We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quiet location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth to your Saves list
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-20 Learmonth Terrace, Edinburgh EH4 1PW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Excellent quiet location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is a short approximately one and a half miles from the city centre. The hotel is on a bus route and Lothian buses sell a £3.50 ticket which allows unlimited journeys for a day. This also includes trams but only to the stop before the airport.
We stayed in room two which is quite large but with limited furniture. Apart from the double bed there was one chair and a small desk. The bathroom was accessed via a staircase.
The room was clean, the breakfast was excellent and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely use the hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights for the one direction concert. Wasn't sure how nice it would be as the travelodge at Glasgow airport wasn't great, but I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is located on a lovely residential street, in a very quiet area. We stayed in room 305, the view from our room was gorgeous. We had breakfast and an evening meal, breakfast is a buffet with the usual bacon, egg, sausage etc, as well as toast, muffins, fruit and also Nutella which pleased my daughter. Evening meals are burgers, chicken fillets etc. the staff were really friendly. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel with buses to princes street every few minutes. The room had a small ensuite with toilet, sink and shower, there was a TV in the room with free view, and a dressing table. The hotel provided a hairdryer when I requested one, and they have a basket at reception with little bottles of shower gel, tea bags, milk and coffee sachets. I will definitely return to this hotel when we go back to edinburgh.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for business, really pleasant location near Fettes College and easy walking distance from Princess Street. Food in cafe bar of good quality and reasonable prices. Room was usual Travelodge fare, king size bed, en suite and a flat screen tv with good selection of channels, all you need really. Room was clean, bed comfortable and staff friendly. I like Travelodge, you know what to expect and the standard is consistently good. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Approx 1.5 mile walk from the city centre, but a lovely walk. it's in a lovely location, very picturesque and peaceful. HIghly recommended and excellent value for money.
Although the room was very warm and stuffy, the reception staff provided us with 2 fans to help ease the stuffiness.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is recently refurbished, so has a nice new, clean look. However, room was only part furnished - half the room was completely empty ! It did contain everything I needed though.

Room could have done with being checked over before being let out, issues with shower tray and power sockets, which was mentioned to the staff (so hopefully should get rectified).

Hotel is about 1 mile from the city centre, but easily accessible, by foot, taxi or bus. Hotel is close to Inverleith Park (the start of the Moonwalk - which was why it was chosen). For a budget hotel offered good services and also has a nice café/ bar in the basement.

If you are booking online buy breakfast at the time of booking, as it is £2 cheaper to do this, and as with any Travelodge, don't forget toiletries !

If I was doing Edinburgh Moonwalk again, I would stay in this hotel. I was also given a lovely quiet room (no view though), at the back of the hotel on the ground floor.

The other nice thing is hotel is on a residential street, and the property has been very sympathetically converted into a hotel. However this does mean no huge visible signs outside the property, just plain window etching and door signs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms were great at a reasonable price, breakfast was good and staff were friendly. However, the hotel was difficult to find walking from Princes St after dinner. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Seriously, how can this place have so many positive reviews? Well yes, if you get a room for 29 pound it is a bargain and the rooms are large, that's about all the good things I can say about this dump. Our lower basement room at the very end of the hotel had a really weird layout and no shelves, 2nd chair or else to put your personal belongings like in other travelodges. The bathroom was quite dirty, especially the windows haven't been cleaned in this century. The door is a joke, a gap of 2 inches on every side made us feel like sleeping right on the corridor with noises coming from every single corner. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth

Address: 18-20 Learmonth Terrace, Edinburgh EH4 1PW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth Hotel Edinburgh
Learmonth Hotel Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.