterior of the hotel gave a pretty poor first impression, but when you get round to the entrance it's much prettier, and the big garden with the kids play frame looked really nice as well.

Inside the decor in the hallways and the reception was a little dated, but the restaurant was much nicer. The chairs were all covefed and the chandeliers were gorgeous. Our room was plain but nice, and very clean.

We ate in the hotel restaurant while we were there. Between us we tried the soup, tortelinni, fish, lemon tart, toffee pudding and profiteroles all of which were fab. Had I not had a big lunch, the chicken dish looked delicious. We had two servings of hot bread rolls straight from the oven as well at no extra charge. Our drinks orders were delivered quickly and the staff were very attentive. Ive noticed quite a few comments about Polish staff, and not that it matters but I think all the staff we met during our visit were Scottish.

We had to check out in the morning just after half seven so we were able to sort a continental breakfast. Just cereal and juice, so I can't comment properly on the breakfasts.

Our room was very quiet, other than occasionally hearing the corridor door closing (quietly) we didn't hear a peep.

Location wise, we were there to go to Murrayfield which is just minutes away and suited us perfectly. But if you were wanting to go into the centre it's situated further out. It is near the main road though so there's loads of buses into town.

To sum up, this was a comfy clean hotel that I would happily recommend to anyone looking to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellersly_Manager, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear hazelkatseyez,

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Ellersly House Hotel.
I will report this wobbly dresser to maintenance to get this issue resolved asap.

Thank you for taking the time to review all aspects of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hootel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were excited about staying at this hotel for one night after getting what we thought was a good deal. We payed the extra supplement when booking in advance with the hotel for a room upgrade. The receptionist said the four poster room wasn't available but the other upgraded suites were of similar standard. well this one wasn't!!! and When we found our room I felt like Harry potter wedged into a wonky cupboard as an afterthought. The room was small, had a big crack on the bath, paintwork was worn, tired and damaged. Bed was comfortable and we had the prosecco and chocs on arrivial which were ok.

Dinner was included as part of our rate and we booked a table. We checked out the menu before hand but this was not the menu which was offered, one option for vegetarians and when I mentioned this to the waiter he just said 'thats it' he didn't even offer to check with the chef. Despite being the only people seated at the time, the waiter forgot part of our order and had to bring it later.

we were just looking for a nice quiet night away but I am sorry to say were disappointed with our experience for the money that we paid and how the hotel advertises itself was not what we found in our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellersly_Manager, General Manager at Ellersly House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Silver Tigress

I am sorry we did not deliver our high standards to you this time at the Ellersly House Hotel, We are currently starting a plan of upgrades for the accommodtaion and rooms, however a cracked bath is unacceptable. I will address this with the maintenance team.

Our new new vibrant head chefs menu launches later next week which has far more variety and choice available, as well as daily specials to add more scope for seasonal flavours.

I hope you will return to try our new menu, and let us provide you with the quality and choice fo food, as well as impeccable service standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellersly House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellersly House Hotel

Address: 4 Ellersley Road | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 6HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellersly House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellersly House Hotel has a distinct, modest charm and a welcoming ambience.Originally an Edwardian country house, the ‘Ellersly’ is conveniently situated just west of Edinburgh city centre, close to Murrayfield Stadium en route to Edinburgh Airport.With 57 rooms, Ellersly House has a wide range of comfortable bedrooms to suit different budgets and tastes, all with ensuite facilities and benefiting from a significant refurbishment programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ellersly House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellersly Hotel Edinburgh
Ellersly House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellersly House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.