We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a good central position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cairn Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 18 Windsor St, Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland (Leith)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
St Albans, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a good central position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived around 9ish at Waverley station and jumped in a taxi, about a minute later we were out of the taxi at the hotel, it is THAT close to the centre of Edinburgh.
The following morning we walked back to the station as we were heading out to Currie (a vilage about 6 miles from the centre) where we then walked back into Edinbugh along the 'water of Leith' river walk. Which was beautiful BTW.
As far as the hotel goes, really nice terrace building, hotel is quite old but reasonalbly well maintained, the staff were really helpful......no complaints at all and with its good location i would recommed it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    202
    119
    51
    53
See reviews for
56
163
91
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

After Spending 2 nights in this Gem of a Hotel i had no Complaints. We stayed in Room 108 which was in the Basement, although in the Basement we had Patio doors with Plenty of Light coming in. The Room was very spacious and Clean with a Cracking Bathroom which had a Bath and Shower. Ive stayed in 5 star Hotels and would put this up there with 1 of the best Places ive stayed, it is not Perfect but you get what you pay for, the Furniture is a bit Dated and the room could do with a Paint but all your after is a place to sleep and wash in Edinburgh your not wanting to spend all your Time in the Hotel. I recomend visiting the stand Comedy Club which is a 5 minute walk from the Hotel, you will be In Stiches! Shops and Attractions are all in walking Distance From the Hotel. Rooms all come with Tea and Coffee making Facilities and The Toilet is Equiped with Shampoo's and Shower Gels Etc, rooms also have Flat screens with Free View. On my Next Trip to Edinburgh i will be Back to the Cairn Hotel to stay.

P.S.

Forgot to Mention how good the staff were, couldnt do enough for you. 1 Jolly old man that worked late at nite at the Reception and behind the Bar was Brilliant with us, sorry i didnt catch his Name but Thanks any ways to the Staff at Cairn Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Notts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I went here in party of twelve ladies for a Christmas shopping weekend.
We found the hotel very central to shops ,restaurants and pubs. It is a basic hotel with nice bathroom with complimentry toiletries , tv and comfortable beds. The main thing Im always concerned about is cleanliness, but no worries here, it is spotless although very tired and in need of some TLC.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as there is a Lloyds pub just around corner and we started our day there. We did however use the bar before we went out at night and for night caps, we thought the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed it that much that we will be going back next December for more of the same.
If you want somewhere just to lay your head and a shower after a full day shopping/sightseeing and you don't want to spend a lot then try here.
.

Room Tip: No lift so if you struggle with stairs ask for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Not fancy, but good location and totally adequate for our needs. We had a family room with double bed for parents and twins for our 2 teenagers, and it was reasonably spacious (by European standards) with high ceilings and good wi fi. Easy walk from Waverly train station, not too far to the Royal Mile, bus service steps from the door, and several good restaurants nearby (try Mama Roma's for good Italian food). Staff were cheerful and helpful (providing our teens with extra cocoa mix and biscuits, for example), there was loads of hot water in a very clean bathroom (nice deep tub was a bonus), and breakfast (not included in our rate, but reasonable at GBP 6 per person) was adequate and convenient, serving until 10 am. The Cairn has an old fashioned feel, and it definitely does not feel like a chain hotel. We would return, and are happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel was in a great location in easy walking distance to the town centre and restaurants and pubs. Great italian restaurant (Jolly) just around the corner (try the ravioli). Simple furnishings but friendly staff and reasonable breakfast options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

A tired hotel hence the price but perfect if you don't want anything fancy. A couple of minor problems though, couldn't lock the room door from inside or outside, the bolt was stuck and the toilet wouldn't flush properly..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cley Next the Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

For a short citybreak this hotel is excellent. Its position at the top of London Road, with bus stops very close by, is super. However it is only a short and interesting walk to the city centre with its many attractions and myriad of places to eat.
The room was clean, warm and comfortable with plenty of choice on the beverage tray although 4 cartonettes of milk weren't enough even though the tray was replenished daily. The bed was very comfortable and despite some street noise I slept well. We had a shower room which was clean & well stocked with toiletries. The shower took a while to warm up but it was one of the best I've used, really powerful & with an adjustable temperature so you can have a hot shower at the end of a days sightseeing. Ther is no hair dryer so make sure you take one! Unfortunately the doors of the shower cubicle had been replaced by a shower curtain which looked cheap and didnt keep all the water inside the cubicle.
It wasn't only the shower curtain which let this room down though. The furniture, comprising a wardrobe, stool, armchair, side table and two small cabinets looked like leftovers from a charity shop - the armchair was so worn I don't think any charity shop would accept it! There were no bedside cabinets or shelves because the bed was pushed into a corner against the shower room wall, which made it awkward for putting things like a glass of water, watch, fone etc. I found that the lighting left a lot to be desired too with one light by the door and one on the wall to the right of the bed (with a coffee stained shade) but the only switch was by the door. There was a large sash window which had no lock, although there was a drop to the basement beneath it, the net curtain covering it was very dirty, it was only single glazed so there was traffic noise and it was draughty too, thank goodness for decent curtains which would have kept out all the cold air if they had touched the floor!
It wouldnt take much to correct these flaws. New matching furniture, rearranged if possible although the narrowness of the room does not give much scope, would be good and adding a couple of table lamps next to the bed would help too and I would be inclined to put the TV on a wall bracket.
We only met the recepion stafff, who were friendly and efficient. I cannot comment on the restaurant because it was unexplainedly closed and breakfast cost extra so we self catered.

Despite the above niggles I liked the hotel and would stay there again for a short break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 10 - 18 Windsor St, Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cairn Hotel Edinburgh 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel in a building dating from 1910, situated in the city center, near Edinburgh Castle & Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cairn Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.