We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and modern hotel in a fantastic location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Save Saved
You added Edinburgh Capital Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and modern hotel in a fantastic location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Whenever I go to Edinburgh, I will be going back to this hotel.

This hotel has a very friendly staff: we were very nicely attended on everything we asked for.

Practical and convenient hotel: my room was spacious and adequately decorated. The room was also very quiet, and enable a good quality sleep. There was an office table and coffee maker that we enjoyed. The bathroom was correct but was missing some features like hair dryer and the soap wasn't very good; But this is not a key point for me. Just to know it, in case it's important for others.

We used the swimming pool and the spa facilities and found it in a very good condition.

Parking was easy, free and very convenient.

The location was very convenient for our needs. Actually, it was ideal as we were doing a university tour around this area and this enabled us to access easily all the main roads.

Room Tip: Excellent quality for the price we payed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear MarAle1111,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It does sound like you thoroughly enjoyed all of the services and facilities we offer at our hotel. You amongst so many others have commented upon our staff as being very friendly and helpful, the team will be best pleased to be recognised. I was a little taken aback to learn that your room did not have a hair dryer. All rooms should have a hair dryer in the drawer of the bedroom dresser unit. Please drop me a line by email (manager@edinburghcapitalhotel.co.uk) to confirm your room number so that I may check and put this right.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    269
    88
    27
    18
See reviews for
129
241
30
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

i have stayed here on a few occassions but decided to book astay with the family. When we arrived they had over booked the family rooms so we were given 2 rooms with eda connecting door. This was excellant for us as the kids had their own beds an tv's etc. We had time to go to the pool on arriving , though it was on the cooler side and could have been a bit warmer. We had breakfast there which was adequate. It is no where near edinburgh but it is possible to get the no 26 bus into town which takes around 35 minutes. Dont drive in edinburgh town centre due to the tram works. When the trams start there will be a tram station at Hermiston Gate. We did get put on the 3rd floor but the lift only goes up to the 2nd floor, so we had to shift the bags up a narrow flight of stairs.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quieter and the lift only goes as far as the 2 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear dundeetripper,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

I do note that you have stayed with us on several previous occasions, thank you for your custom. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with your family and that your kids really enjoyed their own space.

The number 26 bus service is an excellent way to get out and about exploring the city. The current and ever changing tram works are a little challenging even for Edinburgh residents, impacting on journey times at certain times of the day. We do feel being equidistant from the airport and city makes us an ideal location for both leisure and business travellers alike.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siggiewi, Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in this hotel. Everything went good. Breakfast was good and tasty, free wifi all over the hotel, fully usable gym, pool, sauna and steam bath and only 10 mins away from city centre with car. A very big free parking as well. If I go again to Edinburgh would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear gln 807,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your five night stay with us. It does sound like you enjoyed and made best use of all the facilities in our hotel. You mention that you would stay at our hotel again, there is no better feedback, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed in his hotel over the Easter break. Our flights were early morning flights, although check in wasn't until 2pm, when we got to the hotel we were told there were a few rooms available and we got to check in early which i thought was very nice of the hotel. The hotel staff were very pleasant especially the guy at the reception desk, Sorry didn't get his name. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast buffet i thought was brilliant because you had a great range of different foods to choose from. The dinner menu was great, again it had a range of different foods to choose from and the food was very nice, so complements to the chef. For travel it was great because there was a bus that ran into the city centre every 15minutes. So overall the hotel was very nice in a very nice location and i would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Kimberly B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are very happy to read that you were able to check in early and enjoyed the comfort and standard of your room. Yes indeed check in is 2pm, however if rooms are available guests are very welcome to get settled in. Our brigade of Chefs will also be best pleased to learn that you found breakfast and dinner very enjoyable. I do note that you would recommend our hotel to others - what more could we ask for!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights (2-5/4/13) with my partner and 4 year old daughter. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all friendly and welcoming.

Room (182) was sufficient in size for the 3 of us and was clean and tidy with all amenities you need on a short break.

Location was spot on for our need as we were doing the tourist thing and visiting friends based in the City centre, handy bus service that passes the front door on a very regular basis. The likes of the Zoo and Murrayfield are within walking distance too (20/30 minutes).

We did not dine in the Restaurant as it was fully booked during our visit but we did eat from the Bar service which was excellent in both taste and value.

I took my time over finding a hotel to stay in for our trip and in my opinion the Edinburgh Capital Hotel was the perfect choice, I have already recommended this Hotel to friends intending to travel to Edinburgh in the near future and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others too.

Excellent work, keep it up and we will definitely be returning for another visit soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Avo 5021,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

The team will be best pleased to have had your recognition. Making all guests feel welcome and cared for is a fundamental, something we do work very hard at.

The Housekeeping team will no doubt be happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort and standard of your room. Our Chefs too will be pleased to read your feedback. I would agree with your comments regarding our location and the excellent number 26 bus service. This is a great way to get out and about exploring the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We (two adults and three young boys) stayed here 4th April after trawling through endless hotel sites online looking for a room big enough to accomodate us all. Was a little unsure of the distance from the city centre but as our preference for one room overtook our desire to be close to town we took a punt. I have to say we were not disappointed. The room, although a little tired, was huge and pleasantly decorated. The boys had bunk beds and a double sofa bed to choose from and were delighted that the bunks were hidden around the corner from us so they felt like they had their own little room complete with tv! Spotless bathroom and very comfy beds. We were right next to the stairs on the second floor which was pretty noisy on occasion but not enough to disturb our sleep after a busy day in Edinburgh. Pool was lovely although communal change facilities not a nice surprise especially as a mother having to take in a young boy - sure we got some disapproving looks. The city centre is a 25 minute bus ride but the stop is right outside the hotel and costs only £1.50 single or £3.50 day ticket which you can use on most buses from Princes Street - great for heading down to the Royal Yacht.
Breakfast was good - not great but the boys enjoyed. Could have been hotter and better replenished but overall didn't spoil the stay. Staff friendly especially in the leisure club (which needs to be better signposted from the lobby!). Overall we would recommend if only for the great room. We'll no doubt be back if we can get a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very happy to read that you appreciated the comfort and cleanliness of your room and your kids enjoyed their own "private" space. We do have an excellent selection of family rooms that can be booked directly with the hotel.

I do note that you would wish to return for another stay, we would be delighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice hotel. Pool and gym. Decent sized rooms and very comfortable.

A couple of minor negatives:
1) its a touch out of the centre, about £14 in a taxi.
2) no air conditioning in our room, and with the heating on it was pretty hot. We turned the thermostat down on the radiator which helped, but as we had a ground floor room we were unable to open the windows.
3) the food in the bar and restaurant was nice, though a little pricey for the portion sizes which were surprisingly small

Other than that I would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Pie5,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are most pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel, the leisure facilities and the comfort of your room. I do take on board your other comments and will be sure to share your feedback with the team. It was also excellent to read that you would recommend our hotel to others - thank you very much indeed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh.Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking.Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edinburgh Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.