We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Save Saved
You added Edinburgh Capital Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We paid 49 pound for a 5 course dinner everything okay except for the main meal. It was a Calvary so we went to the line and waited to get our meat 2 thin slices of roast beef and had to ask for a slice of turkey . Well the gravy was the only thing hot. The vegetables were very hard also . Did not complain on the day as it was extremely busy with people and kids running around. Waiting to here back from the duty manager. There was 20 people in our party and everyone was disappointed .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Angela M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

Naturally I was disappointed to read your feedback, this has not been indicative of the many other positive comments we have received from Christmas day.

Of course and without reservation I do wish to express my personal apologies for any disappointment. It would have been our most sincere wish to have had the opportunity to put right any dissatisfaction on the day.

The duty manager with whom you phoned and spoke with has attempted to call you back on several occasions and has left a message to say she will contact you in person on 2 January.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    269
    86
    27
    18
See reviews for
129
239
30
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights, what a lovely hotel. We were a bit unsure about staying here due to the location from the city center but a huge plus is that the bus stop is across from the hotel and takes you directly to the center of town in 20 minutes. The trip to the city is enjoyable as it's on a double decker bus and runs every 10 minutes at a cost of (1.50). Quite good considering parking downtown is a hefty (2.80 per hour). The hotel is better than we had expected; clean, modern, excellent staff that don't mind going the extra mile to help with little things, good bar downstairs, good gym and pool etc. Can't say enough about this place, excellent value and relaxing stay!!!

Only one negative, the walls were a bit thin so if you're a light sleeper bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Emily S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are most happy to read that you had a great stay with us. It does sound like you thoroughly enjoyed all of the services and facilities we offer at our hotel. Our location does make us a great option for leisure and business travellers with frequent and excellent transport links to and from the city. The team will be best pleased to have been given your recognition, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our sincere pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Best regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Very pleasant for me and the wife during a recent visit to Edinburgh. The hotel room was comfortable, spacious and very clean. Free parking and free Wifi were certainly very convenient. Would definitely stay here if visiting Edinburgh again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Junaid A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We were very happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort and standard of your room as well as the ample free carparking and WiFi. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I'm a best western platinum member and have stayed in numerous best western hotels and on the whole had a pleasant stay. With the exception for one member of staff. The hotel is few miles from city centre and it cost us £12 to get from city to this hotel. However there is a bus service into town cost around £1.40.

We were greated by a lovely receptionist who checked us in. I booked two rooms .. There were 3 of us . They lady advised us that there was an offer on 2 courses for £9.95 and 3 courses for £12.95 from 5-7 pm . As a platinum member you get 10% discount of dining and my card was given on checking so anything that I purchased would have discount applied to it for when I checked in ..

The public areas were tastefully decorated and nice seating area
The rooms we were allocated were 206 and 208, Both were kingsize rooms and tastefully decorated and spotless .. Everything was in working order .. Complimentary wifi -

My husband and I and mother in law went to the bar area and was served by a pleasant gentleman .. We ordered 2 pots of tea and 3 fruit scones with jam and cream. The tea and scones were brought out to us and the scones were delicious . When It came out we had 2 scones each on the plate and it was reasonably priced at £2.

We opted for evening meal at the hotel and my husband and I had 3 courses and my mother in law had 2 courses. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable the staff were helpful and friendly. Compliments to chef for beautiful food .

The breakfast the next morning was really nice and buffet style. The gentleman took our room numbers and asked us to take a seat to prepare our table .

There was a choice of cereals. Fruits juices. Tea. Coffees Toast jams . . Ham. Bacon. Sausages eggs. Haggis. Black pudding
To list a few
The only negative thing I can say about this hotel was the lady I dealt with upon checking out. She was quite rude and her name was Louise . She had my bill wrong and when I queried my 10% discount she advised me that I should have shown my platinum card everytime I went to bar or ordered anything .. . When I said I never had to do this in any other best western hotel and the lady the previous day didnt mention it. She was reluctant to give me the discount. After her be rude and finally giving me the 10% discount she forgot to give me my receipt. I had to ask her for this .. There was no pleasantries and no enjoy your trip or anything I can help with..

This lady either needs to be working behind the scenes or have some customer service training ..

We decided we had a hour to spare so had soft drinks in bar. Again this service was brilliant ..

We decided to go back to to reception to order a taxi and there was another woman on reception. This lady couldn't have been more helpful and ordered us a taxi


Didnt try leisure facilities so unable to comment
On the whole pleasant stay . And would go back here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear timike 30,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

I believe that I have already responded to your feedback earlier yesterday morning via our own customer internet survey and subsequent emails with your husband. I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. Your other comments have already been taken onboard.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for an affordable, clean, decent place to stay when visiting this unique city, this is a good choice. While location is not your best one, you will have public transportation which actually allows you to better know this beautiful city while traveling with locals. The hotel is clean, decent sized rooms and a good restaurant with excellent British breakfast for the same price. If you are not very lucky, front desk staff will be very nice to you at a minimal, but at different hours, they will go the extra mile to make it better for you, either with anything you might need up to arranging for you a good tour. I wouldn't hesitate staying there with my family.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Eddy S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Making all guests feel welcome and cared for is a fundamental, something we work very hard at.

We were also very happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort and standard of your room and the facilities on offer at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nice hotel, clean reception and lovely happy girls on reception a credit to your hotel,
Hotel room nice clean warm
Pool very nice could do with a bit better sign posting.
Bar, hmm to many chairs at the bar, having to stand behind drunk rocking dudes while getting served being splattered in beer not good there was lots of spare chairs about. just move a couple of stools and leave a good gap in the centre problem solved.then we can see what we want to drink properly to .
BREAKFAST at 10 pounds each on a offer way to expensive the G/F had no beans as there was none on the Buffet. I would of asked though the Larger guy supervising seemed to be watching everything people took., the waiters also seemed to be on the watch to grab ya plate as soon as you put your fork down thus is having to get another plate. not that we was getting lots just not everything was in the buffet 1st time so when the fried egg came by we want some.
Check out easy. enjoyed our stay on a sad day

Room Tip: 3rd floor quite with good views (in the distance)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear fussydanny,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It does sound like you thoroughly enjoyed all of the services and facilities we offer at our hotel. I do acknowledge and take on board your other comments and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed one night, and was very impressed. Had Dinner and the food was great, breakfast was also very good, so I would recommend the restaurant. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Nice and neat. Louise at reception was also very helpful. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I stayed in 114 and it was very good. Not sure if the view from the other side could be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear RARust,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Making all guests feel welcomed and cared for is a fundamental, something we work very hard at. I have no doubt that Louise will be best pleased to have been given your personal recognition. Our chefs will also be very happy to read that you enjoyed their cooking at dinner and breakfast.

I was most pleased to read that you would definitely return to stay with us again, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh.Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking.Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edinburgh Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.