We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - if you book with Hilton in stay in main Hilton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor to your Saves list
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #118 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Good hotel - if you book with Hilton in stay in main Hilton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

This was my second time staying at this hotel. I first stayed September 2009 and was in small room in main hotel which was fine. This time I stayed in a deluxe room which was £15 more and much much bigger. I stayed over the Halloween weelend on the second floor & had a wonderful stay.

The Lobby/bar area & checkin area is modern & well presented. I flew up from London & Airlink bus stops by Haymarket station which is 1 minute from hotel. Excellent location. Lothian buses day ticket @ £3 will get you from hotel to everywhere you want to go (or you can walk) As I was in deluxe room this time it was much larger & overlooked the street, big bed & tea/coffee making facilites - fridge/ mini bar seems to have been taken away. Plenty of heating in room so never cold. Bathroom was large clean & modern with usual Hilton toiletries.

Rate included breakfast which was fab, efficient Russian lady manning the breakfast room desk so service was very good. Great choice of hot cooked breakfast items, cereals, breads cheeses etc even Haggis & good hot porridge with bottle of Old Grouse whisky so you can warm the porridge even more !!!

Would stay again - had no complaints about hotel stay. I have never ventured over to the Club Annexe so cannot comment on it but main hotel is good. There is a SKY magazine promo code of P19SFO which you can use for stays up to the end of this year which give a 40% discount if you book on the hilton.com/co.uk website and inc breakfast in the rate.

Do try at eat at The Dogs restaurant on Hanover Street & save room after your tour of Holyrood Palace for some fab cakes at the palace cafe, all £3.25 very good, almost home baked.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    512
    407
    217
    127
See reviews for
136
574
131
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Booked the Grosvenor Hilton early June for October thinking we had an absolute bargain for £59. Little did we know that we would be sent across the road to the Grosvenor Club which I am surprised the Hilton have put their name to (although not on the outside!!!). The hotel from the outside looked derelict with paint flaking off the signage, and it got no better inside. The rooms were beyond out of date and to find out it was due a refurbishment, which was starting the day after we left, was no surprise! The small print on the website must have been minute and I feel we were totally miss sold our hotel room. SHAME ON YOU Hilton, suffice to say I would NEVER stay at a Hilton again and would advice family and friends to think twice or get a magnifying glass to check the small print!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spean Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

we have stayed in several Hilton hotels and have usually been very satisfied with the standard of accommodation. We booked a city break in the Grosvenor Edinburgh and were given a room in the Club Wing. This is across the road from the main hotel in an old building. First impression not good with tiny lift and creaking floorboards in the corridors. the room was tiny, with a double bed taking up 90% of the space. Bedside light and table on only one side of the bed as no room for 2. the decor was clearly old, with marks on the paper, holes in the paper and actual holes in the wall. On the 3rd floor, the window was small and set high up in the wall, so no view except of sky. The floorboards creaked and moved at every step and the radiator, despite hissing loudly only heated up in the lower half. the bathroom was worse, with a tiny basin, loose taps, a faulty toilet flush and crumbling dirty paintwork. No bath but a shower of sorts. the water temperature and flow were variable, plus a shower curtain on a straight rail which cut right across the base, so every time you moved a cold clammy shower curtain draped itself across you. not pleasant. Have to say breakfast was OK and staff were friendly and helpful. Would never stay there again. Standard more like a one star guest house.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We stayed for one night (19th Oct) and were disappointed with a number of aspects of this hotel.

On the plus side, the location was very convenient and check-in was efficient and friendly. The lobby area very nicely presented and the small bar served good food in an acceptable time frame. We had a superior double room that was of a good size and standard of cleanliness.

On the minus side, the hotel has no parking facilities but there is meter parking on the street immediately outside the hotel, as well as a taxi rank for those without their own transport.

But the major issue we encountered was the noise - from inside. Every step taken in the corridor outside our room just reverberated through the room, amplified no doubt by the huge gap between the bottom of the door and the carpet, which not only allowed in the noise but also the light from the corridor. The movement of guests along the corridor throughtout the night was a constant source of irritation and intrusion that left a very sour taste when faced with a bill at checkout for £244 for B&B.

We shall check out the competition next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Had a single room and my word it was a true description. no mention of size of room when booked - couldnt quite swing a cat in the room, bed was a small single, bath would only fit people of 4ft and under. Not good when I am a fully fledged adult at over 6ft.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hotel is central and easy walking distance to city attractions. Not on the scale of other Hilton Hotels, so you may be disappointed here. It is clean and comfortable, no spa, but staff always very polite and friendly. The floorboards in our room were exceptionally creaky, hope no-one was in the room underneath!! There was very little light in the bathroom making shaving near impossible for my husband. On the day we checked out another couple had been given the key and tried to enter the room we were in, could have been very embarrassing!! We definitely would not stay here again, lots of lovely and very reasonable hotels in Edinburgh, but this is not one of them.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Fond memories from previous stays 7-8 years ago so shocked to see same wall paper in my small dingy room complete with tatty furniture in the "Club Wing". Bath panel was atrocious. I would suggest asking where your room is located at time of booking as the main hotel must be better...surely.
Bottle of water £3.95. Wired internet £15 per 24hrs. No air con.

Good points- room carpet relatively new, friendly staff, manned recepion in club wing so quick check out. Kettle with complimentary tea and dreaded powder coffee. Room had highish ceiling, solid walls blanked out any noise from lift/elevator close by. Ok sized flat screen TV. The room faced rear, very quite, so wobbly window stayed open all night and I slept very well...bed and linen was fine.

4 minute walk to Haymarket railway station and airport bus. Hotel is located on airport side (west) of city.
5 minute walk to William Street which has a few decent 'local's bars + restaurants. 10-15 min walk to Rose Street if you wish more variety and the same for old town.
I will return once the rooms are spruced up.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.