We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Brooks Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed here for two nights and can't fault the hotel at all. Great location, great staff, comfortable rooms (had a king double room), great breakfast, everything you are after really. The decor inside the hotel gives it a bit of a different feel to your common brand hotels where everything seems to have a standard generic feel to it.

Will definitely stay again if needing an overnight (or two) in Edinburgh and would highly recommend to anyone else traveling to the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and am delighted that you will be recommending us to your friends and family! Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    162
    33
    14
    5
See reviews for
63
186
22
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are just back from a weekend break in Edinburgh at Brooks Hotel and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in the city's west end. Hotel is spotlessly clean with helpful staff. Breakfast was superb and great value. We will certainly stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff all to be so friendly. A genuinely friendly service is what we strive to provide to all of our guests and I am pleased to hear that this is being portrayed.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Brooks Edinburgh, Bath or Bristol in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed two nights at the hotel - lovely place, nice lounge and a great clean & spacious room. Staff were extremely friendly (greeted with a complementary bottle of wine!), location was ideal - a 20 minute walk into town, with a several restaurants and pubs within 5 mins walking distance. Breakfast was very nice also. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here for one night after the Scotland v England six nations match .
We had two rooms both were very clean and comfortable .
Staff very friendly and helpfull,breackfast was excellent.
Price was good value compared to some others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello
Thank you for your lovely review and kind words. I am glad that you all had an enjoyable stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I spent a weekend in Edinburgh in early December 2013 - first time visiting the city.
I stayed in Brooks Hotel and it was an excellent experience
Staff were very friendly and accommodating, the rooms were cosy and the breakfast was really fantastic
Nice relaxed atmosphere, good location and a lovely boutique feel
Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your first trip to Edinburgh. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Brooks and our beautiful city again.

Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I have just returned after a four night stay at The Brooks Hotel Edinburgh. Everything was perfect. I spent a lot of time researching Hotels and shortlisted about 10 before deciding on the Brooks. We booked a King twin including breakfast. The room was spacious with comfortable beds, modern well equipped bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities and homemade biscuits. The breakfasts were amazing. There was always a choice of daily 'specials' in addition to the full breakfast menu All prepared to order in full view of the guests. I sampled the home made beans on toast with sausage as well as the full Scottish,
both were absolutely delicious. My wife loved the eggs florentine which she said was equally delicious. There was also a large choice of fresh fruit juices as well as home made granola , yoghurt and fruit compote as well as home made muffins.
There is an honesty bar which we used each night. It was nice to share a bottle of wine in the comfortable lounge by the fire before going out for the evening as well as having a nightcap on our return.
It was about a 15 minute walk to the Grassmarket from the Hotel and another 5 minutes to the start of the Royal mile. If you didn't fancy the walk there is a bus stop within 150 yards. All fares were £1.50 for a single.
We caught the Airlink 100 bus from the Airport to the Hotel (Stand 19 outside the airport) The fare was £4 for a single. It takes about 25 minutes. You have to get off at the Haymarket and it's about a 10 minute walk to the Hotel. We caught the number 35 bus back to the Airport it took a bit longer, about 50 minutes but the bus stop is 150 yards from the Hotel and the fare is £1.50 for a single. If you are in no hurry I would recommend catching the number 35 bus from the airport to the Brooks as again, it stops within 150 yards of the Hotel.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay which was enhanced by the friendly and efficient staff. A special thank you to David the Assistant Manager who made our stay in the Brooks Hotel so enjoyable. His quiet professionalism and sense of humour was much appreciated.
I highly recommend this Hotel and will definitely stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and have passed your kind comments on to the entire team. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed here for a short weekend break in January. Had a truly wonderful stay the hotel was outstanding. Everything from umbrellas, an honesty bar, very helpful staff, feather duvets, a beautiful lounge area to relax in and a very good breakfast with lots of choice topped it all off. I can honesty say it was a pleasure to stay and would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello and thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and enjoyed all of our facilities. I must admit our lounge is one of my favourite rooms - a spot in front of the fire is the perfect place to warm up in January after a walk around the city! I do hope that we will see you again soon in Edinburgh, or perhaps in one of our sister venues (Bath or Bristol).
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.