We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Brooks Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
familythattravels30
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Great Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Brooks Hotel formerly known as Herald House was a wonderful stay for my family and I. The hotel was very clean and had lots of charm. Each room was nicely decorated with modern features a top old world charm. We had three rooms for our party of 8, one of which was a family suite. We all were very pleased with our rooms. The hotel also has a wonderful gathering space and outdoor terrace all beautifully decorated. The hotel has a very nice dining room which offered a nice breakfast. We opted for breakfast at the hotel one morning since our cafe next door was not open. Breakfast was a bit pricey but they served large portions and it was delicious. The hotel staff were all very nice and welcoming. They made sure we were comfortable and happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, all of our staff really appreciate feedback and are delighted to hear that you found them helpful and attentive. With regards to breakfast as you mention we do serve good sized portions and after a large amount of research find that the price of £8.50 per person is very competitive within Edinburgh. I am glad that you felt the portion sizes did make you feel it was worth the spend.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    168
    34
    15
    6
See reviews for
64
200
22
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our stay at Brooks Hotel made a lovely end to our time in Scotland and in Edinburgh in particular. After a bit of disappointment about our assigned room (due to our family needs, not anything about the room itself other than the size), the staff took the time to find a more suitable room (although originally none were thought to be available). All the staff members throughout our staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms very comfortable and relaxing, and the decor throughout very appealing. Although it feels a bit off the beaten path relative to the main tourist area, it is easy to get to the centre and other interesting areas of the city. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always aim to create a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and it was lovely to read that you found our staff so helpful. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind regard

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days on first visit to Edinburgh. The hotel is a lovely little haven. Our room was compact and was on small side, no good if staying longer I would think however, beds and cleanliness top class. The breakfast choice is really good and staff very efficient. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for posting a lovely review. It is always great to receive feedback from our customer and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again at Brooks in the future.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was the first time i had ever been to edinburgh so my first view of any hotels in edinburgh. the hotel was only a 10minute walk away from princess street so brilliant location. it is also near lots of shops, resturants and cafes so not too far a walk if you want to get something to eat out of the main areas. The room at the hotel was excellent. Very clean and furnished well. we only had breakfast here one morning which i enjoyed. although there could have been more of a selection of bread and fruit perphaps.
Overll if i were ever to return to edinburgh i would deffinetly stay here again :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Brooks Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh and your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My mother and I (She's 61, I'm 26) were looking for a hotel in Edinburgh and this came up on a website.. it looked in a good location from Edinburgh Haymarket Train station so I booked it..and SO glad I did. This is a gem. The rooms & lounge have free WiFi, completely modern and comfortable. The single room is quite small for 2 people, the double was great. I will definitely book this hotel again when going back to Edinburgh. This could be a great one for couples too!
The staff were great & very helpful with anything you wanted to do in the area too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent a night here in late July and were very pleased with our room and overall stay (lovely comfy beds). Breakfast was fantastic, not come across such a wide range on offer in a long time.

A couple of areas that could have been better were:

1) the lack of aircon or a fan in the room on a very hot night but I don't suppose they get many of those!

2) no holder for the loo roll

3) could provide better tea/coffee range i.e. cafetiere, fruit tea and biccies

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor at the rear and did not notice any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for you review. We always strive to exceed our guests expectations and so it is always great to receive feedback from you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken your points on board, as you rightly point out air-con is very rarely required in Scotland, however fans are something we certainly consider for next summer.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The room was stylish, modern & well-appointed, but the view was of an ashlar-ed pillar, beyond which was a building site. We were also disappointed to find that the hotel had no parking - we could find no mention of this on their website. On arrival, we were told that there was an NCP car park (patch of waste ground) half a mile away, where we could buy parking, The option of paying at the hotel or at the car-park was given. Having opted to pay at the car park, no mention was made that paying there would involve twenty-five pounds of change in one's pocket. Using Ringo was an alternative but involved four calls due to a poor signal - it is better and no more expensive (£12 a day) to pay via the hotel.

The breakfast was excellent but cost an additional £8.50 per person - check when you book whether you have the 'room only' option or one where breakfast is included.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Brooks Hotel. We always welcome all feedback as this allows us to improve upon our service. I am very sorry that you were disappointed by the parking situation. Like many city centre hotels we are not fortunate enough to have our own car park hence no mention of parking on our website. We do however provide discounted parking at the nearest available car park in order to make parking as easy as possible for our guests. I am sorry if the discount was not explained to you clearly and I have passed your feedback on to our team to ensure that this is better explained in future.
With regards to breakfast, we feel that £8.50 is a very reasonable charge for our breakfasts and feedback has in the past always been incredibly positive. We often have offers on our own website with regards to Bed and Breakfast rates and highly recommend making your reservation directly with the hotel to receive these discounts.
Once again thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.