We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Edinburgh City Centre Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James to your Saves list
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Leith Street, Edinburgh EH1 3SW, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
East Kilbride
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Edinburgh City Centre Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night on Saturday 21st Dec. Even though access to the room was meant to be after 1400hrs, we arrived early and it was no problem getting in.
We had parked in the NCP car park which is joined to the hotel and the King James shopping centre. There is access directly from the shopping centre into the hotel. Usually the parking costs £15 per 24 hours, but the hotel can discount your stay by validating your token and all you pay is £6 for 24 hours.
We found the reception very welcoming and helpful. The room was large and faced on to the rear of the hotel, which although it never gave much of a view, at least there was no noise from Leith Street.
The room was clean and very well appointed with coffee/tea making facilities, TV, iron, trouser press and a hairdryer in the bathroom.
Drink isn't the cheapest with a pint of beer and a vodka/diet coke costing £9.30 in the bar. We found that to be in the region of 2-3 pound dearer than in local pubs that we went to.
We had food in the bar which was very nice. What I would say is that there is a price difference between the daytime menu and the evening menu, with some items costing between 2 and 4 pound more on the evening menu. The staff in the bar were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was a buffet style with 'continental' options as well as the usual 'Scottish' option. There was plenty of it and what we had was of good quality. Again the staff couldn't do enough for you and were very attentive.
The location is fantastic being at the end of Princes Street and within easy walking distance of all the usual city centre attractions.
We would certainly go back especially with the good rates we managed to get.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    424
    271
    76
    38
See reviews for
116
487
54
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights through hotel connexions. Brilliant hotel. Location excellent, across from playhouse (we went to see lion king). On arrival the receptionist was very welcoming and attentive, the room was lovely, clean and well stocked with toiletries and tea and coffee which were replenished each morning. The meals were superb, great food, well presented and large portions (too much actually). The breakfast was absolutely delicious, the choice was second to none!!. Lastly but certainly not least.....the staff are a credit to the hotel. The waitresses, chef
and the restaurant manager are very friendly (without being intrusive), service excellent. The chambermaid was also very pleasant and obviously took a pride in her work. There is nothing negative to say about this hotel and we are looking forward to more trips in the future to edinburgh and would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: Request room not facing leith road as very busy, however good for people watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on business. Warm and efficient welcome at reception. My room was clean and well furnished with a good sized bed. TV, kettle etc all in place. In house menu was a bit uninspiring so I ate out. The location of the hotel is superb for the city centre so plenty of dining and entertainment options. Overall very good and I would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel, deluxe room was very comfortable, included two armchairs and a desk chair. Bathroom small but had everything we required. Room overlooks Leith Road, so it can be a bit noisy with traffic. Breakfast was really good. Very fresh buffet. Staff are attentive and pleasant. We will be back.

Room Tip: I enjoyed watching the ever changing scene over Leith Road, but be aware it can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel.
Reception staff on arrival were very polite and helpful but did not advise on any of the facilities or timings as you would expect.
Although we arrived early,13:55, we could not register until after 14:00. The room, which was on the 6th floor, was clean but quite small and had all the extras you would expect to find, kettle, TV, etc.
Unfortunately the dining room was let down by the majority of the staff not having any sense of urgency and wandering around like "Headless Chickens". There was long gaps between finishing a course and the table being cleared prior to the next course which once again seemed like an eternity prior to its arrival.
Breakfast was a Continental / Full Scottish which was self service. The menu showed Salmon and Kippers but when the Chef was asked for Salmon he went into the kitchen and returned to advise that it was not available.
The good point relating to the hotel was the location, which was ideal for the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just returned after having an amazing time at the King James on one of their xmas party nights with overnight stay. The hotel is in the best location ever being a short walk from princes street or has direct access to St James Centre.

We were lucky to be given room 437 which faced onto the street right above the xmas tree. I am a light sleeper but did not hear any street noise whatsoever and the windows has excellent blackout curtains blocking all light from outside.

The cleanliness of the room was excellent and the room had everything you could ask for. The staff from the moment of check-in, to the staff at breakfast was very good & nothing was too much bother.

I will certainly be returning to this hotel, hopefully soon, and would have no hesitation on recommending to friends!

Keep up the good work King James, your doing an excellent job!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Antrim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is our 2nd visit. Excellent location, close to shopping/restaurants & an inside entrance to the adjacent St James shopping centre/ John Lewis etc-so for shopping you don't even need to go outside if its cold & wifey was pleased.
Friendly staff. Excellent room at back of hotel was large, clean and quiet. We even had 2 TV's.
Bunk bed for our 2 yr old son. Free wifi actually worked and was easily accessible.
Good atmosphere both in hotel & in city.

Breakfast is awesome - excellent choice/high quality food. The supervisor lady was very welcoming to us (especially to our "gorgeous" son). She made our stay even better.

Car parking is cheaper if you pre-book. We used a Stenaline hotel deal.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel & hopefully will be back for another stay soon.

Room Tip: Back of hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James

Address: 107 Leith Street, Edinburgh EH1 3SW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King James is located just off Edinburgh’s world-famous Princes Street, and a short walk from the Royal Mile. Whether you’re here for work or pleasure, the Fringe or to see in the New Year, you’re guaranteed a warm Scottish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King James, Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
King James By Thistle Edinburgh
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.