We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere,professional service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Brooks Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere,professional service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights, room was at front so noisy from traffic due to open windows to cope with hot weather. Room itself very comfortable, staff pleasant, nice lounge and sun terrace. Beds and bedding excellent quality, quaint style rooms. Had a lot of character, easy walk to princes street. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    172
    37
    15
    6
See reviews for
64
212
22
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and adult son and I recently stayed at the Brooks Hotel and loved it. It is on a quiet street tucked out of the way from the hustle and bustle of the touristy areas which are easily accessible by busses that run frequently from nearby. Our mattresses and feather pillows were extremely comfortable with plush linens in rooms with nice decor and good bathrooms. But best of all were the gourmet breakfasts - the best of all the many hotels we stayed in on our month-long trip. We booked in advance so breakfast was included which made the whole stay great value. Bravo to the chef at the Brooks Hotel! They had home made plum compote and yogurt and fruit parfaits with home made granola, great coffee, and a menu of special hot cooked delights - well beyond the average British fare. The place is not fancy but feels like a boutique hotel in that everything was of the best quality and comfort. The staff were very friendly (although our son's room was missing a telephone and even though we mentioned it the first day it never materialized). We will definitely stay there again when next we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I booked this hotel for me and my daughter after reading the good reviews on tripadvisor and can honestly say that the hotel was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the twin room was spacious, breakfast choice and quality was superb- something for everyone and homemade. We also needed hyperallergenic pillows and duvets which were sorted straight away, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Once we got our bearings the city centre was only a 10 minute walk away and following a recommendation from Paul, who works in the hotel, we also ate at a lovely Vietnamese restaurant 2 mins walk from the hotel. Edinburgh is a fantastic city and what made it even better was the accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you can stay at a Brooks Guest house, not matter what city, do it!

We had stayed in their hotel in Bath and the Edinburgh hotel just opened this year. We knew we couldn't go wrong here.

The staff is super helpful and friendly. Their breakfasts (which are included) are the best we have ever had anywhere in the UK and Europe and the rooms at the Edinburgh hotel were nicely appointed.

We had a family room with four of us and we were very comfortable. Everything was new and nice.

Keep in mind, the bathrooms are small and the hallways narrow where the guest rooms are.

The hotel is next door to an awesome tea room - Delices de Mademoiselle - which is a great find and the guest house is within walking distance to the City Center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June 2013. Though its a small budget old style hotel, it was clean and well done up. The staff were courteous and good. As it was new room, the intercom was not working on the first day. Its a walkable distance from major attractions in Edinburgh. Its too has nice lounge area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They accommodated my need for non-feather pillows and duvet, sorted any problems which arose without hesitation and were very helpful in suggesting places to eat, how to reach parts of the city I wished to explore etc. Each day when I came back to the hotel, I was greeted with smiles and queries about how my day had gone.
The hotel is located within easy walking distance from the Haymarket train station which is one of the stops on the airport bus route. It's situated near the city centre without having the noise associated with being in the hub of Edinburgh.
The breakfasts were delicious with cooked options and a "specials" board. One reviewer has complained that there were no croissants. Since this isn't France, why should a guest expect these? Instead, the hotel has fresh homemade muffins, homemade granola and fruit compote as well as cereals, toast etc.
I stayed in a compact double. I would only recommend these for a single person as there isn't enough space for two - unless you are very close or want to risk falling out during your stay! The shower was in a cubicle - much nicer than one over a bath with a manky shower curtain.
There's a lovely lounge with an honesty bar. The prices of this are very reasonable eg: can of coke = £1. Having a comfortable lounge means that you don't have to stay in your room all the time. The staff light candles here as the evening draws in.
I would recommend the little Vietnamese restaurant at the end of Grove Street - just a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I had never heard of this hotel when I booked it but I must say that it is a hidden gem and I'll stay there again. It is only a short walk from Haymarket train station on a quiet street. The hotel has been wonderfully converted from an old tenement building and it has retained some wonderful features like the stair tiles.
Staff were very pleasant and friendly and we could leave our bags and go exploring before check in time and after we had checked out. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from Princess Street and the Grassmarket with bus stops near by as well if you don't want to walk. The hotel is also very near the canal which has been rejuvenated and has bars and restaurants.

The room were very nice. The only thing I would say is that ours was quite dark as only one of the windows let in light, the other looked at a brick wall. Shower as great too and there was a lot of room to hang up clothes etc.

Will definitely try to book this hotel again when I go back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.