We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag but excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Mixed bag but excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as part of a recent business trip. The location is impressive, particularly for access to shops and main tourist attractions. The room I had was compact but was clean. The check- in experience wasn't great and very little was said which felt strange. On the whole I would stay here again due to the location and price which was very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with valued feedback.
We appreciate all guest reviews as it enables us to improve our product and service delivery.

I am pleased to read you will return and I look forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards,
James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    379
    261
    90
    46
See reviews for
132
409
64
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

this hotel has 2 good features the view if u get a castle view and location thts it!!!
ok reception dont seem to be able to handle 2 guests at once checking in and they have a a speedy check in aye rite lol.
now the room you have to be 5ft to have a shower or the guests tht mainly stay here are the dwarfs tht do the christmas panto and then their is the pillows go as flat as a square sausage it ridiclous u dont get a sleep atall

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations.
We appreciate all guest reviews as it enables us to improve our product and service delivery.

I hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night break. The hotel is slightly above average, room sizes good and large bathroom. Everything seemed to work pretty well and you won't find a reasonable, more centrally located hotel.

I have to disagree with the previous review regarding the Wifi. If he had bothered to ask, he would have discovered that there is a new free wifi facility available to all guests in all areas of the hotel (including rooms) which can be obtained by just typing in the access code, thus removing the need to use the old 256 meg speed. We made use of this on both an iPad and a notebook and it worked very well at all times and was super quick.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a kind review. I am pleased to read you found the free wifi easy to use and you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great location, which was the main objective I was going for. On Prince's Street itself, I came in to Edinburgh via train, and will be leaving by airplane. 5 minute walk to Waverley Station, and less to the bus stop for the Airlink.

The room was quite satisfactory, though the real selling point was the view, which I feel was worth the premium. An unobstructed view of the castle, Scot's Monument, and the gardens. Fortunately the weather has been stunning - I was very lucky!

Room amenities could perhaps be a bit better. The showerhead is too low (I am 6' tall) and although the showerhead was in theory adjustable, it was broken and did not stay at the angle you wanted it. In effect this meant that I had to hold it while squatting to wash my hair.

The television is quite small, which I guess I was surprised by. They provide the basic free channels.

The free WIFI connection is very slow (quoted at 256k, but not), and they offer pay options for 'up to 2mb'. At 8 pounds per day this wasn't too bad I guess, but I have been amazed in general how few places in the UK offer decent, free, high speed wifi - particularly when you are already a paying customer. One frustration was that when I logged in the first time to download emails, I selected the free option. Later in the evening I wanted to pay to upgrade the speed. This was not immediately obvious how I could do this, and I call reception for assistance. The reception staffer was not particularly helpful on my first call saying that I could not upgrade. I called back a little later to ask specifically for IT to reset my connection to the WIFI so that I could then activate a paid service. A different reception staffer coldly informed me that this was not something they would do, and I would have to wait 24 hours until I could change my wifi connection. Not only is this quite a backwards process, there was definitely no communication from Mercure staff that 'the customer is always right'. Disappointing, but not the end of the world I guess.

I had room service one evening, and it was quite expensive for the quality of the food - though the lentil soup was quite tasty.

Overall at over 150 pounds a night my summary would be that the view and location are excellent, however the service and amenities are not what I would expect at this price point. If the latter are not a major concern then it is a fairly good option for a New Town stay.

Room Tip: Definitely pay for the castle view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Edinburgh. I am sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. I have noted your comment about the service and the wifi and I will be addressing these as a matter of urgency.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights on a first visit to Edinburgh. I feel this was a good value for money experience. The rooms were as we expected for the rating of the hotel. Service was very good, staff friendly and very accommodating, especially at the breakfast service. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, ma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights and the view of the old town was beautiful. The room was small but comfortable. The only problem was that the room was quite warm at night and with the window open, it was so noisy with traffic noise and yelling that we could not sleep. There was a fan, but it would only push around the warm air. This is a place that would greatly benefit from air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh.
With the lovely weather we have been having, it has been warm in the hotel.
We do provide fans in all our rooms for guest comfort but we are looking at other alternatives.
We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've just come home after a weekend at the Mecure Edinburgh city Princess St hotel. The hotel had no car parking but Waverley station car park is very close. Situated next to Jenners the hotel is well placed for local shops and restaurants as well as city centre attractions. The local buses stop outside so it is easy to get around. We stayed there as we were taking part in the Edinburgh marathon and it was only a short walk to the start and the same distance from the bus drop off point on the return. The hotel did cater for runners that morning serving porridge and bananas up to an hour before normal breakfast time. The rooms were quite small but comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Free wi fi is available in the hotel including the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Some rooms were available with a balcony and castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh and found the hotel ideal for your needs.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.