We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brooks Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel) (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Short stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night at Brooks hotel Edinburgh. Check in/out was quick & efficient. Location was fab, 15 minutes walk into the centre, so nice & quiet outside but close enough to enjoy Edinburgh. Hotel as a whole was lovely. Room was a little small but for the 1 night we were there it was fine. The room was very clean & the decor was lovely which definitely made up for the size. Tea & coffee facilities are in your room which is great. Would recommend without a doubt

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be in such a great location, being located just 15 minutes from Princes Street we find it is perfect for those wanting to be a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of the city centre and this allows us to provide such competitive rates to our customers.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome yourself and your friends back in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    191
    44
    16
    6
See reviews for
66
234
25
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Brooks Hotel , Grove St is about 10 min walk from Grassmarket, and is an absolute gem of a find.
The staff, are sincere in welcoming you. The food for breakfast must be cooked with the passion of
a Michelin Star Chef, I just wished I was hungry again if only to dive in to the abundance of choice
on the menu. The staff must have been hand picked for their friendliness and competence.
It's understated exterior conceals a premises stuffed with comforts, fine furnishings, great decor,
and an atmosphere of coziness. It is easy to see an awful lot of money has been spent on making this hotel as plush as it is. Spend your Edinburgh weekend here, nothing else required.

Room Tip: Just turn up. The hotel is on a small street, with little traffic. Quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hello
Thank you for your very kind words, it is very true we do focus hugely on the service we provide and our team are recruited based upon their skills in customer service. I believe that genuinely friendly service is very important and am delighted to hear that this was portrayed so well to you.
I do hope that we will see you again soon and you will enjoy many more stays at Brooks Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Unfortunately we didn't start well as there was a mix up with rooms and staff communication, which then messed up payment at the end. The man in question was dismissed and so this will probably not affect your stay as it did ours!

Now the bad is out of the way, let's get to the good! The decor is cool, bedrooms are nice, the lounge is great for socialising. AMAZING breakfast - give the kitchen boys a pay rise! The best we've had away from home!

All in all would recommend for short stays and getaways - it's fairly central but if you're not prepared to walk 15 minutes or so into the centre then this probably isn't for you. Everyone else - don't miss a bargain, you won't get better for your money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We do strive to exceed our customers expectations and provide an efficient and friendly service at all times, it is a shame that you experienced a few issues with your reservation initially, I do apologise for this. However I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfasts with us so much, the team were delighted with your comments.
I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

i made a last minute booking direct to the hotel for myself and my partner, calling the day before i required a room. as it was a last minute booking we were upgraded to a king room instead of the double requested. we were also given a discounted breakfast - without asking.

reception were extremley friendly and quick to deal with our reservation on arrival and within minutes we were within our room - which was clean and suited our needs.

breakfast was excellent great variety of produce and fried foods, again served by friendly staff.

all in all a pleasant stay in a well run establishment

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The warmth and hospitality of our welcome and stay over the weekend, totally made up for the cold weather conditions.The hotel was spotless and homely in its Boutique fashion. A renovated building, finished to an extremely high standard.(there may have been a tiny creak in a board in our room).
The staff were the best I have met on my travels and simply couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast and high tea were cooked with care and to perfection.
Usually when I return from my travels, i intend to write a review, but life gets in the way. However this exceptional hotel couldn't go uncharted.Thanks everyone from myself and daughter.

Room Tip: would think all good
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I have passed your kind comments onto all of our staff. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Brooks hotel with 5 friends during a weekend break for one night. From beginning to end our stay at the hotel was a pleasure. Both staff on the front desk during our time were pleasant and more than accommodated all of our needs. We had prompt service, a welcoming reception and an overall willingness to help. We were given great tips for places to eat and drink etc. The hotel is very clean, with a lovely decor which made us feel very at home. Rooms are a good size. The honesty bar and lounge are really comfortable. I'm recommending Brooks to anyone I meet and will definitely stay again in the future. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and found our bar and restaurant recommendations helpful. We always strive to provide the best possible friendly service and it is lovely to hear that we are achieving this goal. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your friends back to Brooks again in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed here for two nights and can't fault the hotel at all. Great location, great staff, comfortable rooms (had a king double room), great breakfast, everything you are after really. The decor inside the hotel gives it a bit of a different feel to your common brand hotels where everything seems to have a standard generic feel to it.

Will definitely stay again if needing an overnight (or two) in Edinburgh and would highly recommend to anyone else traveling to the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and am delighted that you will be recommending us to your friends and family! Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.